Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Reached Target Graphical Inteface

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    93

    Default Reached Target Graphical Inteface

    Hi all,
    the last few days I have this problem - when I reboot my system (13.1x64, XFCE) it gets's stuck at:
    Reached Target Graphical Interface
    then I have to switch to terminal (Alt + F2), login as root, and do: init 5
    then it goes to the graphical interface as it is supposed to go

    I have seen some instances of the same problem, but it was always due to a nvidia card - I have intel integrated card (see at the end of the message) - although I tried some of the generic solutions nothing worked
    any help is appreciated
    DImitris

    PS my graphic card:
    lspci | grep VGA
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,439

    Default Re: Reached Target Graphical Inteface

    I encountered this problem when I tried to be clever and edit YaST>System services, inadvertently disabling a service that I needed. Have you changed any system services?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Reached Target Graphical Inteface

    On 2014-03-02 16:56, darlac wrote:
    >
    > Hi all,
    > the last few days I have this problem - when I reboot my system
    > (13.1x64, XFCE) it gets's stuck at:
    > Reached Target Graphical Interface
    > then I have to switch to terminal (Alt + F2), login as root, and do:
    > init 5
    > then it goes to the graphical interface as it is supposed to go


    Known and reported bug with no solution yet (Bug 846832). Yes, do init
    3, init 5 to retry. Or install and use gdm instead of lightdm.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,179
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Reached Target Graphical Inteface

    Before you issue 'init 5', maybe have a look at
    Code:
    systemctl status xdm.service
    Is it running?

    Maybe the following will yield a clue
    Code:
    journalctl -b

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,179
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Reached Target Graphical Inteface

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post

    Known and reported bug with no solution yet (Bug 846832). Yes, do init
    3, init 5 to retry. Or install and use gdm instead of lightdm.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)
    Good find Carlos... and yes changing the display manager is worth a shot.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    93

    Default Re: Reached Target Graphical Inteface

    Hi all,
    thanks for the responses -
    I switched for a brief moment to KDE, and then - after switching back to XFCE I have the problem so I might have messes something in the process
    here is the output from systemctl status xdm.service
    xdm.service - LSB: X Display Manager
    Loaded: loaded (/etc/init.d/xdm)
    Active: active (running) since Sun 2014-03-02 10:36:27 EST; 7h ago
    Process: 1047 ExecStop=/etc/init.d/xdm stop (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
    Process: 1137 ExecStart=/etc/init.d/xdm start (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
    CGroup: /system.slice/xdm.service
    ├─1148 /usr/sbin/lightdm
    └─1154 /usr/bin/X :0 -auth /run/lightdm/root/:0 -nolisten tcp vt7 -novtswitch

    Mar 02 10:36:26 linux.site systemd[1]: Starting LSB: X Display Manager...
    Mar 02 10:36:27 linux.site systemd[1]: Started LSB: X Display Manager.
    Mar 02 10:36:27 linux.site lightdm[1165]: pam_unix(lightdm-greeter:session): session opened for user lightdm by (uid=0)
    Mar 02 10:36:38 linux.site lightdm[1214]: pam_unix(lightdm:session): session opened for user dimitris by dimitris(uid=0)

    I will try gdm now, and see if that works

    Dimitris

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    93

    Default Re: Reached Target Graphical Inteface

    switched to gdm - and it worked
    works for me for now
    thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,179
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Reached Target Graphical Inteface

    Quote Originally Posted by darlac View Post
    switched to gdm - and it worked
    works for me for now
    thanks
    Good to know.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •