Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 39

Thread: runlevel add tightvncserver

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    584

    Default runlevel add tightvncserver

    How can I add tightvncserver to system runlevel for set on or off.
    openSUse 12.3

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: runlevel add tightvncserver

    Quote Originally Posted by anton View Post
    How can I add tightvncserver to system runlevel for set on or off.
    openSUse 12.3
    From your short message, its hard to know what you want to do. openSUSE has switched from systemv to systemd and TightVNC is a remote PC Desktop control application. For info on TightVNC, see link below:

    https://forums.opensuse.org/content/...suse-12-3.html

    For more info on remote control, have a look here:

    How To Use VNC/Remmina to Remote Control an openSUSE 12.3 KDE Desktop - Blogs - openSUSE Forums

    For more info on using systemd, have a look here:

    https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jd...-12-2-12-3-71/

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  3. #3

    Default Re: runlevel add tightvncserver

    Quote Originally Posted by anton View Post
    How can I add tightvncserver to system runlevel for set on or off.
    openSUse 12.3
    You would have to write an init script or systemd unit.
    Or start it in /etc/init.d/boot.after.local or similar.

    But normally tightvnc is started via xinetd and even contains a ready xinetd configuration, which you just have to enable in YaST->Network Services->Network Services (xinetd).
    Or even easier: Enter YaST->Network Services->Remote Administration (VNC) and enable "Allow Remote Administration". This enables tightvnc in xinetd.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    584

    Default Re: runlevel add tightvncserver

    I just want x11vnc or tightvnc auto startup after user login.

  5. #5

    Default Re: runlevel add tightvncserver

    Quote Originally Posted by anton View Post
    I just want x11vnc or tightvnc auto startup after user login.
    Then add it to /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc or put a script into /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d/ that starts it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    584

    Default Re: runlevel add tightvncserver

    What should I add?
    Would be nice to have a user friendly howto setup tightvncserver with opensuse 12.3 and auto start after login
    for remote with tightvnc.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: runlevel add tightvncserver

    Quote Originally Posted by anton View Post
    What should I add?
    Would be nice to have a user friendly howto setup tightvncserver with opensuse 12.3 and auto start after login
    for remote with tightvnc.
    You already got three links on how to use TightVNC and for systemd. So, you have more than one PC, and on one of them you want TightVNC to auto start, right?

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    584

    Default Re: runlevel add tightvncserver

    I cannot find the answer in your links sorry .

    Its not a problem to remote the clients when I type in :
    vncserver -geometry 1024x768 -depth 16

    Only those 5 workstations (LXDE) have no monitor and no keyboard.
    Thats why I want to auto startup the vncserver.



    greetings

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: runlevel add tightvncserver

    Quote Originally Posted by anton View Post
    I cannot find the answer in your links sorry .

    Its not a problem to remote the clients when I type in :
    vncserver -geometry 1024x768 -depth 16

    Only those 5 workstations (LXDE) have no monitor and no keyboard.
    Thats why I want to auto startup the vncserver.



    greetings
    This command would be run on the remote server you wish to connect to. Are you trying to remote control a GUI desktop or a terminal session? This command could be added to the /etc/init.d/after.local file as root per my blog on the subject:

    systemd and using the after.local script in openSUSE 12.1 - Blogs - openSUSE Forums

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    584

    Default Re: runlevel add tightvncserver

    Yes that is true I have to type that in the remote server (gui desktops).
    I am trying to remote GUI desktops.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •