Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Help- stack of HHD's Fail to load OS

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    2

    Default Help- stack of HHD's Fail to load OS

    I have been installing for a while and every computer I build seems like creating a new life form. I have 14 in front of me not to mention the ones for friends and family. I use them to test out the web sites I build on different systems and setups. I have started naming them after my favorite actress roles when I ran out of Disney princess names. easier to locate them than numbers on my network. There is Amy Pond and Jill Monroe and such. Anyway, to the point, up until recently had no issues with HD failures.But now even the last 4 that I bought will not load the OS on the platforms. They mostly are WD IDE's. I have one new SSD sata that I have somehow put 2 copies of win 7 x64 pro on and will not boot or let me take it off. But the IDE's are what are troubling me because there are so many and 4 are just purchased. I need to figure out what I am doing wrong to them to make them fail or not read on the systems. 2 of the problem child systems are asus boards from 2008 and 2 are dells, an optiplex gx260 and a dell dimension e310. I know they are old systems and they dont come close to my gaming/graphics rig , but its a fun hobby. I came to this forum from a funny post by
    ken_yap

    at https://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php/411452-how-to-fix-a-hard-disk-yourself


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Help- stack of HHD's Fail to load OS

    On 2014-03-09 01:56, yellowbronco wrote:
    > But the IDE's are what are troubling me
    > because there are so many and 4 are just purchased. I need to figure out
    > what I am doing wrong to them to make them fail or not read on the
    > systems


    Does your room vibrate somehow?

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    4,029

    Default Re: Help- stack of HHD's Fail to load OS

    Quote Originally Posted by yellowbronco View Post
    I have been installing for a while and every computer I build seems like creating a new life form. I have 14 in front of me not to mention the ones for friends and family. I use them to test out the web sites I build on different systems and setups. I have started naming them after my favorite actress roles when I ran out of Disney princess names. easier to locate them than numbers on my network. There is Amy Pond and Jill Monroe and such. Anyway, to the point, up until recently had no issues with HD failures.But now even the last 4 that I bought will not load the OS on the platforms. They mostly are WD IDE's. I have one new SSD sata that I have somehow put 2 copies of win 7 x64 pro on and will not boot or let me take it off. But the IDE's are what are troubling me because there are so many and 4 are just purchased. I need to figure out what I am doing wrong to them to make them fail or not read on the systems. 2 of the problem child systems are asus boards from 2008 and 2 are dells, an optiplex gx260 and a dell dimension e310. I know they are old systems and they dont come close to my gaming/graphics rig , but its a fun hobby. I came to this forum from a funny post by
    ken_yap

    at https://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php/411452-how-to-fix-a-hard-disk-yourself

    WD's quality has slipped a long ways in the past few years, so they could very well be just faulty drives. Take them back where you purchased them (if you purchased locally) and they should be able to check them, and replace them with good units if they are faulty.
    "Take a Walk on a Sunny Day, Greet everyone along the way, and Make Somebody Smile, Today"
    Gerry Jack Macks"Walk On A Sunny Day" GerryJackMacks.net

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    13,295
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Help- stack of HHD's Fail to load OS

    Before suspecting the drives and because it's happening consistently with so many,
    Consider you might be doing something wrong that's very basic.

    So, some basic troubleshooting
    - Disk lights on? Power connected?
    - Cables connected? Cleaned, especially on an od machine? Clean the electrical contacts with a pencil eraser.
    - BIOS updated? Are the disks recognized in the BIOS? This has to happen before an OS even has a chance to access.
    - Free space available? Maybe the disks are simply filled and there's no space for a new install without modifying/removing old partitions.
    - Disk geometry not set correctly?
    - Disk pins not set correctly?

    Etc.
    TSU

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    4,029

    Default Re: Help- stack of HHD's Fail to load OS

    Quote Originally Posted by tsu2 View Post
    Before suspecting the drives and because it's happening consistently with so many,
    Consider you might be doing something wrong that's very basic.

    So, some basic troubleshooting
    - Disk lights on? Power connected?
    - Cables connected? Cleaned, especially on an od machine? Clean the electrical contacts with a pencil eraser.
    - BIOS updated? Are the disks recognized in the BIOS? This has to happen before an OS even has a chance to access.
    - Free space available? Maybe the disks are simply filled and there's no space for a new install without modifying/removing old partitions.
    - Disk geometry not set correctly?
    - Disk pins not set correctly?

    Etc.
    TSU
    Correct.

    And you can even check by connecting one at a time, checking it, then connecting the next, etc.
    "Take a Walk on a Sunny Day, Greet everyone along the way, and Make Somebody Smile, Today"
    Gerry Jack Macks"Walk On A Sunny Day" GerryJackMacks.net

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Help- stack of HHD's Fail to load OS

    On 2014-03-10 18:06, tsu2 wrote:
    > Before suspecting the drives and because it's happening consistently
    > with so many,
    > Consider you might be doing something wrong that's very basic.


    Like the mains supply, not steady.
    Or the floor vibrating.

    :-)

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •