Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Can't play MP4/DVD in Totem on XFCE

Unhappy Can't play MP4/DVD in Totem on XFCE

Hi all,

Is sad, because every time I try to install OpenSUSE, I have problems with it. So I give up, go to Ubuntu, Debian... even Slackware. But in OpenSUSE, I just can't make work.

I'm not a genius in GNU/Linux, but I'm not a beginner too... at least... I think.

I'm trying to play encoded DVD with Totem, or even a MP4 file. But don't work. Every time they ask for plugins, and when I click to search, Totem cannot find.

I added Packman and DVDCSS repositories, but don't work. The only method I found to made the system use all libraries from Packman was from zypper, in terminal. All the other options using Yast2 I cannot find.

In installation, I notice that fluendo-mp3 is installed. But, without Packman, Totem and Rythmbox don't play MP3 files.

I'm using OpenSUSE 13.1 with XFCE, installed from DVD.

Please, this is killing me, I think that is something very basic that I missed.

How can I fix it?

Default Re: Can't play MP4/DVD in Totem on XFCE

Quote Originally Posted by l2mago View Post
    Hi all,

Is sad, because every time I try to install OpenSUSE, I have problems with it. So I give up, go to Ubuntu, Debian... even Slackware. But in OpenSUSE, I just can't make work.

I'm not a genius in GNU/Linux, but I'm not a beginner too... at least... I think.

I'm trying to play encoded DVD with Totem, or even a MP4 file. But don't work. Every time they ask for plugins, and when I click to search, Totem cannot find.

I added Packman and DVDCSS repositories, but don't work. The only method I found to made the system use all libraries from Packman was from zypper, in terminal. All the other options using Yast2 I cannot find.

In installation, I notice that fluendo-mp3 is installed. But, without Packman, Totem and Rythmbox don't play MP3 files.

I'm using OpenSUSE 13.1 with XFCE, installed from DVD.