Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: 32-bit environ 13.1 - how to install?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,175

    Default 32-bit environ 13.1 - how to install?

    I just did a clean install of 13.1 and noticed it's like the latest Kubuntu - it doesn't have the option to install a 32-bit runtime environment. This option made life easy. So what 13.1 package will install the full 32-bit runtime environment? My RSI - IDL will not run under 13.1, whereas it used to run just fine under previous opensuse versions with the 32-bit runtime environment preinstalled.

    Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: 32-bit environ 13.1 - how to install?

    On 2014-02-22 21:16, PattiMichelle wrote:
    >
    > I just did a clean install of 13.1 and noticed it's like the latest
    > Kubuntu - it doesn't have the option to install a 32-bit runtime
    > environment.


    Just install any ...32bit package you need. Any of those should be
    pulled in by what ever 32 bit app you need if properly packaged.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,175

    Default Re: 32-bit environ 13.1 - how to install?

    Hi Carlos - this is the problem I had with the latest Kubuntu - this approach of tying only the 32-bit parts for individual packages for install, rather than allowing the whole 32-bit subsystem to be installed, only really works for repo packages. RSI IDL is a non-repo package. I don't *know* what 32-bit parts I need (RSI IDL) - all I know is that everything worked fine when I installed the option "32-bit runtime environment" from the software list in the installer on the pre-13.x versions of OpenSuSE. Is there a meta-package to replace that pre-13.x option? Do you know the option I'm talking about (from the previous versions' installers)?

    Well, I sound like I know more than I do know - all I really know is that when that option to install the 32-bit environment went away - some of my non repo software went *poof!* and no longer works after install.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: 32-bit environ 13.1 - how to install?

    On 2014-02-23 05:06, PattiMichelle wrote:
    >
    > Hi Carlos - this is the problem I had with the latest Kubuntu - this
    > approach of tying only the 32-bit parts for individual packages for
    > install, rather than allowing the whole 32-bit subsystem to be
    > installed, only really works for repo packages. RSI IDL is a non-repo
    > package. I don't *know* what 32-bit parts I need (RSI IDL) - all I know
    > is that everything worked fine when I installed the option "32-bit
    > runtime environment" from the software list in the installer on the
    > pre-13.x versions of OpenSuSE. Is there a meta-package to replace that
    > pre-13.x option? Do you know the option I'm talking about (from the
    > previous versions' installers)?
    >
    > Well, I sound like I know more than I do know - all I really know is
    > that when that option to install the 32-bit environment went away - some
    > of my non repo software went *poof!* and no longer works after install.



    Ah, I understand.

    I suggest you report this as a bug in Bugzilla, or raise the issue on
    the factory mail list, to attract the attention of people that do the
    packaging and such things.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,175

    Default Re: 32-bit environ 13.1 - how to install?

    Thanks - do you have an appropriate bz link? I had to drop back to 12.3, but found it will not install correctly (video card incompatibility) on my latest HP EliteBook 8470p :-( So now I'm back to the 8440 running 12.3.

    It may be an upstream problem for Linux in general - Kubuntu also is taking the line that only the "needed" (i.e., by specific repo packages) 32-bit compatability should be installed. But that seems odd since hard drives are *huge* these days, and the 32-bit compatability package is very small compared to everything else. I've never needed a partition bigger than 20GB to hold the system drive. I guess far-upstream Linux developers are trying hard to make Linux distros fit on thumb drives?


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    974

    Default Re: 32-bit environ 13.1 - how to install?

    PM
    I raised the same question about a month ago, no useful 'easy' solution appeared

    I found running 'ldd executable' in konsole usually identified missing libs which I then dug up using Package Search.
    If ldd reveals no obvious missing libs, perhaps then run the executable from CLI and watch for 'missing this or that' error messages.

    I agree that HDD space should not be an issue (even thumb drives are 64GB now),
    but clearly the more repos enabled, the longer it takes to run updates too.

    GoodLuck with the hunt.
    Desk: i7-4790K Leap 15.1(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0
    Lap: HPDV7T i7 Leap 15.0(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,768

    Default Re: 32-bit environ 13.1 - how to install?

    Not even all the 64 bit are installed by default.

    But try doing a search in Yast for all package names with 32 in them then install. Note may want to do alook first to the list because 32 may appear in other than the bittyness of the package.

    I guess there should be some meta package that does it but then I suppose that there may be choices and that never makes people happy

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,175

    Default Re: 32-bit environ 13.1 - how to install?

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Not even all the 64 bit are installed by default.

    But try doing a search in Yast for all package names with 32 in them then install. Note may want to do alook first to the list because 32 may appear in other than the bittyness of the package.

    I guess there should be some meta package that does it but then I suppose that there may be choices and that never makes people happy
    Sounds like rolling the dice. There aren't any guarantees when packages are named, are there? (i.e., with or without 32-bit in their names) Was something wrong with the old method of just installing the 32-bit subsystem (or not) that I didn't hear about? I don't remember anyone having trouble with that.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,175

    Default Re: 32-bit environ 13.1 - how to install?

    Quote Originally Posted by cmcgrath5035 View Post
    PM
    I raised the same question about a month ago, no useful 'easy' solution appeared

    I found running 'ldd executable' in konsole usually identified missing libs which I then dug up using Package Search.
    If ldd reveals no obvious missing libs, perhaps then run the executable from CLI and watch for 'missing this or that' error messages.

    I agree that HDD space should not be an issue (even thumb drives are 64GB now),
    but clearly the more repos enabled, the longer it takes to run updates too.

    GoodLuck with the hunt.
    Thanks, this may do it. I'll give it a try. Why did they remove the 32-bit subsystem install from YaST 12.3 -> 13.x? I don't remember any issues of substance... What is CLI? As I said, this also appears to have shown up in Kubuntu just recently, so it is probably some upstream kernel development thing (as in users say, "Why did they do that?"). Well, time to try reinstalling again...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,768

    Default Re: 32-bit environ 13.1 - how to install?

    CLI = command line

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •