Page 1 of 14 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 134

Thread: openSUSE 13.1 KDE inconsistant resume from Suspend to RAM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    288

    Default openSUSE 13.1 KDE inconsistant resume from Suspend to RAM

    Greetings,

    I am running openSUSE 13.1 (Linux 3.11.6-4-desktop) with KDE 4.12.1 on a Dell Latitude D630 with the Nvidia G86M Quatro NVS 135M (driver version 331.38). I have not ever had any suspend to RAM issues with openSUSE but it seems that my system is having issue returning from Suspend to RAM. Sometimes, it works without any issues. Sometimes, I turn it back on and the X has been reset so I am looking at the KDM log-in screen. Other times, when it resumes, the screen is black or doing crazy things. I can keystroke the Desktop effects (Alt+Shift+F12) off and back on again and all is well. I have also determined that if I don't use desktop effects, there are no problems. This leads me to believe it is either a problem with KDE or the Nvidia drivers.

    The workaround I would like to implement is to just have KDE kill the Desktop Effects prior to going into Sleep mode. This way, when I'm on battery power and have walked away from the computer it won't hibernate and screw up any work I have pending.

    I have been looking for the scrip that controls the "Sleep" in KDE but I can't find anything definitive for this.

    I'm assuming that this is the command that KDE executes to suspend the computer:
    Code:
    qdbus org.kde.kded /org/freedesktop/PowerManagement Suspend
    but where the script is for that command is a mystery.

    Ouput from upower -d:
    Code:
    Device: /org/freedesktop/UPower/devices/line_power_AC
      native-path:          AC
      power supply:         yes
      updated:              Tue 21 Jan 2014 02:28:29 PM EST (1107 seconds ago)
      has history:          no
      has statistics:       no
      line-power
        online:             no
    
    Device: /org/freedesktop/UPower/devices/battery_BAT0
      native-path:          BAT0
      vendor:               SMP
      model:                DELL PD
      serial:               1
      power supply:         yes
      updated:              Tue 21 Jan 2014 02:46:33 PM EST (23 seconds ago)
      has history:          yes
      has statistics:       yes
      battery
        present:             yes
        rechargeable:        yes
        state:               discharging
        energy:              33.0003 Wh
        energy-empty:        0 Wh
        energy-full:         65.268 Wh
        energy-full-design:  73.26 Wh
        energy-rate:         21.9003 W
        voltage:             10.767 V
        time to empty:       1.5 hours
        percentage:          50%
        capacity:            89.0909%
        technology:          lithium-ion
      History (charge):
        1390333563  50.000  discharging
      History (rate):
        1390333593  21.900  discharging
        1390333563  20.679  discharging
        1390333533  18.881  discharging
        1390333503  19.014  discharging
    
    Daemon:
      daemon-version:  0.9.23
      can-suspend:     yes
      can-hibernate:   yes
      on-battery:      yes
      on-low-battery:  no
      lid-is-closed:   no
      lid-is-present:  yes
      is-docked:       no
    Any help is greatly appreciated.
    -Nathan
    If I am going to be spontaneous, I have to plan for it.

    www.CubicleNate.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Saarland in Germany
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 suspend-to-ram and subsequent resume logs me out.

    I have a very simliar problem: Sometimes (depending on the mood of the system devil) and in fact most of the times, suspending to ram and resuming logs me out: When I resume, I see a bare KDM login screen, as if I had just completely booted my computer. Of course all my open applications are closed and unsaved data is lost. Should we file a bug report for this?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    298

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 KDE inconsistant resume from Suspend to RAM

    I have been having this exact same problem since I installed OpenSUSE 13.1. Prior to 13.1, I never encountered this issue and it only started occurring after I started using driver version 331.38 with OpenSUSE 13.1. I solved this problem by simply reinstalling the nVidia drivers. That is, using zypper or YaST, simply reinstall x11-video-nvidiaG03, nvidia-computeG03, nvidia-gfxG03-kmp-desktop and nvidia-glG03. Furthermore, I noticed that the problem will reoccur whenever there is a kernel update. So, for some reason, when a new kernel is installed or updated, the nVidia driver is apparently not being recompiled properly since simply reinstalling the nVidia modules afterwards (which recompiles them) then solves the problem.

    futureboy and codester, please reply to confirm whether reinstalling the drivers solves your problem. If reinstalling the nVidia drivers fixes your installations then my hunch is probably correct that the problem is related to kernel installation/reinstallation/compilation and I will file a bug on this issue.
    Laptop #1: OpenSUSE Leap 15.2 (x86_64) | HP ZBook Fury 17 G7 (17")
    Laptop #2: OpenSUSE Leap 15.2 (x86_64) | System76 Darter (14")

  4. #4

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 KDE inconsistant resume from Suspend to RAM

    Quote Originally Posted by gldickens3 View Post
    I have been having this exact same problem since I installed OpenSUSE 13.1. Prior to 13.1, I never encountered this issue and it only started occurring after I started using driver version 331.38 with OpenSUSE 13.1. I solved this problem by simply reinstalling the nVidia drivers. That is, using zypper or YaST, simply reinstall x11-video-nvidiaG03, nvidia-computeG03, nvidia-gfxG03-kmp-desktop and nvidia-glG03. Furthermore, I noticed that the problem will reoccur whenever there is a kernel update. So, for some reason, when a new kernel is installed or updated, the nVidia driver is apparently not being recompiled properly since simply reinstalling the nVidia modules afterwards (which recompiles them) then solves the problem.

    futureboy and codester, please reply to confirm whether reinstalling the drivers solves your problem. If reinstalling the nVidia drivers fixes your installations then my hunch is probably correct that the problem is related to kernel installation/reinstallation/compilation and I will file a bug on this issue.
    If you installed the nvidia driver using the RPMs, a kernel update should not have any negative impact. I never had any trouble here.
    But I could imagine something like this if you have both G02 and G03 packages installed, or more than one kernel flavor.

    So please check:
    Code:
    rpm -qa | grep -e "(kernel|nvidia)"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    298

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 KDE inconsistant resume from Suspend to RAM

    Hi wolfi323,

    Thanks for replying!
    Code:
    rpm -qa | grep -e "(kernel|nvidia)"
    does not produce any output. However,
    Code:
    rpm -qa | grep -E "(kernel|nvidia)"|sort
    produces:
    kernel-default-devel-3.11.10-7.1.x86_64
    kernel-default-devel-3.11.6-4.1.x86_64
    kernel-desktop-3.11.10-7.1.x86_64
    kernel-desktop-3.11.6-4.1.x86_64
    kernel-desktop-devel-3.11.10-7.1.x86_64
    kernel-desktop-devel-3.11.6-4.1.x86_64
    kernel-devel-3.11.10-7.1.noarch
    kernel-devel-3.11.6-4.1.noarch
    kernel-firmware-20130714git-2.5.1.noarch
    kernel-source-3.11.10-7.1.noarch
    kernel-source-3.11.6-4.1.noarch
    nvidia-computeG03-331.38-23.1.x86_64
    nvidia-gfxG03-kmp-desktop-331.38_k3.11.6_4-23.1.x86_64
    nvidia-glG03-331.38-23.1.x86_64
    x11-video-nvidiaG03-331.38-23.1.x86_64

    So, I only have the G03 nVidia package installed, however, I do have several kernels installed. Could the multiple kernels be the problem? I thought that it was ok to keep several kernel versions. If not, then please explain and recommend what to delete.

    Thanks again,

    Gordon
    Laptop #1: OpenSUSE Leap 15.2 (x86_64) | HP ZBook Fury 17 G7 (17")
    Laptop #2: OpenSUSE Leap 15.2 (x86_64) | System76 Darter (14")

  6. #6

    Thumbs down Re: openSUSE 13.1 KDE inconsistant resume from Suspend to RAM

    Quote Originally Posted by gldickens3 View Post
    Hi wolfi323,

    Thanks for replying!
    Code:
    rpm -qa | grep -e "(kernel|nvidia)"
    does not produce any output. However,
    Code:
    rpm -qa | grep -E "(kernel|nvidia)"|sort
    produces:
    Oops, sorry. Typo...

    So, I only have the G03 nVidia package installed, however, I do have several kernels installed. Could the multiple kernels be the problem? I thought that it was ok to keep several kernel versions. If not, then please explain and recommend what to delete.
    Hm, that looks fine.
    The multiple kernels should not be a problem, that's normal and works fine here.
    FYI kmp packages only install the kernel module for one particular kernel and create symlinks for the other ones. That's why they only work with the standard kernels included in openSUSE, and not if you install 3.13 f.e.

    Hm, no idea then what's the issue.
    I am aware of a problem in creating the necessary symlink when certain kernel modules are installed, vmware f.e.
    But I guess in that case, re-installing the nvidia module wouldn't help either. Or maybe it would, because maybe the module would be installed for the running kernel and symlinks created for the others only? Not sure atm.

    You might want to remove the kernel-default-devel packages though. They shouldn't cause a problem, but take up unnecessary disk space of course.
    Either in YaST, or with:
    Code:
    sudo zypper rm kernel-default-devel
    Last edited by wolfi323; 23-Feb-2014 at 08:48.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    298

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 KDE inconsistant resume from Suspend to RAM

    Hi wolfi323, thanks for the prompt reply. I went ahead and deleted the kernel-default-devel packages as you recommended and left everything else alone. BTW, I also have virtualbox installed. So, could this problem be related to virtualbox? However, FWIW, I had to recently reinstall/recompile virtualbox with the new 3.11.10 kernel and it did not appear to cause the problem related to resuming from sleep/standby that this thread talks about so I don't think that is the issue. However, after installing the new kernel, I did need to reinstall the nvidia drivers in order to get sleep/standby to reliably resume after which I reinstalled virtualbox with:

    sudo /etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup

    and everything appears to be working properly.

    Gordon
    Laptop #1: OpenSUSE Leap 15.2 (x86_64) | HP ZBook Fury 17 G7 (17")
    Laptop #2: OpenSUSE Leap 15.2 (x86_64) | System76 Darter (14")

  8. #8

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 KDE inconsistant resume from Suspend to RAM

    Quote Originally Posted by gldickens3 View Post
    Hi wolfi323, thanks for the prompt reply. I went ahead and deleted the kernel-default-devel packages as you recommended and left everything else alone. BTW, I also have virtualbox installed. So, could this problem be related to virtualbox? However, FWIW, I had to recently reinstall/recompile virtualbox with the new 3.11.10 kernel and it did not appear to cause the problem related to resuming from sleep/standby that this thread talks about so I don't think that is the issue. However, after installing the new kernel, I did need to reinstall the nvidia drivers in order to get sleep/standby to reliably resume after which I reinstalled virtualbox with:

    sudo /etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup

    and everything appears to be working properly.
    No, VirtualBox should not cause this, at least not the openSUSE KMP packages. I'm not sure about the manually compiled modules though, they just might indeed cause that.

    If you installed VirtualBox from their website or using the Oracle RPMs, you have to recompile them after any kernel update (with "sudo /etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup"), like any other self-compiled kernel modules.

    You could just as well use openSUSE's packages, they would definitely cause no problem with the nvidia driver and would work even after a kernel update.
    If you want to try that, you should uninstall the Oracle version first and then install those packages:
    virtualbox-host-kmp-desktop, virtualbox, virtualbox-qt
    openSUSE 13.1 includes the version 4.2.18, if you want a newer version you should add the Virtualization repo first, in YaST->Software Repositories->Add->Community Repositories.
    That repo contains version 4.3.6 at the moment, and should be updated to the latest version regularly (although they tend to lag behind a bit).

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Saarland in Germany
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 KDE inconsistant resume from Suspend to RAM

    I have said "good" virtualbox packages installed (rpm from OBS) and am experiencing the issue on my desktop as well as on my netbook. My kernel and nvidia packages seem to be equivalent to what's considered "good" also.
    However the problem has not occured since I turned my desktop effects off.

  10. #10

    Default Re: openSUSE 13.1 KDE inconsistant resume from Suspend to RAM

    Quote Originally Posted by codester View Post
    However the problem has not occured since I turned my desktop effects off.
    Yes, I would suppose that.
    Without desktop effects, KDE has of course less requirements on the graphics driver. So if the nvidia driver is not working correctly, disabling desktop effects should cure most problems.

    But that doesn't fix the underlying issue of course.
    In your case, apparently X is crashing on resume.

    Does it help if you reinstall the nvidia driver like gldickens3 suggested?

    It would be nice if you would post /var/log/Xorg.0.log.old immediately after you re-login after such a crash. Maybe that would contain a clue.

Page 1 of 14 12311 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •