Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Power Management module for YaST

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sogndal, Noreg
    Posts
    1,103

    Default Power Management module for YaST

    Hi!

    Just a request for 'YaST-power-management' package; if someone have the time to build one for OS 13.1 I'll be much obliged.

    BTW, if I wanted to make a request for the re-introduction of this package in the next openSUSE release, are there any official channels for this? I frequently swap between dynamic and static cpu load, this YaST module made that swap very easy.

    Cheers,
    Olav
    OpenSuSE 13.1, KDE 4.11.5, 64bit
    Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX8350, MSI GeForce GTX 760, RME HDSP9632, 16GB HyperX Kingston DDR3, Samsung 840-Pro SSD 128GB, WD Desktop Black 1TB, Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000 750GB

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,349
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Power Management module for YaST

    On Sat 08 Feb 2014 03:56:01 AM CST, F Sauce wrote:


    Hi!

    Just a request for 'YaST-power-management' package; if someone have the
    time to build one for OS 13.1 I'll be much obliged.

    BTW, if I wanted to make a request for the re-introduction of this
    package in the next openSUSE release, are there any official channels
    for this? I frequently swap between dynamic and static cpu load, this
    YaST module made that swap very easy.

    Cheers,Olav


    Hi
    That would be openFATE for these requests. Now, since YaST is now ruby,
    it needs to be re-written which I would guess it's demise......

    Why not just use cpupower to set performance or on-demand?

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64) GNOME 3.10.2 Kernel 3.11.10-7-desktop
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sogndal, Noreg
    Posts
    1,103

    Default Re: Power Management module for YaST

    Hi Malcolm.

    I just grew accustomed to manage the system this way, but I manage without.

    In any case, I will post a request for the package just to see what comes out of it.

    Thanks,
    Olav
    OpenSuSE 13.1, KDE 4.11.5, 64bit
    Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX8350, MSI GeForce GTX 760, RME HDSP9632, 16GB HyperX Kingston DDR3, Samsung 840-Pro SSD 128GB, WD Desktop Black 1TB, Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000 750GB

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,349
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Power Management module for YaST

    Quote Originally Posted by F_Sauce View Post
    Hi Malcolm.

    I just grew accustomed to manage the system this way, but I manage without.

    In any case, I will post a request for the package just to see what comes out of it.

    Thanks,
    Olav
    Hi
    Post back the link in the forum (general chat) and ask users to vote for it It should be easy enough to script something though and add a desktop icon to switch between the settings?
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Montana, USA
    Posts
    676

    Default Re: Power Management module for YaST

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    Why not just use cpupower to set performance or on-demand?
    Code:
    bart@Asus-990FX:~> cpupower info
    System's multi core scheduler setting: not supported
    System's thread sibling scheduler setting: not supported
    Intel's performance bias setting needs root privileges
    analyzing CPU 0:
    bart@Asus-990FX:~> su -
    Password: 
    Asus-990FX:~ # cpupower info
    System's multi core scheduler setting: not supported
    System's thread sibling scheduler setting: not supported
    System does not support Intel's performance bias setting
    analyzing CPU 0:
    Asus-990FX:~ #
    Looks like cpupower only supports a Windows (oops, I mean Intel) processor!

    Using an AMD FX8350 8 core processor.

    Bart

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,349
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Power Management module for YaST

    Quote Originally Posted by montana_suse_user View Post
    Code:
    bart@Asus-990FX:~> cpupower info
    System's multi core scheduler setting: not supported
    System's thread sibling scheduler setting: not supported
    Intel's performance bias setting needs root privileges
    analyzing CPU 0:
    bart@Asus-990FX:~> su -
    Password: 
    Asus-990FX:~ # cpupower info
    System's multi core scheduler setting: not supported
    System's thread sibling scheduler setting: not supported
    System does not support Intel's performance bias setting
    analyzing CPU 0:
    Asus-990FX:~ #

    Looks like cpupower only supports a Windows (oops, I mean Intel) processor!

    Using an AMD FX8350 8 core processor.

    Bart
    Hi
    No, it supports and brand, do you have cool'n'quiet enabled in the BIOS?
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Montana, USA
    Posts
    676

    Default Re: Power Management module for YaST

    Well, I didn't, but I do now. The results of running cpupower info is the same as it was.

    Don't know if I even need it. Just wanted to try it after finding it mentioned in this thread.

    The default setting of Cool & Quiet is Disabled by cpu. I guess I'll set it back to that setting as my system was running well.

    Bart

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,349
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Power Management module for YaST

    Quote Originally Posted by montana_suse_user View Post
    Well, I didn't, but I do now. The results of running cpupower info is the same as it was.

    Don't know if I even need it. Just wanted to try it after finding it mentioned in this thread.

    The default setting of Cool & Quiet is Disabled by cpu. I guess I'll set it back to that setting as my system was running well.

    Bart
    Hi
    Is the acpi-cpufreq module present from the output of lsmod, not sure but powernow-k8 module is the one I use for an AMD X2 4400+ cpu.
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •