Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: swap or RAM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    215

    Default swap or RAM

    I have a older laptop that comes with 4GB RAM (2slots are being used 2x 2GB DDR2)
    now i have problems with running a virtualbox + darktable at the same time.
    (On another system i see that i should have 7GB RAM to run this)

    Because i don't find 2x DDR2 4GB for this laptop i was thinking about the swap. (now he is on HD with 2GB)
    Should it be possible to load swap on (fast) usb stick and how fast is that compare the HD swap.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    4,029

    Default Re: swap or RAM

    Quote Originally Posted by heelstraf View Post
    Should it be possible to load swap on (fast) usb stick and how fast is that compare the HD swap.
    p....a....i.....n.....f.....u.....l.....l.....y...............s.....l....o....w.....
    "Take a Walk on a Sunny Day, Greet everyone along the way, and Make Somebody Smile, Today"
    Gerry Jack Macks"Walk On A Sunny Day" GerryJackMacks.net

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    3,587

    Default Re: swap or RAM

    * heelstraf,

    swap is always terribly slow. If you don't have enough RAM for what you do and you cannot get more RAM, don't run so many apps :-)

    Uwe

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,317

    Default Re: swap or RAM

    On Thu, 06 Mar 2014 05:56:01 +0000, heelstraf wrote:

    > Should it be possible to load swap on (fast) usb stick and how fast is
    > that compare the HD swap.


    Unless you're using USB3, a USB drive is going to be much slower than an
    internal drive (and a USB3 drive is probably going to be about equal, not
    faster).

    What's more, the nature of swap is such that you will wear out the flash
    drive relatively quickly. Even with wear leveling, USB flash devices
    aren't intended for large amounts of write activity.

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: swap or RAM

    On 2014-03-06 06:56, heelstraf wrote:

    > Because i don't find 2x DDR2 4GB for this laptop i was thinking about
    > the swap. (now he is on HD with 2GB)
    > Should it be possible to load swap on (fast) usb stick and how fast is
    > that compare the HD swap.


    No.

    No, because usb2 is slow, flash sticks are slow write devices, and they
    wear out with frequent writes.

    Of course, it is possible to do it.

    But if you need to use swap, use internal hard disk, or if external it
    should be via eSATA or USB 3.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    215

    Default Re: swap or RAM

    Thx for clearing this out.
    I have spend some dollars on a SSD drive instead of RAM, this is not wasted money
    This evening i will install this, 4GB RAM + 4GB swap on SSD, should be fast enough.

  7. #7

    Default Re: swap or RAM

    Quote Originally Posted by heelstraf View Post
    Thx for clearing this out.
    I have spend some dollars on a SSD drive instead of RAM, this is not wasted money
    This evening i will install this, 4GB RAM + 4GB swap on SSD, should be fast enough.
    Even using a SSD for swap won't by far result in the same speed than
    using no swap and using real RAM instead.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: swap or RAM

    On 2014-03-08 01:56, ratzi wrote:
    >
    > heelstraf;2629109 Wrote:


    >> This evening i will install this, 4GB RAM + 4GB swap on SSD, should be
    >> fast enough.

    >
    > Even using a SSD for swap won't by far result in the same speed than
    > using no swap and using real RAM instead.


    Of course, but he said on the first post that he could not find the chips.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    215

    Default Re: swap or RAM

    Quote Originally Posted by ratzi View Post
    Even using a SSD for swap won't by far result in the same speed than
    using no swap and using real RAM instead.

    I can confirm that a SSD drive is a good step.
    The respons of apps are better, no waiting anymore and until now no freezes if both apps are open

    openSUSE 13.1 @ KDE + Darktable with 50 RAW's + virtualbox (winXP Basecamp software)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •