Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Do I have hardware accelerated graphics?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Do I have hardware accelerated graphics?

    Hi,

    I'm testing 13.1 on a spare partition. I have an Nvidia card ("G96 [GeForce 9500 GT]"), and although
    nouveau runs fine (I have been using it solely for two years, I think), I wanted to load the
    proprietary driver and try some games. I have so far tried "supertuxcart", "extreme-tuxracer",
    "Freedoom"... all namely 3D games.

    I also downloaded "Vega Strike". Considering my ADSL connection is 1 MB/s, it took hours to download
    all those things! Thus I was dying to try them out.

    But "Vega Strike" does not run:

    +++̣̣̣̣̣·······················
    Your system currently is not capable of hardware accelerated 3D. Therefore vegastrike cannot run.

    Usually the cause of this error is that there are no Free Software drivers for your graphics card,
    please contact your graphics card manufacturer and kindly ask them to provide Free Software support
    for your card.
    ̣̣̣̣̣·······················++-

    What? But if I have the proprietary driver installed? What else do I need?

    nvidia-settings says I have it.

    [...]

    Wait. I thought of finding out if running "vegastrike" from a terminal would post some error, but...
    the game does run.

    I don't understand.


    Mmmm... it appears the menu entry runs "/usr/bin/vegastrike-wrapper.sh" instead. This contains:

    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    
    .. /usr/share/opengl-games-utils/opengl-game-functions.sh
    
    checkDriOK vegastrike
    
    VSDATADIR=/usr/share/vegastrike
    VERSION=`head -1 $VSDATADIR/Version.txt`
    
    mkdir -p $HOME/$VERSION
    cd $HOME/$VERSION
    if [ \! -e ~/$VERSION/setup.config ]; then
    cp $VSDATADIR/setup.config .
    fi
    if [ \! -e ~/$VERSION/vegastrike.config ]; then
    cp $VSDATADIR/vegastrike.config .
    vssetup
    fi
    vegastrike "$@" || vssetup > /tmp/vslog 2>&1

    The included "opengl-game-functions.sh" contains:


    Code:
    # check if DRI is available, show an error and exit if it isn't
    function checkDriOK ()
    {
    if [ `glxinfo | grep "direct rendering: " | head -n 1 | cut -d " " -f 3` != Yes ]; then
    zenity --error --text="Your system currently is not capable of hardware \
    accelerated 3D. Therefore $1 cannot run.
    
    Usually the cause of this error is that there are no Free Software drivers \
    for your graphics card, please contact your graphics card manufacturer and \
    kindly ask them to provide Free Software support for your card."
    exit 1;
    fi
    }

    Thus, it is 'glxinfo' which fails. Indeed:


    Code:
    cer@Elessar:~> glxinfo | grep "direct rendering: "
    direct rendering: No (If you want to find out why, try setting LIBGL_DEBUG=verbose)
    cer@Elessar:~>
    Do I have a problem, or is glxinfo broken?


    (I'll comment out the test in order to run the game, but I'd also like to learn what is wrong)

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Elessar))

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: Do I have hardware accelerated graphics?

    Is your user member of the video group, if not the proprietary driver
    fails to have access to get direct rendering support (a known bug which
    happened in early 12.3 and reappeared in 13.1).

    --
    PC: oS 13.1 x86_64 | i7-2600@3.40GHz | 16GB | KDE 4.11 | GTX 650 Ti
    ThinkPad E320: oS 13.1 x86_64 | i3@2.30GHz | 8GB | KDE 4.11 | HD 3000
    HTPC: oS 13.1 x86_64 | Celeron@1.8GHz | 2GB | Gnome 3.10 | HD 2500

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Do I have hardware accelerated graphics?

    On 2013-12-22 02:54, Martin Helm wrote:
    > Is your user member of the video group, if not the proprietary driver
    > fails to have access to get direct rendering support (a known bug which
    > happened in early 12.3 and reappeared in 13.1).


    Surprise. That was it... :-o

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Elessar))

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Do I have hardware accelerated graphics?

    On 2013-12-22 05:20, Carlos E. R. wrote:
    > On 2013-12-22 02:54, Martin Helm wrote:
    >> Is your user member of the video group, if not the proprietary driver
    >> fails to have access to get direct rendering support (a known bug which
    >> happened in early 12.3 and reappeared in 13.1).

    >
    > Surprise. That was it... :-o


    There is something I don't understand.

    Some people that need this group added get very bad performance, or the driver does not work at all.
    In my case the only thing I noticed is that one test failed, but 3D games were working apparently
    fine. At least, I can not "see" the difference.

    How come?

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Elessar))

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: Do I have hardware accelerated graphics?

    Am 22.12.2013 14:17, schrieb Carlos E. R.:
    > There is something I don't understand.
    >
    > Some people that need this group added get very bad performance, or the
    > driver does not work at all. In my case the only thing I noticed is that
    > one test failed, but 3D games were working apparently fine. At least, I
    > can not "see" the difference.
    >

    Without details I can only guess that something else in their
    installation of the nvidia driver is wrong which only shows up when it
    starts to run with all bells and whistles and full access to the devices
    the driver needs.
    I have several machines here with different types of nvidia cards and
    none has a problem when the users are member of the video group.

    --
    PC: oS 13.1 x86_64 | i7-2600@3.40GHz | 16GB | KDE 4.11 | GTX 650 Ti
    ThinkPad E320: oS 13.1 x86_64 | i3@2.30GHz | 8GB | KDE 4.11 | HD 3000
    HTPC: oS 13.1 x86_64 | Celeron@1.8GHz | 2GB | Gnome 3.10 | HD 2500

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,925
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Do I have hardware accelerated graphics?

    Quote Originally Posted by martin_helm View Post
    Am 22.12.2013 14:17, schrieb Carlos E. R.:
    > There is something I don't understand.
    >
    > Some people that need this group added get very bad performance, or the
    > driver does not work at all. In my case the only thing I noticed is that
    > one test failed, but 3D games were working apparently fine. At least, I
    > can not "see" the difference.
    >

    Without details I can only guess that something else in their
    installation of the nvidia driver is wrong which only shows up when it
    starts to run with all bells and whistles and full access to the devices
    the driver needs.
    I have several machines here with different types of nvidia cards and
    none has a problem when the users are member of the video group.

    --
    PC: oS 13.1 x86_64 | i7-2600@3.40GHz | 16GB | KDE 4.11 | GTX 650 Ti
    ThinkPad E320: oS 13.1 x86_64 | i3@2.30GHz | 8GB | KDE 4.11 | HD 3000
    HTPC: oS 13.1 x86_64 | Celeron@1.8GHz | 2GB | Gnome 3.10 | HD 2500
    Same here, and I'm talking 20+ machines, some of them using the kmp package, most of them using my own dkms-nvidia package. I too suspect / guess something else is going on. Often I notice that when people with issues re. nvidia post here, they have already been "trying". Next our support doesn't bring the desired results, a reinstall and all works as it should. This is impossible if nothing relevant happened in between the previous install and the start of our support attempts. It would be very sad if two consecutive default installs on the same hardware would have different results.

    Another thing: in case of experimenting for optimal results, always remove the traces of previous attempts. I.e. uninstall nvidia packages/blobs before trying other versions.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Do I have hardware accelerated graphics?

    On 2013-12-22 16:06, Knurpht wrote:

    In my case I did nothing, just install the driver the easy way. Just add the repo from the community
    list of repos, run yast package manager, reboot. And it worked. It has been the easiest thing ever.
    I just noticed that something was wrong when the test of the vegastrike game complained - but the
    game actually did run fine.

    And adding the user to the video group was something I knew, but just had forgotten, and I did not
    associate to the "symptom".

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 13.1 x86_64 "Bottle" (Elessar))

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •