Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: 13.1 install fails

  1. #1
    -G- NNTP User

    Default 13.1 install fails

    Hi,

    I have been trying to install 13.1 64bit on a Dell Precision M4600 (it had
    12.3 running with no problems at all). Tried 2 different discs which provide
    the right checksum.
    Here are the problems:

    1. Install appears to go well until the "reboot in n seconds".

    2. The machine reboots and starts the autoconfiguration, but freezes with
    the top progress bar at 3% and the bottom one at 11%.

    3. I switched it off (could not do anything else). The machine boots into
    linux and it says that "install failed", and if I want to continue.
    I say "yes" and it is the same as point 2 above (frezes at the same progress
    level, I tried several times).

    4. This time I say "no" to the questions, so I get prompted to log in. I can
    log in as root (as the only user I set up does not exist yet). There is
    nothing configure, no network, no repositories for updates (other than the
    DVD entry).

    5. added myself as user (fortunately I haven't lost the home folder). I
    could log in as myself.

    6. Launched Yast. I tried setting up the Network with the networkmanager
    method. The machine freezes. I cannot log in as user or root anymore.

    :-(

    -G-


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: 13.1 install fails

    On 2013-11-19 16:26, -G- wrote:
    > 6. Launched Yast. I tried setting up the Network with the networkmanager
    > method. The machine freezes. I cannot log in as user or root anymore.


    After the freeze, perhaps you can switch to the console number 10, and
    see if there is some message in there. I know this works sometimes...

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 12.3 x86_64 "Dartmouth" at Telcontar)

  3. #3
    -G- NNTP User

    Default Re: 13.1 install fails

    Carlos E. R. wrote:
    > On 2013-11-19 16:26, -G- wrote:
    >> 6. Launched Yast. I tried setting up the Network with the networkmanager
    >> method. The machine freezes. I cannot log in as user or root anymore.

    >
    > After the freeze, perhaps you can switch to the console number 10, and
    > see if there is some message in there. I know this works sometimes...


    Thanks Carlos for the suggestion. I think the main problem is that the
    autoconfiguration is not completed.

    Is there is a script for this auto configuration that I could run in a
    console and see where is that it fails?

    If I can't resolve this I will need to go back to 12.3, unfortunately.

    Would an upgrade from 12.3 to 13.1 be any better?

    Thanks for any other suggestions.

    -G-


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Skogås Sweden
    Posts
    638

    Default Re: 13.1 install fails

    I ran into exactly the same problem on my netbook, after some headscratching I realised I had forgotten to include the package kernel-firmware. Booted into runlevel 3 ran zypper in kernel-firmware, fired up yast and configured the network and also had to readd my user. After that it seems to work.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Skogås Sweden
    Posts
    638

    Default Re: 13.1 install fails

    One more thing before the football starts, the default repos weren't there either, hade to add them in yast.

  6. #6
    -G- NNTP User

    Default Re: 13.1 install fails

    hank se wrote:
    > I ran into exactly the same problem on my netbook, after some
    > headscratching I realised I had forgotten to include the package
    > kernel-firmware. Booted into runlevel 3 ran zypper in kernel-firmware,
    > fired up yast and configured the network and also had to readd my user.
    > After that it seems to work.


    Ah... thanks! I have not thought at all about that. I will try tomorrow
    again. Presumably the kernel-firmware package can be selected before the
    install starts, under the software entry.
    Will report if it worked.
    Regards

    -G-

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: 13.1 install fails

    On 2013-11-19 16:58, -G- wrote:
    > Carlos E. R. wrote:


    >> After the freeze, perhaps you can switch to the console number 10, and
    >> see if there is some message in there. I know this works sometimes...

    >
    > Thanks Carlos for the suggestion.


    But did you try it?

    > I think the main problem is that the
    > autoconfiguration is not completed.


    Partially. It would not cause a system lock.

    > Is there is a script for this auto configuration that I could run in a
    > console and see where is that it fails?


    I think it is a service that runs a yast module when a certain file
    exists in the root directory.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 12.3 x86_64 "Dartmouth" at Telcontar)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Norman, OK
    Posts
    209

    Default Re: 13.1 install fails

    can you give some of the specs of the 4600? I have a 6600 (the 4600's big brother) and I plan to try 13.1 on it (it's downloading now, rather slowly). What card do you have, network adapter, etc. I know that in 12.3 and even in SLES I had to pass boot options to get the install to work correctly.




    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    On 2013-11-19 16:58, -G- wrote:
    > Carlos E. R. wrote:


    >> After the freeze, perhaps you can switch to the console number 10, and
    >> see if there is some message in there. I know this works sometimes...

    >
    > Thanks Carlos for the suggestion.


    But did you try it?

    > I think the main problem is that the
    > autoconfiguration is not completed.


    Partially. It would not cause a system lock.

    > Is there is a script for this auto configuration that I could run in a
    > console and see where is that it fails?


    I think it is a service that runs a yast module when a certain file
    exists in the root directory.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 12.3 x86_64 "Dartmouth" at Telcontar)
    Main Machine: Dell Precision M6600 running openSUSE Leap 16
    Server: Dell PowerEdge SC1430 running SLES 15

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,235

    Default Re: 13.1 install fails

    On 11/19/2013 09:58 AM, -G- wrote:
    > Carlos E. R. wrote:
    >> On 2013-11-19 16:26, -G- wrote:
    >>> 6. Launched Yast. I tried setting up the Network with the networkmanager
    >>> method. The machine freezes. I cannot log in as user or root anymore.

    >>
    >> After the freeze, perhaps you can switch to the console number 10, and
    >> see if there is some message in there. I know this works sometimes...

    >
    > Thanks Carlos for the suggestion. I think the main problem is that the
    > autoconfiguration is not completed.
    >
    > Is there is a script for this auto configuration that I could run in a
    > console and see where is that it fails?
    >
    > If I can't resolve this I will need to go back to 12.3, unfortunately.
    >
    > Would an upgrade from 12.3 to 13.1 be any better?
    >
    > Thanks for any other suggestions.


    I upgraded several systems from 12.3 to 13.1 using the following sequence:

    1. sudo zypper update # make certain 12.3 is fully updated
    2. Using YaST => Software Repositories
    a. Disable all repos except Oss, Non-oss, and their update repos.
    b. Edit those 4 repos, and change 12.3 to 13.1 everywhere
    3. sudo zypper dup # do the distribution update.

    I only had one failure while doing this, and that was caused by a hard-driver
    failure in the middle of the downloads. I did not blame openSUSE for that.


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Rural Australia
    Posts
    289

    Default Re: 13.1 install fails

    IF you were using DVD's then failure may be due everything NOT fitting onto the DVD, believe since 12.3 (?) we need burn to a USB Flash Drive or Memory Sticks to fit entire ISO..





    Quote Originally Posted by -G- View Post
    Hi,

    I have been trying to install 13.1 64bit on a Dell Precision M4600 (it had
    12.3 running with no problems at all). Tried 2 different discs which provide
    the right checksum.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •