Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Thread: Login incorrect

  1. #1

    Default Login incorrect

    I'm using the 64 bit version of 13.1, and am able to log in from the graphical user interface without difficulty. In 12 I was also able to, and not infrequently did, use console login. Since upgrading, my password has never been accepted.
    I've been reading the Start-Up Manual Chapter 17.1, and tried the first way with the same result. It doesn't make any difference if I start logged in to my KDE desktop or first log out, my password is rejected.
    By contrast with http://forums.opensuse.org/showthrea...ogin+incorrect, and ignoring occasions when I suspect a typographical error, my successes and failures have been consistent.
    I can't find a bug report on the subject, so suppose that I am, or my computer is, doing something wrong, but can't think what it could be, so would welcome any advice.
    TIA
    Peter Davis

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29,777

    Default Re: Login incorrect

    Do you mean you use the same username/password combination on the GUI login with success and on the CLI login (after doing Ctrl-Alt-F1) which fails?
    Henk van Velden

  3. #3

    Default Re: Login incorrect

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    Do you mean you use the same username/password combination on the GUI login with success and on the CLI login (after doing Ctrl-Alt-F1) which fails?
    Yes, I do. You imply that they can be set independently, which could be my problem, as I'd supposed that both were set at installation.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Login incorrect

    Actually, I didn't use [Ctrl]+[Alt]+[F1], either. I used [Ctrl]+[Alt]+[F2].

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    16,287

    Default Re: Login incorrect

    Quote Originally Posted by peterichardavis View Post
    Actually, I didn't use [Ctrl]+[Alt]+[F1], either. I used [Ctrl]+[Alt]+[F2].
    That should not matter

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29,777

    Default Re: Login incorrect

    Yes,. that should not matter, I only want to pinpoint it to a short clear description.

    And that one user has only one password. Regardless if you login in the GUI or on the console. That is what you expect. And the same here.

    Just a guess.
    Do you have some very specific character(s) in your password? Outside the "normal" ASCII range?
    Henk van Velden

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    16,287

    Default Re: Login incorrect

    Yes wasn't there a problem with double quotes in a password

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29,777

    Default Re: Login incorrect

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Yes wasn't there a problem with double quotes in a password
    In fact I was thinking about non Latin characters, but " that is also something to study.
    Henk van Velden

  9. #9

    Default Re: Login incorrect

    My current password doesn't include any punctuation that would stand out in an ordinary page of English, or any double quotes["].
    Peter

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    16,287

    Default Re: Login incorrect

    The problem is odd. I say since you can log to a GUI log in and change your password in Yast. It maybe will set things right.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •