Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Access Ubuntu from Opensuse

  1. #1

    Default Access Ubuntu from Opensuse

    I mounted Win 7 in Opensuse 13.1. However, Opensuse is not picking up my prior install of Ubuntu with all my files. How to I get Opensuse to 'see' Ubuntu 13.10? Obviously, I am triple booting W7, Ubuntu & Opensuse.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Access Ubuntu from Opensuse

    On 2013-12-01 00:16, CHAZDG51 wrote:
    >
    > I mounted Win 7 in Opensuse 13.1. However, Opensuse is not picking up
    > my prior install of Ubuntu with all my files. How to I get Opensuse to
    > 'see' Ubuntu 13.10? Obviously, I am triple booting W7, Ubuntu &
    > Opensuse.


    You want to access the files in those partitions? Just add them to
    fstab. YaST partitioner module can do that.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 12.3 x86_64 "Dartmouth" at Telcontar)

  3. #3

    Default Re: Access Ubuntu from Opensuse

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    On 2013-12-01 00:16, CHAZDG51 wrote:
    >
    > I mounted Win 7 in Opensuse 13.1. However, Opensuse is not picking up
    > my prior install of Ubuntu with all my files. How to I get Opensuse to
    > 'see' Ubuntu 13.10? Obviously, I am triple booting W7, Ubuntu &
    > Opensuse.


    You want to access the files in those partitions? Just add them to
    fstab. YaST partitioner module can do that.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 12.3 x86_64 "Dartmouth" at Telcontar)
    Um, can you be a bit more specific? Partitioner was unable to Mount (read and write) W7 or a seperate NTFS 'Media' petition. I had to manually edit /etc/fstab/ to be able to write to any NTFS partition.

    I have no idea how to proceed with another Linux distro. Help...

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: Access Ubuntu from Opensuse

    Quote Originally Posted by CHAZDG51 View Post
    I mounted Win 7 in Opensuse 13.1. However, Opensuse is not picking up my prior install of Ubuntu with all my files. How to I get Opensuse to 'see' Ubuntu 13.10? Obviously, I am triple booting W7, Ubuntu & Opensuse.

    Thanks!
    Why not open up a terminal session, run a few commands and post the results here inside code # tags:


    Code:
    su -
    
    fdisk -l
    
    df
    
    cat /etc/fstab
    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29,777

    Default Re: Access Ubuntu from Opensuse

    Quote Originally Posted by CHAZDG51 View Post
    Um, can you be a bit more specific? Partitioner was unable to Mount (read and write) W7 or a seperate NTFS 'Media' petition. I had to manually edit /etc/fstab/ to be able to write to any NTFS partition.

    I have no idea how to proceed with another Linux distro. Help...

    Thanks!
    You were talking about a file system created by and for Ubuntu when I understand you. That isn't normaly an NTFS file system. Either you mean something different, or you tried to mount the wrong partition. Providing the information James asks for could help us to help you.
    Henk van Velden

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    491

    Cool Re: Access Ubuntu from Opensuse

    Believe an example is worth a thousand words....

    #
    # ==================================================================================================
    # fs_spec fs_file filesystem fs_mntops fs_freq fs_passno
    # Device or Mount Point Type Options Dump for fsck order
    # Remote FS or not or not
    # ==================================================================================================

    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>

    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST3750640NS_5QD34SB8-part6 / ext4 acl,user_xattr 1 1
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST3750640NS_5QD34SB8-part7 /home ext4 acl,user_xattr 1 2
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST3750640NS_5QD34SB8-part5 swap swap defaults 0 0
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST3750640NS_5QD34SB8-part8 swap swap defaults 0 0
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST3750640NS_5QD34SB8-part10 /U-home ext4 defaults 1 2
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST3750640NS_5QD34SB8-part9 /U-root ext4 defaults 1 2
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST3750640NS_5QD34SB8-part1 /windows/C ntfs-3g users,gid=users,fmask=133,dmask=022,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0

    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-WDC_WD5000AAKX-001CA0_WD-WCAYUHW56605-part1 /windows/D ntfs-3g defaults,users,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0
    #/dev/disk/by-id/ata-WDC_WD5000AAKX-001CA0_WD-WCAYUHW56605-part1 /windows/D ntfs-3g users,gid=users,fmask=133,dmask=022,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0

    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-WDC_WD5000AAKX-001CA0_WD-WCAYUHW56605-part5 /windows/L vfat users,gid=users,umask=0000,utf8=true 0 0

    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs noauto 0 0
    debugfs /sys/kernel/debug debugfs noauto 0 0
    usbfs /proc/bus/usb usbfs noauto 0 0
    devpts /dev/pts devpts mode=0620,gid=5 0 0

    We too have a triple bootable System and at the moment Ubuntu is on the third Parttion. Unfortunately all the spaces and tabs have been condensed. Just grab a copy and expand the single spaces to get the real picture.

    Take care,
    Chuck
    Box: Intel Core i7-4790 3.6Ghz | AMD Radeon R7 240 | 32GB RAM | openSuSE Leap 15/ KDE Plasma 5.12.6

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29,777

    Default Re: Access Ubuntu from Opensuse

    Please, please, please. Use CODE tags around your copied/pasted computer texts. You get the CODE tags by clicking on the # button inthe tool bar of the post editor. When applicable the prompt, the command, the output and the next prompt.

    Is this realy new for you? You are a member since 2008 and posted more then 300 timess here. You probably read many more posts.
    Henk van Velden

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Access Ubuntu from Opensuse

    On 2013-12-01 14:26, chucktr wrote:
    >
    > Believe an example is worth a thousand words....


    But please do so using code tags. The '#' button on your editor.

    > # <file system> <mount point>
    > <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
    >
    > /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST3750640NS_5QD34SB8-part6 / ext4
    > acl,user_xattr 1 1


    Line wraps, spaces are eaten...

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 12.3 x86_64 "Dartmouth" at Telcontar)

  9. #9

    Default Re: Access Ubuntu from Opensuse

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    Please, please, please. Use CODE tags around your copied/pasted computer texts. You get the CODE tags by clicking on the # button inthe tool bar of the post editor. When applicable the prompt, the command, the output and the next prompt.

    Is this realy new for you? You are a member since 2008 and posted more then 300 timess here. You probably read many more posts.
    It is to me, not quite sure I get it...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Access Ubuntu from Opensuse

    On 2013-12-01 16:46, CHAZDG51 wrote:
    >
    > hcvv;2604185 Wrote:


    >> Is this realy new for you? You are a member since 2008 and posted more
    >> then 300 timess here. You probably read many more posts.

    > It is to me, not quite sure I get it...


    Posting in
    Code Tags - A Guide


    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 12.3 x86_64 "Dartmouth" at Telcontar)

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •