Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: After fresh install, tons of display errors, can't see window frames or context menus

Default After fresh install, tons of display errors, can't see window frames or context menus

I'm a total noob and this is a first time install on a toshiba tecra s4, and I did check that all the hardware would be compatible beforehand, it is-- but it seems to be some sort of resolution problem and I have no idea how to do anything about it because I can't see the menus or windows really. Took 2 usb drives, a dvd, hours and a few attempts just to get the bloody OS installed at all, now this.

btw I've got KDE desktop, and the computer won't shut down from the OS, I have to force it to shut off.

really hope someone can give a straight forward fix.

Default Re: After fresh install, tons of display errors, can't see window frames or context menus

Video problem requires some info on what video you have??

Did you try booting into rescue mode?? Select advanced at the boot menu

Default Re: After fresh install, tons of display errors, can't see window frames or context menus

Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Video problem requires some info on what video you have??

Did you try booting into rescue mode?? Select advanced at the boot menu
    when I use rescue mode the video problem seems to not happen at all

heres a pic i took showing the issue http://imgur.com/lDj4R3N

it was also able to power off

That is because the default video driver was replace with one that is more universal but far less capable

You have still not said what video card/chip so we can't instruct you further until you do. Our crystal ball is in the shop.

You probable need to install another driver but we can't guess which

If it is an Intel video then be sure to do the updates since there was a problem that is corrected in them.

Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post