Thread: Issue installing fglrx drivers (13.11) in OpenSuse 13.1

Default Issue installing fglrx drivers (13.11) in OpenSuse 13.1

Hi there, first of all, I am still pretty new to linux, so you might have to take things slow with me.

Relevant machine specs:

AMD A-10 5800K APU (I believe - perhaps incorrectly? - that this APU does not require the fglrx-legacy driver, but instead the most recent version)
    OpenSuse 13.1 - fresh install
    8 GB Corsair ram

I am trying to install the proprietary fglrx drivers in order to play Dota 2 and other steam games. There are some workarounds to not having the Catalyst drivers, but the performance is (very) poor.

So instead, I would like to install the proprietary drivers from here: http://en.opensuse.org/SDB:AMD_fglrx using the 1-click method (did I mention I am new?)

However, while this *does* download something, YaST does not initialize, even when I go to the folder directly and right click the file "amd-ati-fglrx64.ymp" and tell it to open with YaST. (FWIW, Opera thinks that the downloaded file is 0B. It is actually something like 17 kB, but there is clearly something very wrong here).

So instead, I tried following the instructions for building the rpm myself, further down that same page.

This too lead to an error when the following line was reached:

Code:
    Compare SHA1 checksum of the AMD-Installer ...
    So I tried downloading from the OpenSuse package repository here: http://software.opensuse.org/package/udba-ati-fglrxG02

This too did not work.

I then went to the AMD website to try and download the driver myself. I did manage to get a driver, with a .run extension, but I can't seem to get that to actually run! When I open the script with vim, there are non unicode characters in it? Perhaps I am getting the windows version, but I definitely selected the Linux version. If there is a simple program or command line I can use to execute that script, please let me know.