Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Another change screen resolution in suse 13.1 problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    51

    Default Another change screen resolution in suse 13.1 problem

    Sorry to bother this forum with another problem in getting the screen resolution to run at max capability.

    It is KDE 13.1 and it is a HP Compaq 6910p labtop, which can have a resolution of 1440x900. But it only runs at 1024x800 :-(

    I have read a lot of other threads about this problem without success. And here I post infomation that was required on other threads:

    Intel Graphics Card - 965 GM
    SUSE Paste

    I was trying to make the solution by making a X11.conf in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/50-monitor.conf, and to get info I used cvt and xrandr:
    SUSE Paste

    It seems like I have a problem with finding the right name for the screen (LVDS /1 ?). Using Configure Desktop -> Hardware -> Display and Monitor the name should be "default" (or maybe "Default Monitor").

    I tried to use the various information to make a 50-monitor.conf file:
    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Default Monitor"
    Option "Preferred Mode" "1440x900"
    # HorizSync 56
    # VertRefresh 100
    # 1440x900 59.89 Hz (CVT 1.30MA) hsync: 55.93 kHz; pclk: 106.50 MHz
    # Modeline "1440x900_60.00" 106.50 1440 1528 1672 1904 900 903 909 934 -hsync +vsync
    EndSection

    And tried different variation of with/without modeline, hsync, vsync... with no luck.

    Looking in the X11 logfile:
    SUSE Paste

    I got the feeling that 50-monitor.conf never was read? And when I tried to detect which driver was loaded I found this:
    SUSE Paste

    So I don't think the Intel driver is loaded at all? When booting KDE Live USB stick the screen resolution is fine.

    If it is wrong driver, could you give a hint on how to change the driver - thanks!

    Jan

  2. #2

    Default Re: Another change screen resolution in suse 11.3 problem

    Remove "nomodeset" from your kernel boot line!
    Then the intel driver would be used (you're using fbdev now), which should automatically detect the correct resolution.
    You can use YaST->System->Boot Loader->Boot Loader Options->Optional Kernel line Parameter for that.
    A side note: Having "quiet" in there 3! times is also not really necessary.

    And then you should of course also revert the changes to 50-monitor.conf...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    51

    Default Re: Another change screen resolution in suse 11.3 problem

    Thank very much for your quick answer! Now it is running with high resolution :-)

    Jan

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,317

    Default Re: Another change screen resolution in suse 11.3 problem

    On Wed, 11 Dec 2013 14:46:01 +0000, janoleholm wrote:

    > Thank very much for your quick answer! Now it is running with high
    > resolution :-)
    >
    > Jan


    Also, be aware that openSUSE 11.3 has been out of support for quite some
    time now. You may wish to upgrade, as you'll not have received security
    updates for a couple years now.

    (Unless you're using SLED or SLES, in which case, you'll want to be over
    on forums.suse.com in future)

    Jim

    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Another change screen resolution in suse 11.3 problem

    On 2013-12-12 00:32, Jim Henderson wrote:
    > Also, be aware that openSUSE 11.3 has been out of support for quite some


    The body of the message says 13.1. :-)

    For some reason many of us tend to to guff on the subject title, and
    only notice too late.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 12.3 x86_64 "Dartmouth" at Telcontar)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,317

    Default Re: Another change screen resolution in suse 11.3 problem

    On Thu, 12 Dec 2013 00:53:06 +0000, Carlos E. R. wrote:

    > On 2013-12-12 00:32, Jim Henderson wrote:
    >> Also, be aware that openSUSE 11.3 has been out of support for quite
    >> some

    >
    > The body of the message says 13.1. :-)
    >
    > For some reason many of us tend to to guff on the subject title, and
    > only notice too late.


    Yep, oh well - my mistake.

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    51

    Default Re: Another change screen resolution in suse 11.3 problem

    Sorry - that is my mistake !

    I copy / paste from another thread and forgot to change from 11.3 to 13.1 in the headline :-(

    Jan

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,925
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Another change screen resolution in suse 11.3 problem

    Quote Originally Posted by janoleholm View Post
    Sorry - that is my mistake !

    I copy / paste from another thread and forgot to change from 11.3 to 13.1 in the headline :-(

    Jan
    Well, I guess you're OK with my good deed for today , see headline now.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •