Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Missing Cycles Render Engine in Blender?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Zurich
    Posts
    15

    Default Missing Cycles Render Engine in Blender?

    I'm new to 3d rendering so I figured I'd follow this excellent blender tutorial: Blender Tutorial For Beginners: Cloth Napkin - YouTube

    At 5:41 he switches to the cycles rendering engine and this is where things stop for me. I have openSuSE 13.1 installed on a 64bit machine and installed the blender package with zypper. The version I received is 2.67b. The dropdown in the top middle of the screen has "Blender Render" and "Blender Game" but not "Cycles Render" like in the video. Digging a bit deeper there is a File > User Preferences window that has a tab "Addons". If you click on the "Categories" > "Enabled" a box shows up for "Missing script files" "cycles".

    Can someone make a suggestion?

    Regards,
    Richard

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,925
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Missing Cycles Render Engine in Blender?

    From the blender docs I get that you need either an NVIDIA or an AMD/ATI card with proprietary drivers installed, otherwise it's not going to work. Second thing is, that I get the impression that the cycles render engine is still experimental.
    All in all, IMHO you would be better of in the blender forums.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  3. #3

    Default Re: Missing Cycles Render Engine in Blender?

    Hi,
    It is better to use the latest blender from the blender site.
    Right now it is 2.69. You download it and unpack and ready to use.

    http://www.blender.org/download/
    People who do not break things first will never learn to create anything

  4. #4

    Default Re: Missing Cycles Render Engine in Blender?

    Quote Originally Posted by richardeigenmann View Post
    I'm new to 3d rendering so I figured I'd follow this excellent blender tutorial: Blender Tutorial For Beginners: Cloth Napkin - YouTube

    At 5:41 he switches to the cycles rendering engine and this is where things stop for me. I have openSuSE 13.1 installed on a 64bit machine and installed the blender package with zypper. The version I received is 2.67b. The dropdown in the top middle of the screen has "Blender Render" and "Blender Game" but not "Cycles Render" like in the video. Digging a bit deeper there is a File > User Preferences window that has a tab "Addons". If you click on the "Categories" > "Enabled" a box shows up for "Missing script files" "cycles".

    Can someone make a suggestion?

    Regards,
    Richard
    Hi,
    If blender cycles is compiled
    with the blender package from opnSUSE
    you can find it by going to
    Code:
    File-User Preferences-Addons-Render
    People who do not break things first will never learn to create anything

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,925
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Missing Cycles Render Engine in Blender?

    Blender 2.69 is available from the graphics: repo. See software.opensuse.org: , tick "Show other versions", select your openSUSE version, tick "Show unstable versions". Installing right now, will report whether the cycles renderer is available.

    EDIT: nope, Cycles - missing script file.
    Last edited by Knurpht; 01-Jan-2014 at 08:52.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,317

    Default Re: Missing Cycles Render Engine in Blender?

    On Wed, 01 Jan 2014 15:36:01 +0000, conram wrote:

    > Hi,
    > It is better to use the latest blender from the blender site. Right now
    > it is 2.69. You download it and unpack and ready to use.
    >
    > http://www.blender.org/download/


    That's what I do, and I highly recommend it. Cycles will work with CPU
    rendering (it doesn't require an nVidia or other high-end video card to
    work), but it will render fairly slowly.

    Jim
    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  7. #7

    Default Re: Missing Cycles Render Engine in Blender?

    Quote Originally Posted by hendersj View Post
    On Wed, 01 Jan 2014 15:36:01 +0000, conram wrote:

    > Hi,
    > It is better to use the latest blender from the blender site. Right now
    > it is 2.69. You download it and unpack and ready to use.
    >
    > Download - blender.org - Home of the Blender project - Free and Open 3D Creation Software


    That's what I do, and I highly recommend it. Cycles will work with CPU
    rendering (it doesn't require an nVidia or other high-end video card to
    work), but it will render fairly slowly.

    Jim
    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at openSUSE Forums FAQ
    Using gpu with cycles requires a high-end video card or a least you have two video
    cards one dedicated for blender rendering. In my case my machine has only one slot for video card
    and the video card I have is not powerful enough. I can use the gpu for rendering but slower and opening
    another application is slow. I am using cpu and decent enough to render faster than my gpu on my core i7
    with 10GB ram machine.
    People who do not break things first will never learn to create anything

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,317

    Default Re: Missing Cycles Render Engine in Blender?

    On Sat, 04 Jan 2014 21:56:02 +0000, conram wrote:

    > Using gpu with cycles requires a high-end video card or a least you have
    > two video cards one dedicated for blender rendering. In my case my
    > machine has only one slot for video card and the video card I have is
    > not powerful enough. I can use the gpu for rendering but slower and
    > opening another application is slow. I am using cpu and decent enough to
    > render faster than my gpu on my core i7 with 10GB ram machine.


    Well, it requires a moderately powered nVidia card - I don't think CUDA
    (as I recall, that's what it uses) is supported on anything else on Linux
    at this point.

    But the comparison between CPU and GPU rendering is pretty astonishing.
    I do rendering on an i7 laptop as well, and what I've seen of GPU
    rendering in videos (since I don't have the gear myself yet), it's much,
    much quicker - which makes sense, given what's going on in the renderer
    (ie, raytracing - computationally heavy calculations).

    Jim
    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  9. #9

    Default Re: Missing Cycles Render Engine in Blender?

    Quote Originally Posted by hendersj View Post
    On Sat, 04 Jan 2014 21:56:02 +0000, conram wrote:

    But the comparison between CPU and GPU rendering is pretty astonishing.
    I do rendering on an i7 laptop as well, and what I've seen of GPU
    rendering in videos (since I don't have the gear myself yet), it's much,
    much quicker - which makes sense, given what's going on in the renderer
    (ie, raytracing - computationally heavy calculations).

    Jim
    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at openSUSE Forums FAQ
    That's good to hear. Perhaps your machines graphic card is far better than what I have.
    My graphic card is an nvidia GeForce GT640, 128-bit, 2048 memory, CUDA cores 384. I know it is really not meant for 3d rendering
    but I choose this one because it has no problem in linux. My desktop is core i7 with 10GB ram.
    today after I read your post I tested one of my interior blend files with a size on 177MB.
    With GPU, It took 5 minutes 40 seconds, while using CPU it took only 2 minutes and 17 seconds both using 100 samples.
    People who do not break things first will never learn to create anything

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,317

    Default Re: Missing Cycles Render Engine in Blender?

    On Tue, 07 Jan 2014 01:26:02 +0000, conram wrote:

    > hendersj;2614316 Wrote:
    >> On Sat, 04 Jan 2014 21:56:02 +0000, conram wrote:
    >>
    >> But the comparison between CPU and GPU rendering is pretty astonishing.
    >> I do rendering on an i7 laptop as well, and what I've seen of GPU
    >> rendering in videos (since I don't have the gear myself yet), it's
    >> much,
    >> much quicker - which makes sense, given what's going on in the renderer
    >> (ie, raytracing - computationally heavy calculations).
    >>
    >> Jim --
    >> Jim Henderson openSUSE Forums Administrator Forum Use Terms &
    >> Conditions at 'openSUSE Forums FAQ' (http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C)

    >
    > That's good to hear. Perhaps your machines graphic card is far better
    > than what I have.


    I actually am not using GPU rendering - I've seen demonstrations of it
    being done, and middle of the road cards seem to do well.

    > My graphic card is an nvidia GeForce GT640, 128-bit, 2048 memory, CUDA
    > cores 384. I know it is really not meant for 3d rendering but I choose
    > this one because it has no problem in linux. My desktop is core i7 with
    > 10GB ram.
    > today after I read your post I tested one of my interior blend files
    > with a size on 177MB.
    > With GPU, It took 5 minutes 40 seconds, while using CPU it took only 2
    > minutes and 17 seconds both using 100 samples.


    That sounds like a config issue to me - you might ask on the blender
    mailing lists for information about configuring it, because you should be
    seeing nearly instantaneous rendering.

    There's a reason that GPUs are the "hot new thing" in computational tasks
    - they're very good at crunching the numbers. That you're getting such a
    poor render time tells me there's something not right in the setup.

    Jim
    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •