Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Can't run openSUSE 13.2 as a VirtualBox guest

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    24

    Default Can't run openSUSE 13.2 as a VirtualBox guest

    Tried this with the Gnome LiveCD of 13.2. The Live CD boots just fine and runs. After installing to the .vdi and rebooting I just get a black screen. Any thoughts? running VirtualBox 4.3.8 on OSX 10.9.2 Host. The very first message I see while booting is Failed to load kernel module.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Can't run openSUSE 13.2 as a VirtualBox guest

    Quote Originally Posted by LKJ View Post
    Tried this with the Gnome LiveCD of 13.2. The Live CD boots just fine and runs. After installing to the .vdi and rebooting I just get a black screen. Any thoughts? running VirtualBox 4.3.8 on OSX 10.9.2 Host. The very first message I see while booting is Failed to load kernel module.
    I'm also having this problem, the error occurs when loading kernel but the error states "Failed to mount root filesystem"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,236

    Default Re: Can't run openSUSE 13.2 as a VirtualBox guest

    On 03/20/2014 09:36 AM, charliestheman wrote:
    >
    > LKJ;2631554 Wrote:
    >> Tried this with the Gnome LiveCD of 13.2. The Live CD boots just fine
    >> and runs. After installing to the .vdi and rebooting I just get a black
    >> screen. Any thoughts? running VirtualBox 4.3.8 on OSX 10.9.2 Host. The
    >> very first message I see while booting is Failed to load kernel module.

    >
    > I'm also having this problem, the error occurs when loading kernel but
    > the error states "Failed to mount root filesystem"


    I have seen that problem with the Factory ISOs. According to Coolo (the release
    Manager), it works on openQA using KVM. He also says that he will be releasing
    13.2-MS0 soon. If that still has the problem, then it needs to be reported. The
    openSUSE-Factory mailing list is where I would note the problem.


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Can't run openSUSE 13.2 as a VirtualBox guest

    Quote Originally Posted by lwfinger View Post
    On 03/20/2014 09:36 AM, charliestheman wrote:
    >
    > LKJ;2631554 Wrote:
    >> Tried this with the Gnome LiveCD of 13.2. The Live CD boots just fine
    >> and runs. After installing to the .vdi and rebooting I just get a black
    >> screen. Any thoughts? running VirtualBox 4.3.8 on OSX 10.9.2 Host. The
    >> very first message I see while booting is Failed to load kernel module.

    >
    > I'm also having this problem, the error occurs when loading kernel but
    > the error states "Failed to mount root filesystem"


    I have seen that problem with the Factory ISOs. According to Coolo (the release
    Manager), it works on openQA using KVM. He also says that he will be releasing
    13.2-MS0 soon. If that still has the problem, then it needs to be reported. The
    openSUSE-Factory mailing list is where I would note the problem.
    I thought this was the 13.2 Milestone 0 release. I'm not sure I want to subscribe to yet another mailing list. I might just wait until Milestone 1 or 2 etc.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    wichita
    Posts
    990

    Default Re: Can't run openSUSE 13.2 as a VirtualBox guest

    I installed 13.2 M0 within VBox 4.3.8 from the KDE Live version and I got a working system with some hiccups along the way. At the second/configuration stage of the install, I got a big orange error notice about YaST not being able to configure something but it allowed me to click past and then took me to a page to set up a new user. I did that and then got the same orange YaST error again. Then I got another new user page and I left it blank.

    I was warned that leaving this blank was not a good idea, but then KDE booted with the second user name I created. A reboot used the same second user name. I haven't played with it much since the install but maybe there's more problems with Gnome live than with the KDE one.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Can't run openSUSE 13.2 as a VirtualBox guest

    I actually tried the KDE version first and got the same YaST error but I wasn't a diligent. It's why I decided to try the Gnome version. Perhaps I'll try the full version and see how that goes. Third time's a charm right?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Can't run openSUSE 13.2 as a VirtualBox guest

    apparently there are problems with the installers on the live CDs. I downloaded the full DVD and installed 13.2 with XFCE without a problem.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Can't run openSUSE 13.2 as a VirtualBox guest

    On Thu, 20 Mar 2014 22:56:01 GMT
    LKJ <LKJ@no-mx.forums.opensuse.org> wrote:

    >
    > apparently there are problems with the installers on the live CDs. I
    > downloaded the full DVD and installed 13.2 with XFCE without a
    > problem.
    >


    I also used full DVD and installed KDE with no problem although I
    forgot to untick "automatic configuration" and got shocked by how quick
    it installed. Main problem so far is that YaST2 crashes when trying to
    install software. No problem using YaST running in console. I've
    mentioned this in the mailing list



    --
    Graham P Davis, Bracknell, Berks.
    openSUSE 13.2-m0 (64-bit); KDE 4.12.2; AMD Phenom II X2 550 Processor;
    Kernel: 3.14-rc5; Video: nVidia GeForce 210 (using nouveau driver);
    Sound: ATI SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Can't run openSUSE 13.2 as a VirtualBox guest

    the only thing I've installed so far is VLC and I had no crash in YaST. As soon as I remember how to add shared folders I will see if VLC works. It does boot.

  10. #10

    Default Re: Can't run openSUSE 13.2 as a VirtualBox guest

    On Fri, 21 Mar 2014 13:26:01 GMT
    LKJ <LKJ@no-mx.forums.opensuse.org> wrote:

    >
    > the only thing I've installed so far is VLC and I had no crash in
    > YaST.


    I guess you don't have nVidia graphics? The messages I got by
    running YaST from console whilst logged on as "root" - got none as
    default user - pointed to a problem with nouveau; the file
    "/usr/lib64/dri/updates/nouveau_dri.so" was not found.


    --
    Graham P Davis, Bracknell, Berks.
    openSUSE 13.1 (64-bit); KDE 4.12.3; AMD Phenom II X2 550 Processor;
    Kernel: 3.11.10; Video: nVidia GeForce 210 (using nVidia driver);
    Sound: ATI SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •