New install of openSUSE 13.1 I get stuck in looping boot dms_krn_helper<=HELP?!

Hello,
I am pretty new to Linux and run into an issue with this distro that I cannot solve or workaround.

I grew tired of buggy Mint, so I installed openSUSE 13.1 on my laptop. I am now stuck in a repeating loop where the desktop GUI freezes, then I ATTEMPT to open a terminal, it scrolls and rolls a lot of code and then, it reboots and the same thing happens again.
I have a Dell Insprion 8600 w/ 2GRAM and 80G HD. Pentium processor 1.5GHz/600GHz

I cannot access that screen to post the exact message I am getting, however I have snagged a few error messages–

unable to handle kernal NULL pointer deference at 0000000a

and

Kernel panic - not syncing: Fatal exception is interrupt
krm_dms_helper: panic occurred, switching back to text console

that computer is not online, hooked to a printer or networked so that I can actually copy the message.

Thank you-

Can you make a photo of screen with panic message?

https://app.box.com/s/zt0n3sttmo5o563dt16v is the link to the picture.
Had to figure a way to get em up, so- this works!!

THANK you.

This “craptop” is a rescue from its certain demise. My father had wiped it, never reinstalled drivers- its a decade old, but a Dell with lifetime hardware warranty. So, I’m trying to breathe new life into it.

Unfortunately panic seems to be caused by followup error and the original error scrolled off the screen.

Which video card you have? Try booting with “nomodeset” kernel option; for a start try Recovery mode menu entry (in Advanced submenu). Does it work?

How much memory in the old guy? The computer not your dad :stuck_out_tongue:

BWAH AH AH AH HAAAAA!! (logical after my ‘RESCUE’ crack)

hehe- HE doesn’t have much, sadly. He designed liquid oxygen rocketry systems. He reinstalled the old XP OS, NEVER updated drivers, or plugged in- so- its been like trying to rebuild Windows 95, lol…