Opensuse 13.1: How to I backup my Btrfs partitions to a file on another filesystem?

I’ve gotten used to using Image for Linux, Clonezilla, and others. I attempted to backup my partition via Clonezilla
but I got a superblock error. I tried partclone.btrfs on a live cd and got the same error.

I’m new to the world of Btrfs so I’m sure that I am missing something for sure.

I experimented with “btrfs”, then went back to “ext4”. I’ll be looking at other responses in this thread.

I do my backups with “dar”. That’s a command line utility, a bit like “tar”. I backup to an external drive. You may need to install “dar” from the repos, since it is not part of a standard install. It backs up files and directories, rather than complete file systems. If you have to recover, you would probably need to go into rescue mode to reinstall grub. But, apart from that, it does the job. And since it is a file-level backup, it should not notice that you are using “btrfs”.

On 2013-12-22 23:26, klepto wrote:
>
> I’ve gotten used to using Image for Linux, Clonezilla, and others. I
> attempted to backup my partition via Clonezilla
> but I got a superblock error. I tried partclone.btrfs on a live cd and
> got the same error.
>
> I’m new to the world of Btrfs so I’m sure that I am missing something
> for sure.

My guess is that these utilities try to be clever skipping unused disk blocks, but btrfs is simply
not supported. You can instead do an image copy with simple “dd”. which copies everything byte by
byte. You need free space bigger than the partition. It is possible to compress it later with gz or
similar.

Cheers / Saludos,

Carlos E. R.
(from 13.1 x86_64 “Bottle” (Elessar))

Yes dd could get the job done, I also saw that you could turn a usb device into a raid node and duplicate everything there.
I am probably never going back from Btrfs as my days of rsyncing and rdiff-ing are done. Copy on write is where it’s at, it reminds me of