Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Suse Install Problems

  1. #1

    Default Suse Install Problems

    Hey guys me again,
    I have for several days tried to install suse from the DVD and it always stalls on 3% 11% configuration, I did read in the other forums about this issue.
    I did disable the floppy in bios, but I am not able to disable my wireless broadcom modem in bios only the switch will disable that modem.

    I can never get past this install hiccup. I have erased suse 7 times on my laptop and tried a number of advised fixes. No luck. I am a noob, so should I move to another distro because maybe this one is broken?

    A little advice.
    My system spec is this:
    Dell HP Mini 311-1037NR laptop
    with 3 gigs of memory and 200g HDD

    the rest can be google to see the remaining specs.

    Any help would be great, tired of windows and love suse but can't seems to get it to work. thanks gang.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Suse Install Problems

    On 2014-03-23 20:56, cyberglyph wrote:
    >
    > Hey guys me again,
    > I have for several days tried to install suse from the DVD


    Well, that's a little vague :-)

    What exactly are you installing?

    If it is "suse", it has to be either SLES or SLED, that is, the
    enterprise version with paid support. If that is what you are using,
    these are the wrong forums, as these are the openSUSE forums, not the
    SUSE forums.

    But, you could really be using openSUSE, and being new, you spelt it
    wrong. In that case, which openSUSE version? The current one is 13.1,
    but you could be using any other version.

    :-)

    And then, there are several DVDs. You could be using the Live Gnome DVD,
    the Live KDE DVD, of the full 4.7 GB DVD.

    Which one?

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  3. #3

    Default Re: Suse Install Problems

    OK,
    My apologies for being vague.

    I'm using OpenSUSE, not the live CD, I'm using the DVD Install version 4.7GB which is 13.1.
    I burned it to a DVD so I could do a clean install. I hope this helps.

    P.S.
    I'm more partial to the KDE interface. which I can choose from when installing, I don't care for Gnome.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Suse Install Problems

    On 2014-03-23 22:36, cyberglyph wrote:
    >
    > OK,
    > My apologies for being vague.


    No problem. We solve it by asking :-)

    > I'm using OpenSUSE, not the live CD, I'm using the DVD Install version
    > 4.7GB which is 13.1.
    > I burned it to a DVD so I could do a clean install. I hope this helps.


    Yep, it does.

    As it is a real DVD, not a usb stick, I suggest you choose the entry in
    the boot menu to verify the media.

    Let's start with that.


    > P.S.
    > I'm more partial to the KDE interface. which I can choose from when
    > installing, I don't care for Gnome.


    That's fine, we all have our preferences. There is also a live KDE
    version you can use, but the full DVD is more adjustable.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  5. #5

    Default Re: Suse Install Problems

    Alrighty,
    I reburned the DVD and verified the burn with the software, then I rebooted and had OpenSUSE 13.1 verify the Media and It came back 100% OK. No problems.

    My problem is not in the media its the installation that always bombs. but I'm here for the advice.

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Suse Install Problems

    On 2014-03-23 23:56, cyberglyph wrote:
    >
    > Alrighty,
    > I reburned the DVD and verified the burn with the software, then I
    > rebooted and had OpenSUSE 13.1 verify the Media and It came back 100%
    > OK. No problems.


    You did a second burn? Then the first burn failed the check?

    > My problem is not in the media its the installation that always bombs.
    > but I'm here for the advice.


    So the install disk boots, you makes your choices, tell it to install,
    it starts, then it "bombs"?

    Or you never reach the configuration screens, it bails out much earlier?
    In that case, while it is starting the boot process, press the "ESC"
    key. The graphical screen should switch to a text display that says each
    thing it is trying. Sometimes, the message where it stops can give a
    clue to the problem.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,769

    Default Re: Suse Install Problems

    Now a days it is good to know if the machine has EFI or olde BIOS.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Suse Install Problems

    It always stalls on the Automatic configuration screen. Never finishes that. Stops at 3% top bar and 11% bottom bar. ESC key doesn't do anything it's all ready stuck by that time.

    Any Ideas what can cause this?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Suse Install Problems

    On 2014-03-24 03:26, gogalthorp wrote:
    >
    > Now a days it is good to know if the machine has EFI or olde BIOS.


    Right...

    I'd hazard it is BIOS, looking at the machine small specs :-)

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Suse Install Problems

    On 2014-03-24 03:46, cyberglyph wrote:
    >
    > It always stalls on the Automatic configuration screen. Never finishes
    > that. Stops at 3% top bar and 11% bottom bar. ESC key doesn't do
    > anything it's all ready stuck by that time.


    Oh. That's during install... the percents say nothing at all.

    If it is during package install, you can select the tab with "details"
    in advance. The first tab is something like a slide show, and the third
    might be release notes, if memory serves right.

    If it stops at some package, we could perhaps think something, like not
    installing that package.

    If it is after all packages have been installed, during the
    configuration phase, prior to the first boot, we need to know what it is
    doing exactly at that point...

    > Any Ideas what can cause this?


    No...

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •