Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: YaST in openSUSE 13.1 showing multiple entries for same package name

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    19

    Default YaST in openSUSE 13.1 showing multiple entries for same package name

    YaST > Package Groups [TAB] in openSUSE 13.1 appears to show an entry for each available version of a given package.

    For example, I have six (6) individual entries for Amarok listed in YaST!

    Amarok resides in 3 of my configured repos: KDE:Extra, Oss and Packman. Each repo offers i586 and x86_64 versions. When I select Package Groups [TAB] > Multimedia and scroll through the package list, all six (6) versions are listed one after the other.

    The same thing applies to all other apps: there are as many entries as there are versions X number of repositories in which the packages reside. This is surely not the intended behaviour as it is quite confusing.

    I can provide a screenshot if it helps -- just tell me the forum protocol, please. Otherwise, here's a link: http://img716.imageshack.us/img716/8852/ch3m.png

    Is there some way to fix this and get the old (correct) behaviour back?

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: YaST in openSUSE 13.1 showing multiple entries for same package name


  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Space Colony Lagrange Point 22° à, 77° Ƅ, 56° ɤ, 99° ɜ
    Posts
    3,166

    Default Re: YaST in openSUSE 13.1 showing multiple entries for same packagename

    naughtypine wrote:
    >
    > YaST > Package Groups [TAB] in openSUSE 13.1 appears to show an entry
    > for each available version of a given package.
    >
    > For example, I have *six (6)* individual entries for Amarok listed in
    > YaST!
    >
    > Amarok resides in 3 of my configured repos: -KDE:Extra-, -Oss- and
    > -Packman-. Each repo offers i586 and x86_64 versions. When I select
    > Package Groups [TAB] > Multimedia and scroll through the package list,
    > all six (6) versions are listed one after the other.
    >
    > The same thing applies to all other apps: -there are as many entries as
    > there are versions *X* number of repositories in which the packages
    > reside-. This is surely not the intended behaviour as it is quite
    > confusing.
    >
    > I can provide a screenshot if it helps -- just tell me the forum
    > protocol, please. Otherwise, here's a link:
    > http://img716.imageshack.us/img716/8852/ch3m.png
    >
    > Is there some way to fix this and get the old (correct) behaviour back?
    >
    > Thank you.
    >
    >

    I have submitted this thread to the bug
    https://bugzilla.novell.com/show_bug.cgi?id=852073

    --
    GNOME 3.10.1
    openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64) 64-bit
    Kernel Linux 3.11.6-4-desktop

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: YaST in openSUSE 13.1 showing multiple entries for same package name

    Quote Originally Posted by astromech View Post
    Yes, looks like I'm not alone.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,185
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: YaST in openSUSE 13.1 showing multiple entries for same package name

    Quote Originally Posted by naughtypine View Post
    YaST > Package Groups [TAB] in openSUSE 13.1 appears to show an entry for each available version of a given package.
    Based on the screenshot that you provided, this appears to be happening because you clicked the "versions" tab (which is supposed to list all versions).

    If you click the "Descriptions" tab, you should get something more familiar.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: YaST in openSUSE 13.1 showing multiple entries for same package name

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    Based on the screenshot that you provided, this appears to be happening because you clicked the "versions" tab (which is supposed to list all versions).

    If you click the "Descriptions" tab, you should get something more familiar.
    No. The selected tab is irrelevant.

    Yes, the Versions tab lists all available versions as it should, but the package list should only show a single entry per package -- as it has always been. In the case of this obvious bug (https://bugzilla.novell.com/show_bug.cgi?id=852073), there are as many entries as there are versions multiplied by the number of enabled sources where a given package is available.

    Thanks, though.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: YaST in openSUSE 13.1 showing multiple entries for same packagename

    On 2013-11-29 02:36, nrickert wrote:
    >
    > naughtypine;2602950 Wrote:
    >> YaST > Package Groups [TAB] in openSUSE 13.1 appears to show an entry
    >> for each available version of a given package.

    >
    > Based on the screenshot that you provided, this appears to be happening
    > because you clicked the "versions" tab (which is supposed to list all
    > versions).
    >
    > If you click the "Descriptions" tab, you should get something more
    > familiar.


    No, it is not that.

    I have right now side by side yast from 12.3 and 13.1, both on the same
    position (both are virtual machines). On 13.1 the package list
    (right-top box) shows several packages for amarok, but 12.3 shows only
    one. Yet the version tab on both displays several versions. I can upload
    the photo showing both yast versions if it is wanted.

    It is a genuine bug.

    If you sort by something else, like "search", there is only one entry.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 12.3 x86_64 "Dartmouth" at Telcontar)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: YaST in openSUSE 13.1 showing multiple entries for same package name

    Incidentally, while on the subject of YaST bugs... does anyone know why there is no icon assigned to the Education package group (see my screenshot, start of thread)? It was the same in 12.3, if I remember correctly.

    Not a critical bug, mind you, but it makes my OCD kick in a bit. :-)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Vreden (Germany)
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: YaST in openSUSE 13.1 showing multiple entries for same package name

    Quote Originally Posted by naughtypine View Post
    YaST > Package Groups [TAB] in openSUSE 13.1 appears to show an entry for each available version of a given package.

    For example, I have six (6) individual entries for Amarok listed in YaST!

    Amarok resides in 3 of my configured repos: KDE:Extra, Oss and Packman. Each repo offers i586 and x86_64 versions. When I select Package Groups [TAB] > Multimedia and scroll through the package list, all six (6) versions are listed one after the other.

    The same thing applies to all other apps: there are as many entries as there are versions X number of repositories in which the packages reside. This is surely not the intended behaviour as it is quite confusing.

    I can provide a screenshot if it helps -- just tell me the forum protocol, please. Otherwise, here's a link: http://img716.imageshack.us/img716/8852/ch3m.png

    Is there some way to fix this and get the old (correct) behaviour back?

    Thank you.
    Same here, multiple entries, and this is still there after a fresh installation.

  10. #10

    Default Re: YaST in openSUSE 13.1 showing multiple entries for same package name

    Quote Originally Posted by karelbeerten View Post
    Same here, multiple entries, and this is still there after a fresh installation.
    Well, yes.
    This is https://bugzilla.novell.com/show_bug.cgi?id=852073 as already has been mentioned.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •