Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Banshee In 13.1

  1. #1

    Default Banshee In 13.1

    Hi all;

    Upgraded to openSUSE 13.1 yesterday, all seems well apart from Banshee.

    It keeps freezing and I have to end the process or just closing without warning...occasionally it will say that there is a problem and do I want to kill the process.
    Never had a problem in previous installs so I'm guessing Banshee & 13.1 aren't playing nicely at the moment?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,376

    Default Re: Banshee In 13.1

    Quote Originally Posted by nigsy View Post
    Hi all;

    Upgraded to openSUSE 13.1 yesterday, all seems well apart from Banshee.

    It keeps freezing and I have to end the process or just closing without warning...occasionally it will say that there is a problem and do I want to kill the process.
    Never had a problem in previous installs so I'm guessing Banshee & 13.1 aren't playing nicely at the moment?
    Run banshee from a terminal and see if that gives you any clues. Post the output here, wrapped in CODE tags. Is this happening at any particular event, e.g., playing music? Do you have the codecs installed? Read the instructions for the one-click install.

    https://forums.opensuse.org/english/...one-click.html

  3. #3

    Default Re: Banshee In 13.1

    I've got the same problem. Banshee won't start after upgrading to 13.1. The process is there, but the GUI won't show up. The process can only be killed by sending a SIGKILL. No console messages at all.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Space Colony Lagrange Point 22° à, 77° Ƅ, 56° ɤ, 99° ɜ
    Posts
    3,166

    Default Re: Banshee In 13.1

    nigsy wrote:
    >
    > Hi all;
    >
    > Upgraded to openSUSE 13.1 yesterday, all seems well apart from Banshee.
    >
    > It keeps freezing and I have to end the process or just closing without
    > warning...occasionally it will say that there is a problem and do I want
    > to kill the process.
    > Never had a problem in previous installs so I'm guessing Banshee & 13.1
    > aren't playing nicely at the moment?
    >
    >

    Yes. Banshee is not working with 13.1 even when it starts.
    When switching between two songs it crashes
    It is better to use Rhythmbox or something like that until it(Banshee)
    gets fixed.
    --
    GNOME 3.10.1
    openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64) 64-bit
    Kernel Linux 3.11.6-4-desktop
    Where are my penguins :- https://features.opensuse.org/316767

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,344
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Banshee In 13.1

    On Fri 20 Dec 2013 02:26:35 PM CST, vazhavandan wrote:

    nigsy wrote:
    >
    > Hi all;
    >
    > Upgraded to openSUSE 13.1 yesterday, all seems well apart from
    > Banshee.
    >
    > It keeps freezing and I have to end the process or just closing
    > without warning...occasionally it will say that there is a problem
    > and do I want to kill the process.
    > Never had a problem in previous installs so I'm guessing Banshee &
    > 13.1 aren't playing nicely at the moment?
    >
    >

    Yes. Banshee is not working with 13.1 even when it starts.
    When switching between two songs it crashes
    It is better to use Rhythmbox or something like that until it(Banshee)
    gets fixed.
    Hi
    Is the system up to GNOME 3.10.2? Just installed banshee here and all
    working fine, can switch between songs, no crashes?

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SLED 11 SP3 (x86_64) GNOME 2.28.0 Kernel 3.0.101-0.8-default
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!


  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Space Colony Lagrange Point 22° à, 77° Ƅ, 56° ɤ, 99° ɜ
    Posts
    3,166

    Default Re: Banshee In 13.1

    malcolmlewis wrote:
    >
    > On Fri 20 Dec 2013 02:26:35 PM CST, vazhavandan wrote:
    >
    > nigsy wrote:
    >>
    >> Hi all;
    >>
    >> Upgraded to openSUSE 13.1 yesterday, all seems well apart from
    >> Banshee.
    >>
    >> It keeps freezing and I have to end the process or just closing
    >> without warning...occasionally it will say that there is a problem
    >> and do I want to kill the process.
    >> Never had a problem in previous installs so I'm guessing Banshee &
    >> 13.1 aren't playing nicely at the moment?
    >>
    >>

    > Yes. Banshee is not working with 13.1 even when it starts.
    > When switching between two songs it crashes
    > It is better to use Rhythmbox or something like that until it(Banshee)
    > gets fixed.
    >
    >
    > Hi
    > Is the system up to GNOME 3.10.2? Just installed banshee here and all
    > working fine, can switch between songs, no crashes?
    >


    Yep. i am using 3.10.2 .Updated sig

    Banshee crash log. It crashed when i switched between songs :-
    http://paste.opensuse.org/view/raw/67280260

    --
    Version 3.10.2
    openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64) 64-bit
    Kernel Linux 3.11.6-4-desktop
    Where are my penguins :- https://features.opensuse.org/316767

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,344
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Banshee In 13.1

    On Fri 20 Dec 2013 03:11:14 PM CST, vazhavandan wrote:

    malcolmlewis wrote:
    >
    > On Fri 20 Dec 2013 02:26:35 PM CST, vazhavandan wrote:
    >
    > nigsy wrote:
    >>
    >> Hi all;
    >>
    >> Upgraded to openSUSE 13.1 yesterday, all seems well apart from
    >> Banshee.
    >>
    >> It keeps freezing and I have to end the process or just closing
    >> without warning...occasionally it will say that there is a problem
    >> and do I want to kill the process.
    >> Never had a problem in previous installs so I'm guessing Banshee &
    >> 13.1 aren't playing nicely at the moment?
    >>
    >>

    > Yes. Banshee is not working with 13.1 even when it starts.
    > When switching between two songs it crashes
    > It is better to use Rhythmbox or something like that until it(Banshee)
    > gets fixed.
    >
    >
    > Hi
    > Is the system up to GNOME 3.10.2? Just installed banshee here and all
    > working fine, can switch between songs, no crashes?
    >


    Yep. i am using 3.10.2 .Updated sig

    Banshee crash log. It crashed when i switched between songs :-
    http://paste.opensuse.org/view/raw/67280260

    Hi
    Maybe an upgrade issue. I installed from the promo DVD and it didn't
    include banshee. Here a list of what got installed;

    Code:
    banshee banshee-backend-engine-gstreamer banshee-backend-io-gio banshee-backend-platform-gnome banshee-backend-platform-unix \
    banshee-core banshee-dmp banshee-dmp-apple-devices banshee-dmp-mtp banshee-extensions-default dbus-sharp dbus-sharp-glib \
    gconf-sharp2 gdata-sharp gio-sharp gkeyfile-sharp glib-sharp2 gtk-sharp-beans gtk-sharp2 gudev-sharp libgdiplus0 mono-addins \
    mono-core mono-data mono-data-sqlite mono-extras mono-mvc mono-wcf mono-web mono-winforms mono-winfxcore mono-zeroconf \
    mono-zeroconf-provider-avahi notify-sharp taglib-sharp banshee banshee-backend-platform-gnome banshee-dmp banshee-dmp-apple-devices \
    banshee-dmp-mtp banshee-extensions-default libgdiplus0
    I imported some mp3's and they all played fine, no crashing....

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SLED 11 SP3 (x86_64) GNOME 2.28.0 Kernel 3.0.101-0.8-default
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!


  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Space Colony Lagrange Point 22° à, 77° Ƅ, 56° ɤ, 99° ɜ
    Posts
    3,166

    Default Re: Banshee In 13.1

    malcolmlewis wrote:
    >
    > On Fri 20 Dec 2013 03:11:14 PM CST, vazhavandan wrote:
    >
    > malcolmlewis wrote:
    >>
    >> On Fri 20 Dec 2013 02:26:35 PM CST, vazhavandan wrote:
    >>
    >> nigsy wrote:
    >>>
    >>> Hi all;
    >>>
    >>> Upgraded to openSUSE 13.1 yesterday, all seems well apart from
    >>> Banshee.
    >>>
    >>> It keeps freezing and I have to end the process or just closing
    >>> without warning...occasionally it will say that there is a problem
    >>> and do I want to kill the process.
    >>> Never had a problem in previous installs so I'm guessing Banshee &
    >>> 13.1 aren't playing nicely at the moment?
    >>>
    >>>

    >> Yes. Banshee is not working with 13.1 even when it starts.
    >> When switching between two songs it crashes
    >> It is better to use Rhythmbox or something like that until it(Banshee)
    >> gets fixed.
    >>
    >>
    >> Hi
    >> Is the system up to GNOME 3.10.2? Just installed banshee here and all
    >> working fine, can switch between songs, no crashes?
    >>

    >
    > Yep. i am using 3.10.2 .Updated sig
    >
    > Banshee crash log. It crashed when i switched between songs :-
    > http://paste.opensuse.org/view/raw/67280260
    >
    >
    >
    > Hi
    > Maybe an upgrade issue. I installed from the promo DVD and it didn't
    > include banshee. Here a list of what got installed;
    >
    >
    Code:
    > banshee banshee-backend-engine-gstreamer banshee-backend-io-gio banshee-backend-platform-gnome banshee-backend-platform-unix \
    > banshee-core banshee-dmp banshee-dmp-apple-devices banshee-dmp-mtp banshee-extensions-default dbus-sharp dbus-sharp-glib \
    > gconf-sharp2 gdata-sharp gio-sharp gkeyfile-sharp glib-sharp2 gtk-sharp-beans gtk-sharp2 gudev-sharp libgdiplus0 mono-addins \
    > mono-core mono-data mono-data-sqlite mono-extras mono-mvc mono-wcf mono-web mono-winforms mono-winfxcore mono-zeroconf \
    > mono-zeroconf-provider-avahi notify-sharp taglib-sharp banshee banshee-backend-platform-gnome banshee-dmp banshee-dmp-apple-devices \
    > banshee-dmp-mtp banshee-extensions-default libgdiplus0
    >
    >
    > I imported some mp3's and they all played fine, no crashing....
    >

    I wish i could say that it is an *upgrade* issue but it never worked
    from day one since i installed openSUSE 13.1

    --
    Version 3.10.2
    openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64) 64-bit
    Kernel Linux 3.11.6-4-desktop
    Where are my penguins :- https://features.opensuse.org/316767

  9. #9

    Default Re: Banshee In 13.1

    Apart from this - I can't start tomboy either. Perhaps mono is messed up.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Space Colony Lagrange Point 22° à, 77° Ƅ, 56° ɤ, 99° ɜ
    Posts
    3,166

    Default Re: Banshee In 13.1

    muhahahaaaa wrote:
    > Apart from this - I can't start tomboy either. Perhaps mono is messed

    tomboy issue can be fixed by killing gconf daemon
    http://vazhavandan.blogspot.com/2013...gnome-342.html
    --
    Version 3.10.2
    openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64) 64-bit
    Kernel Linux 3.11.6-4-desktop
    Where are my penguins :- https://features.opensuse.org/316767

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •