Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: can't detect my wireless epson printer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Near México City
    Posts
    175

    Default can't detect my wireless epson printer

    Hi,
    About 6 weeks ago i made a fresh install of opensuse 13.1 and had an issue connecting to my wifi. I needed to install the newest kernel
    Code:
     
    antonio@jazami:~$ uname -r
    3.12.5-2.g3848a14-desktop
    and succeded. But now, I cannot detect my printer. (Before upgrading the kernel I was able to print)
    This is my uname -a:
    Code:
    antonio@jazami:~$ uname -a
    Linux jazami 3.12.5-2.g3848a14-desktop #1 SMP PREEMPT Thu Dec 19 14:49:57 UTC 2013 (3848a14) x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
    Can you help me?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,706
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: can't detect my wireless epson printer

    So, starting from the top...

    1. Can you ping the printer by its IP address? (It is usual to assign a static IP address for such devices.) If you can't, you have some fundamental networking configuration to rectify before proceeding. The openSUSE firewall can prevent discovery, so you might want to disable that temporarily while configuring the printer.

    2. Regarding the printer, please provide details about make and model. (That might help others to advise about the network printing protocol supported.)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Near México City
    Posts
    175

    Default Re: can't detect my wireless epson printer

    Thank you very much for your reply.
    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    So, starting from the top...
    1. Can you ping the printer by its IP address?
    2. Regarding the printer, please provide details about make and model.
    Yes, I can 'ping' to the printer:
    Code:
    antonio@jazami:~$ ping 10.210.246.28
    PING 10.210.246.28 (10.210.246.28) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 10.210.246.28: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=1004 ms
    64 bytes from 10.210.246.28: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=5.36 ms
    64 bytes from 10.210.246.28: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=1.48 ms
    ^C
    --- 10.210.246.28 ping statistics ---
    14 packets transmitted, 14 received, 0% packet loss, time 13018ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 1.406/73.597/1004.744/258.256 ms, pipe 2
    I have a wireless printer: Epson Stylus TX560WD.
    Thanks, again.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,706
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: can't detect my wireless epson printer

    Did you install the Epson printer drivers yet? If not go here and search for 'TX560WD'

    http://download.ebz.epson.net/dsc/se...search/?OSC=LX

    Download the appropriate package for your system.

    Try detecting your printer via the CUPS web interface (make sure firewall is disabled via YaST first)

    http://localhost:631/admin

    If no auto-detection occurs, then try manually via 'Add Printer', and choose 'AppSocket', you'll need to complete the connection like this
    Code:
    socket://<printer_ip address>
    using your printer's IP address

    Follow the prompts given...

    See how that goes.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Near México City
    Posts
    175

    Default Re: can't detect my wireless epson printer

    Thanks for your reply

    I proved the wifi once more and I cannot "ping". Maybe I have a more complicated issue. Also, I cannot connect to "localhost:631/admin" (just keeps trying to connect)
    Can you, please, give me some advice?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,706
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: can't detect my wireless epson printer

    Quote Originally Posted by jazmiel View Post
    Thanks for your reply

    I proved the wifi once more and I cannot "ping". Maybe I have a more complicated issue.
    I should not be complicated. Can you check the printer front panel and make sure that a suitable static IP address (correct subnet) is assigned?

    You should be able to ping the router (gateway address) too. These are fundamental to having a working LAN, and you cannot begin to configure the printer until the network addresses are correctly assigned.

    Also, I cannot connect to "localhost:631/admin" (just keeps trying to connect)
    Can you, please, give me some advice?

    Sometimes, the CUPS service needs to be restarted. (It is designed that way, and only active when needed.)

    Check status with
    Code:
    systemctl status cups.service
    It will probably report
    Code:
    cups.service - CUPS Printing Service
       Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/cups.service; enabled)
       Active: inactive (dead)
    Start it with
    Code:
    systemctl start cups.service
    then its web interface will be active again.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Near México City
    Posts
    175

    Default Re: can't detect my wireless epson printer

    Hello, again!
    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Can you check the printer front panel and make sure that a suitable static IP address (correct subnet) is assigned?You should be able to ping the router (gateway address) too. These are fundamental to having a working LAN, and you cannot begin to configure the printer until the network addresses are correctly assigned.Check status with
    Code:
    systemctl status cups.service
    Yes, the printer has a static IP address and a subnet mask as well. I used this last address number to ping and everything looks ok.
    Code:
     ping 10.210.128.1PING 10.210.128.1 (10.210.128.1) 56(84) bytes of data.64 bytes from 10.210.128.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=7.02 ms64 bytes from 10.210.128.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=7.92 ms64 bytes from 10.210.128.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=7.63 ms64 bytes from 10.210.128.1: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=7.41 ms64 bytes from 10.210.128.1: icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=6.39 ms64 bytes from 10.210.128.1: icmp_seq=6 ttl=64 time=6.36 ms^C--- 10.210.128.1 ping statistics ---6 packets transmitted, 6 received, 0% packet loss, time 5005msrtt min/avg/max/mdev = 6.362/7.124/7.920/0.598 ms
    Also, I checked the cups:
    Code:
    antonio@jazami:~$ systemctl status cups.servicecups.service - CUPS Printing Service   Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/cups.service; enabled)   Active: active (running) since mar 2014-01-21 13:38:44 CST; 4h 16min ago Main PID: 1958 (cupsd)   CGroup: /system.slice/cups.service           └─1958 /usr/sbin/cupsd -f
    I can "enter" to the cups interface: "localhost:631", but when I click on the "add printers and classes" it "hangs"Well, thanks again for your advice.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,706
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: can't detect my wireless epson printer

    Okay, so now you can ping okay if I understood you correctly. When you use the CUPS web interface to add the printer, you will be prompted for your root (administrator) credentials. Did you get that far?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Near México City
    Posts
    175

    Default Re: can't detect my wireless epson printer

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Okay, so now you can ping okay if I understood you correctly. When you use the CUPS web interface to add the printer, you will be prompted for your root (administrator) credentials. Did you get that far?
    I'm afraid not. When I click on the "administration" tab or, in the "add printers and classes" link, is when it "hangs" (just keeps trying to connect).
    What else do I need to do?
    Thanks!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,706
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: can't detect my wireless epson printer

    Quote Originally Posted by jazmiel View Post
    I'm afraid not. When I click on the "administration" tab or, in the "add printers and classes" link, is when it "hangs" (just keeps trying to connect).
    What else do I need to do?
    Thanks!
    I haven't observed that behaviour before. Which browser are you using?

    You could try configuring via YaST...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •