Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Opensuse 13.1 64bit issue: no ethernet card

Default Opensuse 13.1 64bit issue: no ethernet card

Hello,

May I ask for your help in the following issues. In your replies please be specific since I am not an expert, just a fan of openSUSE.

My goal is to set up a laptop dual-booting Windows 8.1 64bit and openSUSE 13.1 64bit with KDE. The laptop is an Acer Aspire E1-572G bought new in January 2014.

The Yast - Hardware - Hardware Information dump file shows a Broadcom NetXtreme BCM57786 Gigabit Ethernet PCIe. Looking at Yast - Network Settings, tab Overview, the "Broadcom Ethernet controller" is "not configured" and refers to dmesg output which is here. The card works as tested under Windows.

I would appreciate your help to get this issue resolved. Thank you!

Default Re: Opensuse 13.1 64bit issue: no ethernet card

I had a similar issue, covered in another (long) thread. For a possible quick fix, edit the card and make sure it is set for dhcp. Change nothing else. I had forgotten that openSUSE was changing the handling of the ethernet card. Instead of being eth0, it will now be called something similar to enp2s0. Hope it is that simple for you.
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic. - Arthur C. Clarke

Progress(?) report:

* Trying a few things following Prexy's remarks, I could not arrive at any improvement. As they were not very specific, nor was the link to the mentioned thread included, I may have missed something.

* The post at http://forums.opensuse.org/showthrea...11#post2625311 suggested that the network card should be supported by the latest 3.13 kernel.

I added the repository
    http://download.opensuse.org/reposit...able/standard/ as "Kernel" in Yast, then went to Yast - Software Management and looked at installed packages that appeared also on "Kernel". The following three packages appeared:

Code:
    kernel-desktop
    kernel-firmware
    mkinitrd