Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: No ThunderBird and Firefox

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Jundiai, São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    464

    Default No ThunderBird and Firefox

    I installed OpenSuse 13.1 KDE 32bit

    I kept the /home directory and formatted the / directory

    All folders are accessible, it appear to be OK, but after that, Firefox and Thunderbird stopped working.

    See the result using the command line:
    sergio@linux-jmdp:~> thunderbird

    (process:1320): GLib-CRITICAL **: g_slice_set_config: assertion 'sys_page_size == 0' failed
    sergio@linux-jmdp:~> firefox

    (process:1358): GLib-CRITICAL **: g_slice_set_config: assertion 'sys_page_size == 0' failed
    sergio@linux-jmdp:~>
    After this, I removed the directories. ".kde". ".firefox" and ".thundherbird" trying to solve, but the problem continues

    What should I do to fix this problem?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    970

    Default Re: No ThunderBird and Firefox

    Just an observation: if you want to get a new default KDE desktop setup you need to remove both .kde and .kde4.
    Don't remove them, rather rename them, which will get you a new one while holding on to the old for reference purposes.
    Also, you will need to log out and log back in to get the new KDE default setup.

    Whether or not this will help, I have no idea.
    Both Firefox and Thunderbird working OK on my x86_64 13.1 install.
    Desk: i7-4790K Leap 15.1(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0
    Lap: HPDV7T i7 Leap 15.0(x86_64)4.12.14-lp151.28.7-default KF5 59.0 Plasma 5.14.4 Qt 5.13.0

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: No ThunderBird and Firefox

    On 2013-12-28 02:16, cmcgrath5035 wrote:
    >
    > Just an observation: if you want to get a new default KDE desktop setup
    > you need to remove both .kde and .kde4.
    > Don't remove them, rather rename them, which will get you a new one
    > while holding on to the old for reference purposes.
    > Also, you will need to log out and log back in to get the new KDE
    > default setup.
    >
    > Whether or not this will help, I have no idea.
    > Both Firefox and Thunderbird working OK on my x86_64 13.1 install.


    Before doing that, you can simply create a new user, and try with it.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Elessar))

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Jundiai, São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    464

    Default Re: No ThunderBird and Firefox

    Quote Originally Posted by cmcgrath5035 View Post

    Whether or not this will help, I have no idea.
    Both Firefox and Thunderbird working OK on my x86_64 13.1 install.
    Yes, you are right in this part.
    This problem was already occurring before I install OpenSuse 3.1

    While I was using the OpenSuse 12.3, I installed and tried to use the program called PiTiVi video editor and my machine crashed. Once rebooted, Firefox and Thumderbird not worked.

    I did the 3.1 installation keeping the "/ home" directory, then all the problems inherited from the old installation

    Note that ".KDE" not exists
    Now I will try to use your suggestions, then post the result here.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Jundiai, São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    464

    Default Re: No ThunderBird and Firefox

    I Solve the problem after removed all the invisible files from my home directory.
    So I lost all my settings, but Firefox and Thunderbird are working again.

    Many thanks for the help.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,352
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: No ThunderBird and Firefox

    Quote Originally Posted by sergelli View Post
    I Solve the problem after removed all the invisible files from my home directory.
    So I lost all my settings, but Firefox and Thunderbird are working again.
    I'm glad it's working.

    Firefox settings are mainly in ".mozilla", and thunderbird settings are mainly in ".thunderbird".

    In my experience, both firefox and thunderbird are pretty good about updating old settings to suit new versions.

    Both are "gtk" applications. So it was probably the "gtk" settings that became corrupted. That possible involves directories that begin with ".g" and some subdirectories in ".config".
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    1,162

    Default Re: No ThunderBird and Firefox

    There are a few bug reports about this, for example, one relating to Firefox: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=833117

    Both Firefox and Thunderbird are filling my .xsession-errors-:0 with:
    Code:
    GLib-CRITICAL **: g_slice_set_config: assertion 'sys_page_size == 0' failed
    although they appear to be running with no problems.
    Regards, Paul

    Tumbleweed (Snapshot: 20190814) KDE Plasma 5 ~~~
    Non-Tumbling Tumblweed (20150508) KDE 4 - Resurrected
    Leap 15.0 KDE Plasma 5 ~~~ Leap 15.1 KDE Plasma 5 (Work in progress...)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •