Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Nvidia driver

Default Nvidia driver

I am new to Opensuse but have several years of experience with Ubuntu and Mint. I want to install the correct nvidia driver for my graphics card. I plan to install opensuse 13.1.

I have an nvidia gtx 550 ti card. According to Nvidia, the correct driver is the 331.20 driver. Examining the Opensuse installation page, I note that my card is not a Geforce 8, 7 or 6 - and the card is 2 years old. However, I searched through the community general package search engine for nvidia drivers and found, that the nvidia-gfxG03 package is or includes the 331.20 driver. I thus hope, when the installation is available according to the instructions on the general nvidia installation page (one click or by adding the repository) that I can use the repository applicable to the nvidia-gfxGO3 package. Or, is there a reason that using what is intended for Geforce 8 will cause a problem? Alternatively, can I use (although nothing about this appears on the general page for installing nvidia drivers) the general one-click package installation page here to correctly install the driver? and, if so, will that cause any issues later when the kernel is updated, etc.?

Default Re: Nvidia driver

On 2013-11-28 14:56, nef131 wrote:

> instructions on the general nvidia installation page (one click or by
    > adding the repository) that I can use the repository applicable to the

The repository for 13.1 is not available yet, you have to wait.

--
    Cheers / Saludos,

Carlos E. R.
    (from 12.3 x86_64 "Dartmouth" at Telcontar)

Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post

--
    Cheers / Saludos,

Carlos E. R.
    Thank you for your comment. I understood that the 13.1 repository is not yet ready.