Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Inaccessible NFS causes Plasma problem

  1. #1

    Default Inaccessible NFS causes Plasma problem

    Hello,

    I use oS 13.1, KDE 4.11.3

    I have connected via NFS data from NAS. And when the data becomes inaccessible, Plasma is completely inhibited and no action is possible.

    Do you have any idea how to fix it?

    Thank you,

    Martin

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29,834

    Default Re: Inaccessible NFS causes Plasma problem

    It would depend on which data is NFS mounted. When it is someones home directory, I can imagine that that influences (breaks) his session. When it is some backup data only used during a backup session, that would be i bit more strange. Thus you need to tell more.

    And you must of course try to find out why " the data becomes inaccessible". That should only be a rare exception ofcourse. When your infrastructure is not stable, you can expect all sorts of problems.
    Henk van Velden

  3. #3

    Default Re: Inaccessible NFS causes Plasma problem

    The NAS is a central data store so it should be mostly accessible for all time and it is mounted to home directory. But for example, if I take my notebook from dock station, wifi is not connected so the desktop becomes useless - and such behavior is not correct. Or another example is server maintenance from PC and when I make a restart, plasma falls.

    Question is how to fix (in automatic way) it?

    Thank you, Martin

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,236

    Default Re: Inaccessible NFS causes Plasma problem

    On 01/12/2014 04:16 PM, atilius wrote:
    >
    > The NAS is a central data store so it should be mostly accessible for
    > all time and it is mounted to home directory. But for example, if I take
    > my notebook from dock station, wifi is not connected so the desktop
    > becomes useless - and such behavior is not correct. Or another example
    > is server maintenance from PC and when I make a restart, plasma falls.
    >
    > Question is how to fix (in automatic way) it?


    If your NAS will *ever* be disconnected, then mounting it /home using NFS
    guarantees that your computer will lock up whenever the NAS is not available.
    What you observe is what should happen. The nfs file system is trying to access
    something on that system, and it keeps trying until it succeeds.

    You should mount the NAS on some mount point other than /home such as
    /home/<your_user>/nas. Of course, replace the <your_user> with your actual user
    name. Then, you can access the files on the NAS, and you can remove it as you
    wish, as long as nothing has a file open on it. Of course, changing directory to
    one on the NAS is opening a file - beware of that. It would be best if your
    fstab included the user option so that others than foot can mount it and you
    unmounted it before removing the NAS.

    NFS is designed for file systems that are reliably available as long as they are
    mounted.



  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29,834

    Default Re: Inaccessible NFS causes Plasma problem

    Quote Originally Posted by atilius View Post
    ... it is mounted to home directory. .

    Question is how to fix (in automatic way) it?

    Thank you, Martin
    I have not much to add to lwfinger's post.
    But the above is a bit unclear to me. Please allways add hard computer facts. I can interprete above vague expression as:
    1. The /home dirtectory you as system manager maintains.
    2. The /home/atilius directory that is your home directory when you act as end-user atilius.

    But the result is almost the same. When you remove /home, no user will be able to use the system. When you remove /home/atilius user atilius will be unable to use the system. And when such a removal happens when that (resp. a) user is active, all sorts of trouble may occur.

    When that file system would not be NFS, but on mass storage withhing the system, would you expect everything to function normaly when you forcefully remove it from the running system? It is liike removing a tire from a running car.
    Henk van Velden

  6. #6

    Default Re: Inaccessible NFS causes Plasma problem

    The location of mounting point is exactly /home/martin/DataNAS

    If I disconnect any usb disk, there are not such troubles. But when I disconnect NAS (NFS), Plasma stops working, only I can change windows via Alt+TAB and applications work properly but that´s all, I cant change application via task bar (it is frozen), no plasmoid is active etc.

    And this doesnt look like correct behavior for me. Because only way how to "fix" it is restart KDE (or complete PC) or reconnect NAS.

    Thank you,

    Martin

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29,834

    Default Re: Inaccessible NFS causes Plasma problem

    Disconnecting before unmounting is wrong. That is true for an USB connected device as well. Problems may reveal themselves in different ways like hanging applications, errors on USB sticks and the llike. But cutting tthe legs from under your table while still having stuff on it will result in things falling down and maybe break something.
    Henk van Velden

  8. #8

    Default Re: Inaccessible NFS causes Plasma problem

    Yes, but when I work with Windows and network disc is lost due to network problems, I never see problems in DE.

    But here, if network is interrupted, PC is blocked. By the way, administration is done via web interface and it means also power off and restarts. If I do it, it makes problem.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Nieuwegein, Netherlands
    Posts
    27

    Default Re: Inaccessible NFS causes Plasma problem

    Well, try to emulate the situation you have with Linus/NFS in your Windows environment. So redirect your "Users/atilius" directory in Windows to a networkdisk, startup Windows, and when it is up and running unplug your ethernet. That won't work either, because you windows profile will be gone.

    Admoel

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Inaccessible NFS causes Plasma problem

    On 2014-01-13 10:56, atilius wrote:
    >
    > The location of mounting point is exactly /home/martin/DataNAS
    >
    > If I disconnect any usb disk, there are not such troubles. But when I
    > disconnect NAS (NFS), Plasma stops working, only I can change windows
    > via Alt+TAB and applications work properly but that´s all, I cant
    > change application via task bar (it is frozen), no plasmoid is active
    > etc.


    This is a known bug. Some kde component still tries to connect, fails,
    and holds the entire desktop down. Not your fault at all.

    I don't know which component is the culprit, I do not use KDE; but
    removing it would solve your problem

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 12.3 x86_64 "Dartmouth" at Telcontar)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •