Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: firefox wont give me google.com instead i get google.nl

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Nisserwaard Nederland
    Posts
    348

    Default firefox wont give me google.com instead i get google.nl

    opensuse 13.1 in installed as being in The Netherlands

    after the last upgrades firerox en google-chrome i can not get google.com or any .com site if there is a .nl site
    so now cwp wont work anymore as i can't conect to freemeteo.com as there is a freemeteo.nl
    but the plasmoid cwp cant handle.nl files.


    how to solve this ????????????

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,270

    Default Re: firefox wont give me google.com instead i get google.nl

    I know that experience from google.com (to .nl) for a long time. I never blamed Firefox for it, my idea being that it is google.com that does a redirect based on my IP address.

    Are you sure that it did not happen to you earlier?

    Are you sure that this happens for all .com sites where there is a .nl site for the same name. I ask, because it is difficult to prove this. You tested two (well you tell about two). Did you test more of those?

    I did another test.
    When I try www.hp.com, I get http://www.hp.com/country/us/en/uc/welcome.html
    When I try www.hp.nl, I get http://www8.hp.com/nl/nl/home.html
    So a redirect in the second case, but not the plain www.hp.com as you would predict.
    Doesn't this prove that it is not Firefox, but the webserver(s) that are doing this?
    Henk van Velden

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Nisserwaard Nederland
    Posts
    348

    Default Re: firefox wont give me google.com instead i get google.nl

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    I know that experience from google.com (to .nl) for a long time. I never blamed Firefox for it, my idea being that it is google.com that does a redirect based on my IP address.

    Are you sure that it did not happen to you earlier?

    Are you sure that this happens for all .com sites where there is a .nl site for the same name. I ask, because it is difficult to prove this. You tested two (well you tell about two). Did you test more of those?

    I did another test.
    When I try www.hp.com, I get http://www.hp.com/country/us/en/uc/welcome.html
    When I try www.hp.nl, I get http://www8.hp.com/nl/nl/home.html
    So a redirect in the second case, but not the plain www.hp.com as you would predict.
    Doesn't this prove that it is not Firefox, but the webserver(s) that are doing this?
    Firefox and Google are handling it the same way

    sites with problems for instance are freemeteo.com gives freemeteo.nl
    and goolge.com gives google.nl

    so any site with .com and a .nl gives this behavior
    and it started with the latets upgrage firefox and google

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Nisserwaard Nederland
    Posts
    348

    Default Re: firefox wont give me google.com instead i get google.nl

    Quote Originally Posted by susegebr View Post
    Firefox and Google are handling it the same way

    sites with problems for instance are freemeteo.com gives freemeteo.nl
    and goolge.com gives google.nl

    so any site with .com and a .nl gives this behavior
    and it started with the latets upgrage firefox and google

    CWP problem for not getting the right info from the dutch site is ditched

    now i have Yahoo! Weather Widget from Kde-look-org
    with the link on that site you get the info for what ever place you what weather info for ( 6 digits number)
    write it down instal the plasmoid and put what you got in the plasmoid
    you than have a normal weather info on your desktop

    so SOLVED

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,987
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: firefox wont give me google.com instead i get google.nl

    Like Henk says: nothing to do with browsers, it's a webserver redirecting based on your IP address. But, there's way for everything:
    After being redirected, you'll see google.nl/?........., change the "nl" to "com", hit enter and you'll see the redirection stops. Now bookmark / set default the page and google.com is back for you.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Nisserwaard Nederland
    Posts
    348

    Default Re: firefox wont give me google.com instead i get google.nl

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    Like Henk says: nothing to do with browsers, it's a webserver redirecting based on your IP address. But, there's way for everything:
    After being redirected, you'll see google.nl/?........., change the "nl" to "com", hit enter and you'll see the redirection stops. Now bookmark / set default the page and google.com is back for you.

    That does not work either

    google.com gives google.nl when i change the .nl to .com i get the com but with google nederland

    so goodbye CWP for me the problem is solved then and put in Yahoo! Weather Widget no hussel with .nl or .com




    bye the way even with the tor browser i can not have a .com if there is a .nl

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,270

    Default Re: firefox wont give me google.com instead i get google.nl

    Quote Originally Posted by susegebr View Post
    bye the way even with the tor browser i can not have a .com if there is a .nl
    That is what we try to tell you all the time. It has nothing to do with the browser (client), it is the server that does the redirect.
    Henk van Velden

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: firefox wont give me google.com instead i get google.nl

    On 2014-03-25 21:36, hcvv wrote:
    >
    > susegebr;2632976 Wrote:
    >>
    >> bye the way even with the tor browser i can not have a .com if there is
    >> a .nl

    > That is what we try to tell you all the time. It has nothing to do with
    > the *browser* (client), it is the server that does the redirect.


    That's right.

    If I want google.com, I get google.es instead. But at the bottom right
    corner of the screen, it says "google.com", and this one does get me
    google.com in English. And the search is conducted on English sites,
    mostly - but this is because of the preferred language setup in the
    browser, I believe.

    At least google allows an override of the geolocation. Other sites do
    not: for instance, kobobooks.com. For this site I have to use "tor",
    which can be configured to use end points on preferred countries. I hate
    to use tor for these purpose, I feel like I'm abusing a network that
    other people need for their lives, but...

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  9. #9
    graham NNTP User

    Default Re: firefox wont give me google.com instead i get google.nl

    hcvv wrote:

    >
    > susegebr;2632976 Wrote:
    >>
    >> bye the way even with the tor browser i can not have a .com if there is
    >> a .nl

    > That is what we try to tell you all the time. It has nothing to do with
    > the *browser* (client), it is the server that does the redirect.
    >
    >

    While this is true, I believe that setting in firefox
    Edit > Preferences > Privacy the check against
    "Tell sites I do not want to be tracked" may help


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •