Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: gdm is broke

  1. #1

    Default gdm is broke

    Using opensuse 13.1. Anyone else have this issue?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,014

    Default Re: gdm is broke

    On Tue, 19 Nov 2013 21:46:02 +0000, ryanbach wrote:

    > Using opensuse 13.1. Anyone else have this issue?


    Can you define "broke" more precisely?

    It also would be useful to know what media you installed from, if you did
    an in-place upgrade or a fresh install - that would help us diagnose the
    issue you're seeing.

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,084
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: gdm is broke

    Quote Originally Posted by ryanbach View Post
    Using opensuse 13.1. Anyone else have this issue?
    Hi
    Not here, anything of note in the gdm logs in /var/log/gdm?
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  4. #4

    Default Re: gdm is broke

    Yes, I'm having a problem too.

    Installed 13.1 64 bit from DVD ISO via USB. Fresh install, disk formatted. KDE with volume and encrypted, separate home partition.

    Install went fine. Rebooted. Lack of graphical prompt for bootloader password (see http://forums.opensuse.org/english/g...rd-screen.html) combined with some mei_me warnings (see https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/36288) caused me confusion, but after I entered password and hit return it proceeded OK. Loaded last part of install into YaST went OK. Then used KDE for setup & additional package installation. Then rebooted voluntarily, it loaded to login screen (I believe this is gdm) as normal. However, once I enter correct password on login screen, login boxes close but then system sticks on black background with the green lizard on the side, and KDE does not load, even if left for several minutes. No disk activity noticed. System has not crashed, can switch via Ctrl+Alt+F1 and do console login as normal. However startx command just hangs as well, even if done as root. Have now rebooted a few times, happens each time.

    I don't have the file /var/log/gdm. I had a look in /var/log/messages and there is "systemd" "Failed to open private bus connection: Failed to connect to socket /run/user/1000/dbus/user_bus_socket: No such file or directory" Nothing else looks like an error.

    So effectively only have console login to 13.1 system (am posting this on another machine).
    Last edited by rjwilmsi; 19-Nov-2013 at 15:15. Reason: clarify order of bootloader password issue
    Gigabyte GA-MA770-UD3 r1.0 F9E|AMD Athlon II X4 635|6 GB 667MHz DDR2|XFX Radeon HD 6750|LG GSA-H30N|Netgear WG311T| opensuse 12.2 x86_64 (Intel 330, X-18M)|LG IPS236V 1920x1080 DVI|Logitech MX3000 & MX Air|Freecom USB DVB-T 25452| JBL Spot|Logitech C310

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,084
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: gdm is broke

    Quote Originally Posted by rjwilmsi View Post
    Yes, I'm having a problem too.

    Installed 13.1 64 bit from DVD ISO via USB. Fresh install, disk formatted. KDE with volume and encrypted, separate home partition.

    Install went fine. Rebooted. Lack of graphical prompt for bootloader password (see http://forums.opensuse.org/english/g...rd-screen.html) combined with some mei_me warnings (see https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/36288) caused me confusion, but after I entered password and hit return it proceeded OK. Loaded last part of install into YaST went OK. Then used KDE for setup & additional package installation. Then rebooted voluntarily, it loaded to login screen (I believe this is gdm) as normal. However, once I enter correct password on login screen, login boxes close but then system sticks on black background with the green lizard on the side, and KDE does not load, even if left for several minutes. No disk activity noticed. System has not crashed, can switch via Ctrl+Alt+F1 and do console login as normal. However startx command just hangs as well, even if done as root. Have now rebooted a few times, happens each time.

    I don't have the file /var/log/gdm. I had a look in /var/log/messages and there is "systemd" "Failed to open private bus connection: Failed to connect to socket /run/user/1000/dbus/user_bus_socket: No such file or directory" Nothing else looks like an error.

    So effectively only have console login to 13.1 system (am posting this on another machine).
    Hi
    Unfortunately KDE doesn't use gdm, it uses kdm. Can you please start a new thread with you issue. Once that's done I will remove this wayward post
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  6. #6

    Default Re: gdm is broke


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,084
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: gdm is broke

    On Wed 20 Nov 2013 09:16:01 PM CST, ryanbach wrote:


    Posting 0.log:

    'pastebin - Miscellany - post number 2477585'
    (http://pastebin.ca/2477585)


    Hi
    So was this an update? Seems your running the fglrx driver (which isn't
    working)?

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SLED 11 SP3 (x86_64) GNOME 2.28.0 Kernel 3.0.93-0.8-default
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Texas, US
    Posts
    224

    Default Re: gdm is broke

    Seems that ryanbach upgraded without re-installing fglrx. I always use the "generic" install of the driver, which requires uninstall and re-install after each "major" kernel upgrade. If not done, I get similar symptoms. The system tries to load fglrx, but it fails. Much more information is needed, such as details of the install or upgrade, and a much better description of the symptoms.

    rjwilmsi may have a different problem. It appears that your graphics settings or driver may be to blame. Have you tried booting into failsafe mode? Did you change the graphics settings during your first and only KDE session? What additional packages did you add? What happens if you use the command "kdm" rather than startx once logged in at the console?

    First, lets verify what display manager you are using. If it was a fresh install, it's difficult to believe that gdm was set as display manager if you installed KDE as a window manager. I'm assuming that you don't have a console type of editor since the ones that I use are not installed by default. Type "sudo zypper install pico" after you log in at the console, and give the root password. Once installed, run "pico /etc/sysconfig/displaymanager".
    At about line 15, you will see "displaymanager=". It will most likely show either kdm or kdm4. If it really does show gdm, then it should be changed to kdm if you plan to keep using KDE. CTL + X is used to close the editor. If you made changes, it will prompt you to save them. Just hit "y" to save it and hit "enter" to save it as the original file name.

    Run "hwinfo --framebuffer" to verify what your graphics are capable of. Please note some of the modes for the higher resolutions.

    To verify what your default graphics setting is, you can run "pico /etc/sysconfig/bootloader". At about line 46, you will find "default_vga=". If the default vga setting is not among the possibilities shown from the previous command, then it should be changed.

    If working from the console is uncomfortable for you, you can always run "yast2" at the command prompt. That will open yast with a keyboard only type of graphical display.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    11,998
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: gdm is broke

    Quote Originally Posted by purevw View Post
    rjwilmsi may have a different problem.
    I think rjwilmsi failed to click on a user name (or to type in a user name) on the "kdm" login screen. So he is entering a password, but the system does not know for which user the password is being entered.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Texas, US
    Posts
    224

    Default Re: gdm is broke

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    I think rjwilmsi failed to click on a user name (or to type in a user name) on the "kdm" login screen. So he is entering a password, but the system does not know for which user the password is being entered.
    I rebooted and tried to log in without a user name and only my password. I got a very clear login failure message and the login boxes remained on the kdm screen. I only tried it once, though. If I remember correctly, you have three tries to login before the system locks you out, although I'm not positive about that. Possibly he had the problem after 3 tries?

    I've been using SuSE and openSUSE since 8.3 and I don't remember ever having "X" hang when the window manager tries to start, as he describes. kwin has always either crashed and taken me back to the login screen, or "X" crashes completely and leaves me with a flashing cursor on a blank screen.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •