Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: 13.1-64 Swap fails to activate.

  1. #1

    Default 13.1-64 Swap fails to activate.

    Hello list moderators!

    From /var/log/boot.log I get this:

    Code:
             Starting File System Check on /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part8...
    systemd-fsck[492]: /dev/sda1: clean, 385/128000 files, 31267/512000 blocks
    [  OK  ] Started File System Check on /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part1.
             Mounting /boot...
    [  OK  ] Found device TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100.
             Starting File System Check on /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part2...
    [  OK  ] Found device TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100.
    [  OK  ] Found device TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100.
             Activating swap /dev/sda7...
             Activating swap /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part7...
    [  OK  ] Activated swap /dev/sda7.
    [FAILED] Failed to activate swap /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part7.
    See 'systemctl status dev-disk-by\x2did-ata\x2dTOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS\x2dpart7.swap' for details.
    [DEPEND] Dependency failed for Swap.
    [  OK  ] Found device TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100.
    What's new here is the "See" line. How would I do that?

    I've mentioned this swap allocation behavior on a couple of other posts here dealing with other topics.

    My 13.1 is an upgrade from 12.3-64 which didn't have a swap problem. This swap activation error showed up starting with the first reboot after the 13.1 DVD install. According to yast > Online Update, this 13.1-64 is up to date.

    I also have a 12.3-64 as a dual boot on the same hdd. That 12.3 does not have a swap problem either.

    Again, what is this telling me? See 'systemctl status dev-disk-by\x2did-ata\x2dTOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS\x2dpart7.swap' for details

    Heboland.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29,798

    Default Re: 13.1-64 Swap fails to activate.

    As systemctl is a tool of systemd, it seems to encourage you let this commandd execute:

    Code:
    systemctl status dev-disk-by\x2did-ata\x2dTOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS\x2dpart7.swap
    Code:
    man systemctl
    As systemctl status only displays data and does not change anything, you could give it a try.
    Henk van Velden

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    16,287

    Default Re: 13.1-64 Swap fails to activate.

    do that line to get more details. You will need to be root I believe

    Just a thought... Do you use suspend to disk? Perhaps you were suspended when you did the install and use the same swap.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: 13.1-64 Swap fails to activate.

    On 2014-02-28 18:06, heboland wrote:


    > What's new here is the "See" line. How would I do that?


    It is simply telling you to execute the command that is inside the «'»
    quote symbols. Paste that into a terminal and hit enter.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" at Telcontar)

  5. #5

    Default Re: 13.1-64 Swap fails to activate.

    Thanks for all the responses guys!

    Before I forget, these installs are on a tower. There's no conscious attempt to suspend anything.

    I ran the sysctrl command on the 13.1 and saved it to a file, then rebooted to the 12.3 and ran the command again.

    This this the 13.1-64 results

    Code:
    root[501] systemctl status dev-disk-by-id-ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part7.swap
    dev-disk-byx2did-atax2dTOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRSx2dpart7.swap - /dev/disk/byx2did/atax2dTOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRSx2dpart7
       Loaded: loaded
       Active: inactive (dead)
         What: /dev/disk/byx2did/atax2dTOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRSx2dpart7
    root[502]
    The 12.3 version looks similar:
    Code:
    root[501] systemctl status dev-disk-by\x2did-ata\x2dTOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS\x2dpart7.swap
    dev-disk-byx2did-atax2dTOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRSx2dpart7.swap - /dev/disk/byx2did/atax2dTOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRSx2dpart7
          Loaded: loaded
          Active: inactive (dead)
            What: /dev/disk/byx2did/atax2dTOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRSx2dpart7
          CGroup: name=systemd:/system/dev-disk-byx2did-atax2dTOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRSx2dpart7.swap
    root[502]
    Is the CGroup line significant?

    Please understand that this behavior isn't causing me any known problems! I would just like to know what's going on. There isn't any "See" message in the 12.3 boot log.

    FWIW, the 12.3 boots from a different boot partition than the 13.1. Both installs are legacy (non-uefi) on the same GTP hdd. If grib2 is involved in this behavior, there may be a difference between the two boot partition's code. Heboland.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    15,676
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: 13.1-64 Swap fails to activate.

    If it were me, I would try doing "mkswap" on the partition, and see whether that fixes the problem.
    openSUSE Leap 15.3; KDE Plasma 5.18.6;

  7. #7

    Default Re: 13.1-64 Swap fails to activate.

    Thanks for the suggestion nrickert!

    I see there's a little more to making swap that just one command. By the looks of this, I would say it has to be unmounted first.

    Code:
    root[510] mkswap --check /dev/sda7
    mkswap: error: /dev/sda7 is mounted; will not make swapspace
    root[511]
    I'm not surprised sda7 has to first be unmounted. I chose the --check from the man page as something minimally critical. The man page mentions some things that mkswap won't overwite unless the --force command is used. The force option looks kind of dangerous to me to fix a somewhat cosmetic problem.

    FYI, I ran some other swap commands that I’ll include here:
    Code:
    root[512] swapon -s
    Filename                Type        Size    Used    Priority
    /dev/sda7                                  partition    8191996    0    -1
    root[513] free -m
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:         15766       1572      14194         50         97        896
    -/+ buffers/cache:        578      15188
    Swap:         7999          0       7999
    And this one:
    Code:
    root[514] top
    
    top - 22:55:38 up  2:58,  2 users,  load average: 0.02, 0.02, 0.05
    Tasks: 226 total,   1 running, 225 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
    %Cpu(s):  0.1 us,  0.1 sy,  0.0 ni, 99.7 id,  0.0 wa,  0.0 hi,  0.0 si,  0.0 st
    KiB Mem:  16144732 total,  1609908 used, 14534824 free,    99672 buffers
    KiB Swap:  8191996 total,        0 used,  8191996 free,   918292 cached
    
      PID USER      PR  NI    VIRT    RES    SHR S  %CPU  %MEM     TIME+ COMMAND                                                         
      884 root      20   0  460972  49692  37812 S 0.665 0.308   0:53.74 X                                                               
     1288 frank     20   0  965400  23688  14204 S 0.333 0.147   0:53.05 netactview                                                      
     1576 frank     20   0  599056  38236  10980 S 0.333 0.237   0:13.78 gmixer                                                          
     2680 frank     20   0  479480  18948  12960 S 0.333 0.117   0:02.71 beaver                                                          
        1 root      20   0   48320   4164   2292 S 0.000 0.026   0:00.54 systemd                                                         
        2 root      20   0       0      0      0 S 0.000 0.000   0:00.00 kthreadd                                                        
        3 root      20   0       0      0      0 S 0.000 0.000   0:00.00 ksoftirqd/0                                                     
        5 root       0 -20       0      0      0 S 0.000 0.000   0:00.00 kworker/0:0H                                                    
        7 root      rt   0       0      0      0 S 0.000 0.000   0:00.00 migration/0                                                     
        8 root      -2   0       0      0      0 S 0.000 0.000   0:00.00 rcuc/0                                                          
        9 root      -2   0       0      0      0 S 0.000 0.000   0:00.00 rcub/0                                                          
       10 root      20   0       0      0      0 S 0.000 0.000   0:04.03 rcu_preempt                                                     
       11 root      20   0       0      0      0 S 0.000 0.000   0:01.08 rcuop/0                                                         
       12 root      20   0       0      0      0 S 0.000 0.000   0:01.14 rcuop/1                                                         
       13 root      20   0       0      0      0 S 0.000 0.000   0:00.88 rcuop/2                                                         
       14 root      20   0       0      0      0 S 0.000 0.000   0:00.99 rcuop/3                                                         
       15 root      20   0       0      0      0 S 0.000 0.000   0:00.14 rcuop/4                                                         
    root[515]
    One more thing here is that this i7 tower has 32GB of memory. Could that have a bearing on the reported 0 usage? Heboland.

  8. #8

    Default Re: 13.1-64 Swap fails to activate.

    Quote Originally Posted by heboland View Post
    Thanks for the suggestion nrickert!

    I see there's a little more to making swap that just one command. By the looks of this, I would say it has to be unmounted first.

    Code:
    root[510] mkswap --check /dev/sda7
    mkswap: error: /dev/sda7 is mounted; will not make swapspace
    root[511]
    I'm not surprised sda7 has to first be unmounted. I chose the --check from the man page as something minimally critical. The man page mentions some things that mkswap won't overwite unless the --force command is used. The force option looks kind of dangerous to me to fix a somewhat cosmetic problem.

    FYI, I ran some other swap commands that I’ll include here:
    Code:
    root[512] swapon -s
    Filename                Type        Size    Used    Priority
    /dev/sda7                                  partition    8191996    0    -1
    root[513] free -m
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:         15766       1572      14194         50         97        896
    -/+ buffers/cache:        578      15188
    Swap:         7999          0       7999
    Well, the swap partition _is_ already activated.
    And that's not surprising, seeing your first post:
    Code:
            Activating swap /dev/sda7...
             Activating swap /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part7...
    [  OK  ] Activated swap /dev/sda7.
    [FAILED] Failed to activate swap /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part7.
    It tries to activate /dev/sda7 (which succeeds) _and_ /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part7. The latter one seems to be the same partition, so it cannot work really.
    Can you please post your /etc/fstab? Maybe you have 2 entries in there?

    One more thing here is that this i7 tower has 32GB of memory. Could that have a bearing on the reported 0 usage? Heboland.
    Of course. With 32GiB RAM there should be no need for swap space in most situations (for "normal" use cases at least... ).
    Heck, I don't even have 32GB _total_ memory, just 2GiB RAM and 2GiB swap...

    PS, just to mention: You won't be able to hibernate with your configuration (32 GiB RAM, 8 GiB swap).
    For hibernation, the swap should be at least as big as the RAM (akthough it might work with less), since all of the RAM is saved to the swap partition.
    Last edited by wolfi323; 01-Mar-2014 at 00:34.

  9. #9

    Default Re: 13.1-64 Swap fails to activate.

    Quote Originally Posted by wolfi323 View Post
    PS, just to mention: You won't be able to hibernate with your configuration (32 GiB RAM, 8 GiB swap).
    For hibernation, the swap should be at least as big as the RAM (akthough it might work with less), since all of the RAM is saved to the swap partition.
    Btw, I do see a problem though:
    Your "free" output only reports 15766 MiB (~15GiB) RAM.
    So apparently not all of your 32GiB are detected.

    What does the BIOS report?

    Maybe try to run memtest...

  10. #10

    Default Re: 13.1-64 Swap fails to activate.

    Thanks for the replies wolfi323!


    Btw, I do see a problem though:
    Your "free" output only reports 15766 MiB (~15GiB) RAM.
    So apparently not all of your 32GiB are detected.
    This one is my problem! I just looked up the purchase order. My i7 tower memory is a pair of 8GB parts for 16GB total. Guess over a year the memory size grew like a fish story!

    This is hwinfo --memory:
    Code:
    root[502] hwinfo --memory
    01: None 00.0: 10102 Main Memory                                
      [Created at memory.66]
      Unique ID: rdCR.CxwsZFjVASF
      Hardware Class: memory
      Model: "Main Memory"
      Memory Range: 0x00000000-0x3d9656fff (rw)
      Memory Size: 15 GB
      Config Status: cfg=no, avail=yes, need=no, active=unknown
    root[503]
    This is fstab:
    Code:
    frank[5110] cat /etc/fstab 
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part10 /                    ext4       acl,user_xattr        1 1
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part11 /home                ext4       acl,user_xattr        1 2
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part7 swap                 swap       defaults              0 0
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part1 /boot                ext2       acl,user_xattr        1 2
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part2 /boot32              ext2       defaults              1 2
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part9 /home32              ext4       defaults              1 2
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part3 /ntfs                ntfs-3g    users,gid=users,fmask=133,dmask=022,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part6 /share               vfat       users,gid=users,umask=0002,utf8=true 0 0
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part8 /slash32             ext4       defaults              1 2
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part5 /usr1                ext4       defaults              1 2
    frank[5111] cat /etc/fstab
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part10 /                    ext4       acl,user_xattr        1 1
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part11 /home                ext4       acl,user_xattr        1 2
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part7 swap                 swap       defaults              0 0
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part1 /boot                ext2       acl,user_xattr        1 2
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part2 /boot32              ext2       defaults              1 2
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part9 /home32              ext4       defaults              1 2
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part3 /ntfs                ntfs-3g    users,gid=users,fmask=133,dmask=022,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part6 /share               vfat       users,gid=users,umask=0002,utf8=true 0 0
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part8 /slash32             ext4       defaults              1 2
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-TOSHIBA_DT01ACA100_139AVYSRS-part5 /usr1                ext4       defaults              1 2
    frank[5111]
    One other thing I would like to ask here in case I need it in the future is this. If I have to unmount swap, will umount do it? Alternately if I have to unmount swap with swapoff, the command itself only gets it's help menu. Previously I used swapoff -a. It seemed to work.

    The hibernate is something I don't expect to use. Heboland.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •