Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Installation

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    17

    Default Installation

    I tried to install OpenSusse 13.1 KDE alongside Kubuntu 13.10 but during install I got the following message: No automatic proposal possible specify mount points manually in the "partitioner" dialog. Have no idea what this means, so had to abort install. Can someone help me resolve this issue?

    Thanks,
    Bruce

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Amerika
    Posts
    126

    Default Re: Installation

    Quote Originally Posted by eipapp View Post
    I tried to install OpenSusse 13.1 KDE alongside Kubuntu 13.10 but during install I got the following message: No automatic proposal possible specify mount points manually in the "partitioner" dialog. Have no idea what this means, so had to abort install. Can someone help me resolve this issue?

    Thanks,
    Bruce
    How did you try the install, partitions, boot manager, etc.? Did you set up the partitions before you installed?
    --
    openSUSE 13.1, Arch Linux,
    Windows 8.1 Pro, all x86_64
    ---------------------------------------------------------
    Registered Linux user #436067

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    17

    Default Re: Installation

    Quote Originally Posted by oboedad55 View Post
    How did you try the install, partitions, boot manager, etc.? Did you set up the partitions before you installed?
    No I did not set up partitions prior. It's been my experience with other distros that when I install them they allocate drive space automatically. Typically like 55/45 or 60/40 with current installed distro getting the majority of the drive space.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Amerika
    Posts
    126

    Default Re: Installation

    Quote Originally Posted by eipapp View Post
    No I did not set up partitions prior. It's been my experience with other distros that when I install them they allocate drive space automatically. Typically like 55/45 or 60/40 with current installed distro getting the majority of the drive space.
    I always prefer to set up the partitions myself. It's worth a shot. I set as a minimum, / and /home. All you should need.
    --
    openSUSE 13.1, Arch Linux,
    Windows 8.1 Pro, all x86_64
    ---------------------------------------------------------
    Registered Linux user #436067

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Installation

    On 2013-12-15 00:26, eipapp wrote:
    >
    > I tried to install OpenSusse 13.1 KDE alongside Kubuntu 13.10 but during
    > install I got the following message: No automatic proposal possible
    > specify mount points manually in the "partitioner" dialog. Have no idea
    > what this means, so had to abort install. Can someone help me resolve
    > this issue?


    We need to see your current partition layout. Paste here the output of
    "fdisk -l". Please paste it complete, from initial prompt to final
    prompt, using code tags (the '#' button).
    Posting in
    Code Tags - A Guide



    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 12.3 x86_64 "Dartmouth" at Telcontar)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    17

    Default Re: Installation

    Usage:
    fdisk [options] <disk> change partition table
    fdisk [options] -l <disk> list partition table(s)
    fdisk -s <partition> give partition size(s) in blocks

    Options:
    -b <size> sector size (512, 1024, 2048 or 4096)
    -c[=<mode>] compatible mode: 'dos' or 'nondos' (default)
    -h print this help text
    -u[=<unit>] display units: 'cylinders' or 'sectors' (default)
    -v print program version
    -C <number> specify the number of cylinders
    -H <number> specify the number of heads
    -S <number> specify the number of sectors per track

    Trust this is what you asked for ............ Bruce

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Installation

    On 2013-12-15 01:46, eipapp wrote:
    >
    > Usage:
    > fdisk [options] <disk> change partition table
    > fdisk [options] -l <disk> list partition table(s)
    > fdisk -s <partition> give partition size(s) in blocks
    >
    > Options:
    > -b <size> sector size (512, 1024, 2048 or 4096)
    > -c[=<mode>] compatible mode: 'dos' or 'nondos' (default)
    > -h print this help text
    > -u[=<unit>] display units: 'cylinders' or 'sectors' (default)
    > -v print program version
    > -C <number> specify the number of cylinders
    > -H <number> specify the number of heads
    > -S <number> specify the number of sectors per track
    >
    > Trust this is what you asked for ............ Bruce


    That was an 'el', not a 'one'. You did not paste. And you did not paste
    the result in code tags as requested. That is very important here. Nor
    did you paste the command, only the result.

    Details are important.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 12.3 x86_64 "Dartmouth" at Telcontar)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    16,287

    Default Re: Installation

    NO!!!

    fdisk -l
    that is a lower case L not a one

    Did you leave space to install? Are you replacing kubuntu??

    If you don't have free space you have to resize existing partitions to have the free space needed.An installer can not guess what you want to do so you have to supply that info by creating you own partitioning scheme

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    17

    Default Re: Installation

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    On 2013-12-15 01:46, eipapp wrote:
    >
    > Usage:
    > fdisk [options] <disk> change partition table
    > fdisk [options] -l <disk> list partition table(s)
    > fdisk -s <partition> give partition size(s) in blocks
    >
    > Options:
    > -b <size> sector size (512, 1024, 2048 or 4096)
    > -c[=<mode>] compatible mode: 'dos' or 'nondos' (default)
    > -h print this help text
    > -u[=<unit>] display units: 'cylinders' or 'sectors' (default)
    > -v print program version
    > -C <number> specify the number of cylinders
    > -H <number> specify the number of heads
    > -S <number> specify the number of sectors per track
    >
    > Trust this is what you asked for ............ Bruce


    That was an 'el', not a 'one'. You did not paste. And you did not paste
    the result in code tags as requested. That is very important here. Nor
    did you paste the command, only the result.

    Details are important.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 12.3 x86_64 "Dartmouth" at Telcontar)
    Maybe I should just bag the whole thing. I don't know what you are talking about with code tags + when I entered fdisk -l as you said it returned nothing. Thanks anyway. sorry I couldn't be of more help.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    16,287

    Default Re: Installation

    You have to run as root

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •