Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Scanner Operation

  1. #1

    Unhappy Scanner Operation

    Hello, I have a Brother MFC-J432W Multifunction. I downloaded the correct drivers from brother and it prints perfectly. The problem is it wont scan, using simple scan it shows the correct printer model but that's as far as it goes, any ideas?

    Thankyou.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,698
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Scanner Operation

    Quote Originally Posted by jizzme68 View Post
    Hello, I have a Brother MFC-J432W Multifunction. I downloaded the correct drivers from brother and it prints perfectly. The problem is it wont scan, using simple scan it shows the correct printer model but that's as far as it goes, any ideas?

    Thankyou.
    Is this scanner connected via USB or network-attached?

    For my USB-connected Brother DCP-7055 scanner, I had to add a udev rule (/etc/udev/rules.d/50-brother.rules) before I could scan
    Code:
    # Brother DCP-7055
    ATTR{idVendor}=="04f9", ATTR{idProduct}=="0248", MODE="0664", GROUP="lp", ENV{libsane_matched}="yes"
    and of course be a member of the 'lp' group.

    If you haven't done so already, you might want to review the following
    http://welcome.solutions.brother.com...tion_scn1.html

  3. #3

    Talking Re: Scanner Operation

    Thankyou for your reply, i am fairly new to this so please excuse my lack of knowledge. I tried what you said but it still won't scan, not a problem as i really only need the printer anyway. Thanks for your help.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,698
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Scanner Operation

    Quote Originally Posted by jizzme68 View Post
    Thankyou for your reply, i am fairly new to this so please excuse my lack of knowledge. I tried what you said but it still won't scan, not a problem as i really only need the printer anyway. Thanks for your help.
    1. You didn't answer my first question about how it is attached. (Network scanning takes additional steps.) Please answer that question.

    2. I'm unclear as to what you tried. Are you sure you downloaded and installed the correct scanner driver? Please confirm with
    Code:
    rpm -qa|grep brscan
    If you've tried various commands or configuration, ideally you should cut and paste them (and any output) here, enclosed within [CODE]...[/CO..] tags like I have.

    The udev rule I quoted was specific to my model - it would need to be adjusted with the relevant product ID for your device. That can be got with with your multifunction device attached using
    Code:
    lsusb
    3. Some other things to check: This model uses the 'brother4' backend. For it to be active, /etc/sane.d/dll.conf should contain an uncommented 'brother4' entry.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Moses Lake, WA. USA
    Posts
    474

    Default Brother MFC-J6710DW scanner problem

    I have a problem similar to several other threads on this list but
    different enough to open new thread. The scanner works sometimes but
    mostly gets an Invalid Argument error on startup with xsane, Skanlite
    and the scanimage command. See results below:

    /etc/udev/rules/55-libsane.rules.

    CODE
    ----------
    # Brother MFC-J6710DW
    ATTR(idVendor)=="04f9", ATTR{idProduct)=="0263", MODE="0664",
    GROUP-"lp", ENV(libsane_matched)="yes"
    ---------

    Errors:

    CODE
    ----------
    @linux-x5b8:~> scanimage -L
    device `brother4:bus3;dev5' is a Brother MFC-J6710DW USB scanner
    finemanruss@linux-x5b8:~> scanimage -T
    scanimage: rounded value of br-x from 297 to 296.973
    scanimage: rounded value of br-y from 420 to 419.962
    scanimage: sane_start: Invalid argument
    ----------

    Example: xsane reconizes the scanner, setup looks good, Press Scan
    button in Xsane GUI.

    CODE
    ---------
    "Failed to start scanner: Invalid argument" then I close the error
    message
    ---------
    The entry in /Udev/rules.d is where the brother install document says to
    put it. (BRSCAN4)

    Skanlite gets "Invalid Argument" error in preview mode.
    ----------
    This device with the above setting in rules and same applications all
    worked in opebSUSE12.3.

    Any ideas what to look at?

    Help or pointers will be really welcomed.

    Russ
    --
    openSUSE 13.1(Linux 3.11.6-4-desktop x86_64|
    Intel(R) Quad Core(TM) i5-4440 CPU @ 3.10GHz|8GB DDR3|
    GeForce 8400GS (NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-331.38)|KDE 4.12.1

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,698
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Brother MFC-J6710DW scanner problem

    Hi upscope

    You are better off starting a new thread of your own when reporting issues with specific hardware. This is not the same the the OP reports.

    One thing you might like to try is deleting ~/.sane then attempt to scan again.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Moses Lake, WA. USA
    Posts
    474

    Default Re: Scanner Operation

    deano ferrari wrote:

    >
    > Hi upscope
    >
    > You are better off starting a new thread of your own when reporting
    > issues with specific hardware. This is not the same the the OP
    > reports.
    >
    > One thing you might like to try is deleting ~/.sane then attempt to
    > scan again.
    >

    Your advice got me going after several attempts:
    1. rename .scan folder - Still failed
    2. moved folder to trash , it created one one but still failed.
    3. copied folder from a 12.3 backup, and compared to 13.1 folder, ran
    using working 12.3 folder - still failed.
    4. turned off computer and printer/scanner, restarted. (have tried this
    many times before)
    5. reset all preference in Xsane, saved them, ran Xsane - it worked.
    6. saved drc file.
    7. logged in and out - scanner still working.

    since I am behind in my work with the scanner, will try again tomorrow
    morning after reboot.

    Again thanks for your help. It it works in AM I will post a solved
    message

    Russ
    --
    openSUSE 13.1(Linux 3.11.6-4-desktop x86_64|
    Intel(R) Quad Core(TM) i5-4440 CPU @ 3.10GHz|8GB DDR3|
    GeForce 8400GS (NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-331.38)|KDE 4.12.1


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,698
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Scanner Operation

    Quote Originally Posted by upscope View Post
    5. reset all preference in Xsane, saved them, ran Xsane - it worked.
    6. saved drc file.
    7. logged in and out - scanner still working.

    since I am behind in my work with the scanner, will try again tomorrow
    morning after reboot.

    Again thanks for your help. It it works in AM I will post a solved
    message
    Glad to have put you on the right path. Yes, it seems some of the default xsane parameters are not so 'sane' for some hardware. At least you're up and running again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •