Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Upgrade to 13.1 requires acpi=off to get login screen

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    43

    Default Upgrade to 13.1 requires acpi=off to get login screen

    I've just upgraded from 12.3 to 13.1. It hasn't been an entirely pain-free process. To begin with, the install hung at udev until I set the kernel options to the safest possible setting. Post-install, I've been able to remove most of the options.

    However, if I remove acpi=off then the system boots to the point where services are running (I can login via ssh) but the loading screen never gets replaced by a login screen.

    I'd like to get power management running properly, since system is running about 10C hotter than it normally does (from about 38C to 49C). That's not massively bad but the system was configured to use fans as little as possible for the sake of family peace and its summer at the moment, so I have a motivation to get things running smoothly.

    Hardware:

    CPU: Intel i5-4760 3.40 GHz
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H
    Graphics: nVidia GeForce GTX 650 Ti

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Upgrade to 13.1 requires acpi=off to get login screen

    On 2013-12-30 00:06, charvolant wrote:

    > However, if I remove acpi=off then the system boots to the point where
    > services are running (I can login via ssh) but the loading screen never
    > gets replaced by a login screen.


    maybe you need the proprietary nvidia driver.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Elessar))

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: Upgrade to 13.1 requires acpi=off to get login screen

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    maybe you need the proprietary nvidia driver.
    Already installed. I didn't have it when I was upgrading, but got the same behaviour, so I don't think it's obviously linked.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: Upgrade to 13.1 requires acpi=off to get login screen

    Aha! What I have to do is add nomodeset to the boot options. After that, I can remove acpi=off, everything loads properly and the temperatures are down to what they were before.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    4,029

    Default Re: Upgrade to 13.1 requires acpi=off to get login screen

    Quote Originally Posted by charvolant View Post
    Aha! What I have to do is add nomodeset to the boot options. After that, I can remove acpi=off, everything loads properly and the temperatures are down to what they were before.
    That (nomodeset) would indicate that you probably have the wrong nVidia driver installed for your card.

    What model of card, and which version of nVidia driver is installed?

    Check them, make sure they match.

    -fb
    "Take a Walk on a Sunny Day, Greet everyone along the way, and Make Somebody Smile, Today"
    Gerry Jack Macks"Walk On A Sunny Day" GerryJackMacks.net

  6. #6

    Default Re: Upgrade to 13.1 requires acpi=off to get login screen

    Quote Originally Posted by Fraser_Bell View Post
    That (nomodeset) would indicate that you probably have the wrong nVidia driver installed for your card.
    No. The nvidia _needs_ "nomodeset" (or a blacklist for nouveau) to actually work, otherwise nouveau will claim the card and nvidia will fail to load.
    The nvidia driver doesn't support Kernel Mode Setting anyway (although it does something similar internally).
    But if you install the nvidia driver using the RPMs from the official repo, a blacklist for nouveau is generated that would make this unnecessary.

    Nonetheless, it doesn't harm to check that the nvidia driver is actually in use. Either in /var/log/Xorg.0.log or by running "glxinfo | grep render" (you need to install "Mesa-demo-x" for that).

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: Upgrade to 13.1 requires acpi=off to get login screen

    Quote Originally Posted by wolfi323 View Post
    No. The nvidia _needs_ "nomodeset" (or a blacklist for nouveau) to actually work, otherwise nouveau will claim the card and nvidia will fail to load.
    The nvidia driver doesn't support Kernel Mode Setting anyway (although it does something similar internally).
    But if you install the nvidia driver using the RPMs from the official repo, a blacklist for nouveau is generated that would make this unnecessary.

    Nonetheless, it doesn't harm to check that the nvidia driver is actually in use. Either in /var/log/Xorg.0.log or by running "glxinfo | grep render" (you need to install "Mesa-demo-x" for that).
    I'm using the official RPMs. (331.20-22.1, G03 version, which should be correct for the GeForce GTX 650 Ti Boost I have, or at least that's what it appears to be happy with) I've checked in /etc/modprobe.d and there is a blacklist for nouveau. However, I still need the nomodeset to get things up and running. The output from glxinfo | grep render is:

    Code:
    direct rendering: Yes
    OpenGL renderer string: GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST/PCIe/SSE2
        GL_NVX_conditional_render, GL_NVX_gpu_memory_info, GL_NVX_nvenc_interop, 
        GL_NV_compute_program5, GL_NV_conditional_render, 
        GL_NV_parameter_buffer_object2, GL_NV_path_rendering, 
        GL_NVX_conditional_render, GL_NVX_gpu_memory_info, GL_NVX_nvenc_interop, 
        GL_NV_compute_program5, GL_NV_conditional_render, 
        GL_NV_parameter_buffer_object2, GL_NV_path_rendering,

  8. #8

    Default Re: Upgrade to 13.1 requires acpi=off to get login screen

    Quote Originally Posted by charvolant View Post
    I'm using the official RPMs. (331.20-22.1, G03 version, which should be correct for the GeForce GTX 650 Ti Boost I have, or at least that's what it appears to be happy with) I've checked in /etc/modprobe.d and there is a blacklist for nouveau. However, I still need the nomodeset to get things up and running.
    Well, "nomodeset" _should_ not be needed in that case, but anyway. Keep it in if you need it, as long as you don't want to switch back to nouveau it won't harm.

    Btw, your glxinfo output proves that the nvidia driver is working correctly...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: Upgrade to 13.1 requires acpi=off to get login screen

    Quote Originally Posted by wolfi323 View Post
    Well, "nomodeset" _should_ not be needed in that case, but anyway.
    And changing to the G02 packages fixes things completely.

    Thanks to everyone.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    4,029

    Default Re: Upgrade to 13.1 requires acpi=off to get login screen

    Quote Originally Posted by wolfi323 View Post
    No. The nvidia _needs_ "nomodeset" (or a blacklist for nouveau) to actually work, otherwise nouveau will claim the card and nvidia will fail to load.


    The nvidia driver doesn't support Kernel Mode Setting anyway (although it does something similar internally).
    But if you install the nvidia driver using the RPMs from the official repo, a blacklist for nouveau is generated that would make this unnecessary.
    ...says he, straining to split hairs in desperation just so he can say "No!" to me or tell me I am wrong...

    1. The fact that he had to use nomodeset suggests a graphics problem;

    2. The fact he has an nVidia graphics card tells me he might kinda need a decent nVidia driver; and

    3. The fact he has an nVidia driver installed suggests there might be a problem with the driver, perhaps mismatched to the card, or not installed properly.

    ...ergo, check the driver against the card, re-install it if it is the correct one, might be the solution.
    "Take a Walk on a Sunny Day, Greet everyone along the way, and Make Somebody Smile, Today"
    Gerry Jack Macks"Walk On A Sunny Day" GerryJackMacks.net

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •