Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: After update no eth0

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,452

    Default After update no eth0

    I was away on business and came home to the big storm with no electric for 6 days. When I finally got online there were 168 updates including a kernel update. i knew the kernel update would ruin Nvidia but it got worse. For networking, I have only loopback. It no longer recognizes eth0. I tried putting on a wifi adapter but that also is not recognized. I dual boot with windows on a separate drive. That also is not recognized and does not appear in my grub menu. I am running 13.1 with updates current as of this morning. I am posting this from an old pc also running 13.1 but not updated for a few weeks. It uses the same router connected via wifi with the adapter I tried to use on the problem pc.

    I tried using info in this forum but made no progress. I've used both ifup and Network Manager with no results. I have a disk of 13.1 Live that I downloaded soon after it was released. The Nviidia problem is small compared to this. Please give me some advice to get networking (and the windows drive) back.
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic. - Arthur C. Clarke

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: After update no eth0

    An if you boot the previous kernel?
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,452

    Default Re: After update no eth0

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    An if you boot the previous kernel?
    Sorry for the delay. Power was out. Internet cable was snapped. Plumbing emergencies took precedence. 14 inches of new snow on the ground with more coming. Don't know how long power will be on.

    I have both new and old kernel. Each as default and desktop. Each of those with a failsafe option. None give me any network interface; neither the built-in eth card or plug-in wireless. Had to use old monitor for gui ( a separate nvidia problem).

    During boot, I see an error message: FATAL: no ata_generic found. I tried both ifup and Network Manager. Neither sees any network interface but lo.

    Rebooted again today and still no option to boot second drive with windows. Now using an old, very slow, pc to get to this forum.
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic. - Arthur C. Clarke

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,452

    Default Re: After update no eth0

    Forgot: didn't try your links yet. Doing it now.
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic. - Arthur C. Clarke

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,452

    Default Re: After update no eth0

    Live-CD connects to the internet. fdisk -l shows the windows HD.

    Of course, no /boot/grub/menu.lst to edit.
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic. - Arthur C. Clarke

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: After update no eth0

    On 2014-02-13 18:46, Prexy wrote:
    > During boot, I see an error message: FATAL: no ata_generic found. I
    > tried both ifup and Network Manager. Neither sees any network interface
    > but lo.


    Check if any partition is full. Use "df -h" to find out.
    Guessing that you have a separate /boot partition, it filled, and initrd
    was updated incomplete.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,452

    Default Re: After update no eth0

    Switched back to ifup and see ethernet controller not configured. Message says "Unable to configure network card because the kernel device (eth0, wlan0) is not present" Says firmware (especially for wlan) might be missing. But no wlan connected.
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic. - Arthur C. Clarke

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,452

    Default Re: After update no eth0

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    On 2014-02-13 18:46, Prexy wrote:
    > During boot, I see an error message: FATAL: no ata_generic found. I
    > tried both ifup and Network Manager. Neither sees any network interface
    > but lo.


    Check if any partition is full. Use "df -h" to find out.
    Guessing that you have a separate /boot partition, it filled, and initrd
    was updated incomplete.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.

    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Minas Tirith))
    fdisk -l shows an asterisk in the boot column for /dev/sda2 (a linux partition) and an asterisk in the boot column of /dev/sdb1 (the windows hd)
    df -h shows the sda2 53% full with 8.9G available.
    there is a devtempfs listed under sda2 with 1% used. There are 5 more tmpfs with 1% used on each. Each of the tmp has 1G available.
    Finally, there is sda3 /home with 26% used.
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic. - Arthur C. Clarke

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: After update no eth0

    If the live CD is the same version of openSUSE
    ie: if the installed is 13.1 _64, then the live cd should be the same
    You can use this to chroot in to the installed system
    There is a thread about it here: https://forums.opensuse.org/content....ed-system.html
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,857
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: After update no eth0

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    If the live CD is the same version of openSUSE
    ie: if the installed is 13.1 _64, then the live cd should be the same
    You can use this to chroot in to the installed system
    There is a thread about it here: https://forums.opensuse.org/content....ed-system.html
    Once you have become chroot
    And say start yast2, you can check your software etc....
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •