Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Linux noob- Wireless network not working

Default Linux noob- Wireless network not working

I'm a linux noob and I'm trying out linux on an old laptop. Lpatop is a dell d610 model from 2005.

I successfully installed opensuse 13.1 to dual boot with Windows 7 32-bit. both os's are working.

The wireless internet isn't working in opensuse. I used yast > network settings and it warns that network is currently controlled by network manager. yast can't make any changes. It tells me to use the network manager connection editor or use ifup.

i don't know what that means. yast shows the ethernet controller to be clickable but the network wireless card is grayed out and I can't make any changes.

the wireless card is Dell Wireless 1450 a/b/g network adapter. is the card too old to have a driver in opensuse?

Default AW: Linux noob- Wireless network not working

Quote Originally Posted by Minixmouse View Post
    The wireless internet isn't working in opensuse. I used yast > network settings and it warns that network is currently controlled by network manager. yast can't make any changes. It tells me to use the network manager connection editor or use ifup.

i don't know what that means. yast shows the ethernet controller to be clickable but the network wireless card is grayed out and I can't make any changes.
    If NetworkManager is active, you cannot use YaST to configure the network connections.
    In this case you have to use the NetworkManager applet your Desktop provides, i.e. click on the network symbol in the panel.

You don't tell which Desktop Environment you use, in KDE you would find it at the bottom-right of the screen by default and it would look like this:

Just click on it and you should see some wireless networks if your card is working.

the wireless card is Dell Wireless 1450 a/b/g network adapter. is the card too old to have a driver in opensuse?