Thread: A mess of a system ... "sigh"

Default A mess of a system ... "sigh"

Hi All

Now this is what happened

I was running a 12.3 system in my office where I had a VM with windows XP as I must run a windows program for my private practice (I am a dentist).
    Two days ago the system showed me that there were some updates and whithout thinking I OKed to be installed. I continued my work but some time later I noticed that the updates were some 780 (or there abouts). There wasn't much to do so I waited it to finish. After the reboot it showed that it was Opensuse 13.1 but ever since the boot sequence hungs just after "Started Command Sequence"

Any help?

PS. It is imperative that I dont loose the windows VM as I will be in deeeeeep Sh...... (You Know)

Thanks

Ooops .... and Marry Christmast

Blog Entries

Default Re: A mess of a system ... "sigh"

Likely the virtual machine winXP data is still there , even if you can't boot openSUSE.

On my openSUSE-12.3 the virutual machine hosted operating systems are stored on " /home/oldcpu/VirtualBox VMs/ " and in your case sustitute your user name where 'oldcpu' is located and your virtual OS should be there. Hence no matter what you, do NOT delete that directory nor its contents.

Also, no update will change openSUSE 12.3 to 13.1 unless a user with access to the PC deliberately goes into the PC's repository setup and adds openSUSE-13.1 repositories. Please, can you advise us better as to exactly what was done there ?

Also, when you say the boot sequence stops at "Started Command Sequence" is this the openSUSE boot sequence ? or the Virtual Machine boot sequence ?

Also, if this is your PC openSUSE that is not booting, does it boot with Failsafe settings selected ?

Also, can you boot your PC with a USB stick (that has openSUSE on the USB stick) ?