Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Baffling update situation.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Baffling update situation.

    Hi,

    I have a lot of packages showing in red in YaST package management (openSUSE 13.1). For example,
    MozillaFirefox.

    The currently installed version is 26.0-4.2, from the update repo.
    In parenthesis it displays as available 25.0-1.1, from the install media and from the OSS repo.

    An update to it is not done because it is a lower version.

    But why is it suggested at all? Why is it not content with the installed version?

    I have not seen this before.


    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Elessar))

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Baffling update situation.

    On 2013-12-27 04:51, Carlos E. R. wrote:

    > I have not seen this before.


    I don't know how, but I tried again (3 or 4 times) and the situation has cleared, no idea how.

    [...]

    Yes, I know how.

    I have defined the image.iso file of the installation as a repository instead of the DVD, which is
    not available. If the priority of this is 98, I have that strange situation. If it is the default
    99, the situation normalizes.


    The problem is that, if when I am using YaST software management module, I click on the menu entry
    for repository management, change priorities, and turn back to the software management module, the
    situation is not recalculated.

    Thus, when I suspected that having the priority of the iso file at 98 was the culprit of the red
    packages, reverting that priority from inside did not solve it, till I really exited the module and
    started it again. This forced a recalculation and all was normal.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Elessar))

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,704
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Baffling update situation.

    Thus, when I suspected that having the priority of the iso file at 98 was the culprit of the red
    packages, reverting that priority from inside did not solve it, till I really exited the module and
    started it again. This forced a recalculation and all was normal.
    I don't touch the priorities generally. The package switching is all I use.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Baffling update situation.

    On 2013-12-27 06:46, deano ferrari wrote:
    >
    >> Thus, when I suspected that having the priority of the iso file at 98
    >> was the culprit of the red
    >> packages, reverting that priority from inside did not solve it, till I
    >> really exited the module and
    >> started it again. This forced a recalculation and all was normal.
    >>

    > I don't touch the priorities generally. The package switching is all I
    > use.


    Yes, but I wanted to make sure that when I have already a package on the iso image of the DVD
    repository, it is retrieved from there and not downloaded (again) from internet.

    Maybe what I have to adjust is this:

    Code:
    ## Note that this just a hint. First of all the solver will choose the 'best'
    ## package according to its repos priority, version and architecture. But if
    ## there is a choice, we will prefer packages from the desired media.
    ##
    ## Packages available locally are always preferred. The question is whether
    ## you prefer packages being downloaded via FTP/HTTP/HTTPS (download), rather
    ## than being prompted to insert a CD/DVD (volatile), in case they are available
    ## on both media.
    ##
    ##   Name             | Priority | URI
    ##   openSUSE-11.1      99         dvd:///
    ##   openSUSE-11.1-Oss  99         http://download.opensuse.org/distribution/11.1/repo/oss
    ##
    ## In the above example 2 repositories with similar content are used. Rather
    ## than raising the priority of one of them to 'prefer' a certain media, you
    ## should use the same priority for both and set download.media_preference
    ## instead.
    ##
    ## download.media_preference = download

    But I don't have clear what to write in there. volatile? Repo name?


    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Elessar))

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    15,676
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Baffling update situation.

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    But I don't have clear what to write in there. volatile? Repo name?
    As I read it, you need to put the word "volatile" there (without the quotes).

    I put the iso on a USB drive, and it always seems to "download" from there, if available. The repo shows up in the list as:
    Code:
     URL: hd:///?device=/dev/disk/by-id/scsi-1SanDisk.Cruzer..........20051233520F4F705D66-part2
    Once I have my system setup to my liking, I disable that repo so that I won't have to plug in the USB every time. However, if my network bandwidth were slower, I would probably keep it enabled.
    openSUSE Leap 15.3; KDE Plasma 5.18.6;

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Baffling update situation.

    On 2013-12-27 14:56, nrickert wrote:
    >
    > robin_listas;2611748 Wrote:
    >> But I don't have clear what to write in there. volatile? Repo name?

    >
    > As I read it, you need to put the word "volatile" there (without the
    > quotes).


    I'll try.

    But my repos are:

    Code:
    
    >  2 | ISOfile_13.1                 | ISOfile 13.1                       | Yes     | No      |   99     | yast2    | iso:///?iso=openSUSE-13.1-DVD-x86_64.iso&url=file:///data/storage_b/Isos/isos_13.1/ |
    >
    >  7 | openSUSE-13.1-1.10           | openSUSE-13.1-1.10                 | No      | Yes     |   99     | yast2    | hd:///?device=/dev/disk/by-id/scsi-1USB_DISK_2.0-part2                              |
    I disabled the "CD", actually an USB stick, and added a link to the ISO file of the DVD, which
    anyways I always keep on the hard disk in order to make copies, so why not use it as repo source?

    Will zypper know I want to use it with the keyword "volatile"?


    I'll have to install something big that is on the DVD. Dunno what. Something that has no updates
    yet. Maybe the openSUSE book... no, only online.

    calibre.

    Version tab auto selects the isofile.

    Huh, not going to test this one, it also wants to install a large bunch of things.

    xman.

    Ok... Huh. I'm not sure where it got the package from , too fast. I did see a spike on the
    network... Hum, check logs...

    Code:
    
    > 2013-12-27 15:24:07 <1> Elessar(18257) [zypp] PackageProvider.cc(providePackage):217 provide Package (47375)xman-1.1.3-2.1.2.x86_64(repo-oss)
    ....
    > ..013-12-27 15:24:07 <1> Elessar(18257) [zypp] RepoProvideFile.cc(provideFile):302 Providing file of repo 'repo-oss' from http://download.opensuse.org/distribution/13.1/repo/oss/

    It used internet. :-(

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Elessar))

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,704
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Baffling update situation.

    Uncharted territory for me, but your results do make one wonder whether 'volatile' media have covered all the bases with all relevant URI. Maybe 'iso://' hasn't been included or doesn't generate the correct internal numeric priority to be preferred (as would be expected), and a bug report is required?

    openSUSE:Libzypp URIs - openSUSE

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    15,676
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Baffling update situation.

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    It used internet. :-(
    Hmm, I had though of adding an isofile. But if it is ignored, then it is probably not worth the effort.

    In your case, with a slow ISP connection, it might be worthwhile to use the versions tab for selecting software. The complication is that if this pulls in dependencies, you would have to check those with the version tab and switch to the iso where appropriate.
    openSUSE Leap 15.3; KDE Plasma 5.18.6;

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Baffling update situation.

    On 2013-12-27 22:06, nrickert wrote:
    >
    > robin_listas;2611764 Wrote:
    >> It used internet. :-(

    >
    > Hmm, I had though of adding an isofile. But if it is ignored, then it
    > is probably not worth the effort.
    >
    > In your case, with a slow ISP connection, it might be worthwhile to use
    > the versions tab for selecting software. The complication is that if
    > this pulls in dependencies, you would have to check those with the
    > version tab and switch to the iso where appropriate.


    The test I did with xman, the isofile was selected, yet, not used.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Elessar))

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Baffling update situation.

    On 2013-12-27 21:26, deano ferrari wrote:
    >
    > Uncharted territory for me, but your results do make one wonder whether
    > 'volatile' media have covered all the bases with all relevant URI. Maybe
    > 'iso://' hasn't been included or doesn't generate the correct internal
    > numeric priority to be preferred (as would be expected), and a bug
    > report is required?


    I'll try that.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Elessar))

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •