Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: how do i resolve error "Kernel driver not installed (rc=-1908)"

Unhappy how do i resolve error "Kernel driver not installed (rc=-1908)"

hi all , i am new in opensuse and i installed version 12.3 and i downloaded VirtualBox 4.3.6 from below link:

when i run my guest it returend me below error:
    Code:
    Kernel driver not installed (rc=-1908)
    and it want to me i run this command as root:
    Code:
    '/etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup'

so when i ran above command it return me below result:

Code:
    Stopping VirtualBox kernel modules                            done
    Recompiling VirtualBox kernel modules                         failed
      (Look at /var/log/vbox-install.log to find out what went wrong)
    when i run command
    Code:
     cat /var/log/vbox-install.log
    my result is:

Code:
    Makefile:186: Warning: using /usr/src/linux as the source directory of your Linux kernel. If this is not correct, specify KERN_DIR=<directory> and run Make again.
    make KBUILD_VERBOSE=1 SUBDIRS=/tmp/vbox.2 SRCROOT=/tmp/vbox.2 CONFIG_MODULE_SIG= -C /usr/src/linux modules
    test -e include/generated/autoconf.h -a -e include/config/auto.conf || (\
    echo >&2;                                                       \
    echo >&2 "  ERROR: Kernel configuration is invalid.";           \
    echo >&2 "         include/generated/autoconf.h or include/config/auto.conf are missing.";\
    echo >&2 "         Run 'make oldconfig && make prepare' on kernel src to fix it.";       \
    echo >&2 ;                                                      \
    /bin/false)

ERROR: Kernel configuration is invalid.
             include/generated/autoconf.h or include/config/auto.conf are missing.
             Run 'make oldconfig && make prepare' on kernel src to fix it.

mkdir -p /tmp/vbox.2/.tmp_versions ; rm -f /tmp/vbox.2/.tmp_versions/*

WARNING: Symbol version dump /usr/src/linux-3.7.10-1.24/Module.symvers