Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Chef server doesn't start

  1. #1

    Default Chef server doesn't start

    Hi Folks,

    I have an urgent issue with chef. It doesn't start.

    Any time I do

    Code:
    chef-server-ctl start rabbitmq
    it returns

    Code:
    warning: rabbitmq: unable to open supervise/ok: file does not exist
    The recipe looks like this:
    /opt/chef-server/embedded/cookbooks/runit/recipes/default.rb
    Code:
     20 # TODO: This needs RHEL support
     21 case node["platform"]
     22 when "ubuntu"
     23   include_recipe "runit::upstart"
     24 when "redhat","centos","rhel","scientific"
     25   if node['platform_version'] =~ /^6/
     26     include_recipe "runit::upstart"
     27   else
     28     include_recipe "runit::sysvinit"
     29   end
     30 else
     31   include_recipe "runit::sysvinit"
     32 end
    /opt/chef-server/embedded/cookbooks/runit/recipes/sysvinit.rb
    Code:
     20 # We assume you are sysvinit
     21 svdir_line = 'SV:123456:respawn:/opt/chef-server/embedded/bin/runsvdir-start'
     22 execute "echo '#{svdir_line}' >> /etc/inittab" do
     23   not_if "grep '#{svdir_line}' /etc/inittab"
     24   notifies :run, "execute[init q]", :immediately
     25 end
     26 
     27 execute "init q" do
     28   action :nothing
     29 end
    Any idea how to get this running?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,973

    Default Re: Chef server doesn't start

    Do you have any idea which version of openSUSE you use. We haven't.
    Henk van Velden

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: Chef server doesn't start

    Quote Originally Posted by horemachet View Post
    Hi Folks,

    I have an urgent issue with chef. It doesn't start.

    Any time I do

    Code:
    chef-server-ctl start rabbitmq
    it returns

    Code:
    warning: rabbitmq: unable to open supervise/ok: file does not exist
    The recipe looks like this:
    /opt/chef-server/embedded/cookbooks/runit/recipes/default.rb
    Code:
     20 # TODO: This needs RHEL support
     21 case node["platform"]
     22 when "ubuntu"
     23   include_recipe "runit::upstart"
     24 when "redhat","centos","rhel","scientific"
     25   if node['platform_version'] =~ /^6/
     26     include_recipe "runit::upstart"
     27   else
     28     include_recipe "runit::sysvinit"
     29   end
     30 else
     31   include_recipe "runit::sysvinit"
     32 end
    /opt/chef-server/embedded/cookbooks/runit/recipes/sysvinit.rb
    Code:
     20 # We assume you are sysvinit
     21 svdir_line = 'SV:123456:respawn:/opt/chef-server/embedded/bin/runsvdir-start'
     22 execute "echo '#{svdir_line}' >> /etc/inittab" do
     23   not_if "grep '#{svdir_line}' /etc/inittab"
     24   notifies :run, "execute[init q]", :immediately
     25 end
     26 
     27 execute "init q" do
     28   action :nothing
     29 end
    Any idea how to get this running?
    You did not specify your openSUSE version or desktop used. Also, openSUSE uses systemd and not sysvinit now.

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  4. #4

    Default Re: Chef server doesn't start

    Okay, okay okay.


    Code:
    cat /etc/SuSE-brand
    openSUSE
    VERSION = 12.2
    Code:
    uname -a 
    Linux python02 3.4.28-2.20-desktop #1 SMP PREEMPT Tue Jan 29 16:51:37 UTC 2013 (143156b) x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: Chef server doesn't start

    Quote Originally Posted by horemachet View Post
    Okay, okay okay.


    Code:
    cat /etc/SuSE-brand
    openSUSE
    VERSION = 12.2
    Code:
    uname -a 
    Linux python02 3.4.28-2.20-desktop #1 SMP PREEMPT Tue Jan 29 16:51:37 UTC 2013 (143156b) x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
    So openSUSE 12.2 has been out a while. How long did it work OK before it broke and have you considered doing a system upgrade, perhaps to 13.1, due out shortly?

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  6. #6

    Default Re: Chef server doesn't start

    Well, we are little in a hurry. So we can't wait for 13.1
    But it's the first time we try to get it running. So it didn't worked before.

    I'll give it a trial on a different machine with openSuSE 12.3.
    But I'd prefer to debug the issue more targeted instead of this trial and error process.

    Regards,

    Karsten

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,973

    Default Re: Chef server doesn't start

    While you write all this as if everybody here naturaly would use that product, I can not even find it in the standard repos.

    So maybe you could be a bit more talkative on where you found it and what you did to install it.

    Also it might be that, when you found it on a web-site dedicated to the product, asking the developers there may lead to a quicker solution then waiting here until either another user of the product tunes in, or people here, by trying to understand the eror messages have a bright idea.
    Henk van Velden

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,640
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Chef server doesn't start

    On Wed 13 Nov 2013 10:56:01 AM CST, horemachet wrote:


    Hi Folks,

    I have an urgent issue with chef. It doesn't start.

    Any time I do


    Code:
    --------------------
    chef-server-ctl start rabbitmq
    --------------------


    it returns


    Code:
    --------------------
    warning: rabbitmq: unable to open supervise/ok: file does not exist
    --------------------


    The recipe looks like this:
    /opt/chef-server/embedded/cookbooks/runit/recipes/default.rb

    Code:
    --------------------

    20 # TODO: This needs RHEL support
    21 case node["platform"]
    22 when "ubuntu"
    23 include_recipe "runit::upstart"
    24 when "redhat","centos","rhel","scientific"
    25 if node['platform_version'] =~ /^6/
    26 include_recipe "runit::upstart"
    27 else
    28 include_recipe "runit::sysvinit"
    29 end
    30 else
    31 include_recipe "runit::sysvinit"
    32 end

    --------------------


    /opt/chef-server/embedded/cookbooks/runit/recipes/sysvinit.rb

    Code:
    --------------------

    20 # We assume you are sysvinit
    21 svdir_line =
    'SV:123456:respawn:/opt/chef-server/embedded/bin/runsvdir-start' 22
    execute "echo '#{svdir_line}' >> /etc/inittab" do 23 not_if "grep
    '#{svdir_line}' /etc/inittab" 24 notifies :run, "execute[init
    q]", :immediately 25 end
    26
    27 execute "init q" do
    28 action :nothing
    29 end

    --------------------


    Any idea how to get this running?


    Hi
    So your trying to setup/configure openstack?

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SLED 11 SP3 (x86_64) GNOME 2.28.0 Kernel 3.0.93-0.8-default
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!


  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Space Colony Lagrange Point 22° à, 77° Ƅ, 56° ɤ, 99° ɜ
    Posts
    3,166

    Default Re: Chef server doesn't start

    malcolmlewis wrote:
    > Hi
    > So your trying to setup/configure openstack?

    I think the op is trying to configure this
    http://docs.opscode.com/chef_overview_server.html

    --
    GNOME 3.6.2
    openSUSE Release 12.3 (Dartmouth) 64-bit
    Kernel Linux 3.7.10-1.16-desktop

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,640
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Chef server doesn't start

    On Thu 14 Nov 2013 02:35:12 AM CST, vazhavandan wrote:

    malcolmlewis wrote:
    > Hi
    > So your trying to setup/configure openstack?

    I think the op is trying to configure this
    http://docs.opscode.com/chef_overview_server.html

    Hi
    Only the OP knows.... but both chef and rabbit-mq are part of
    openstack/spacewalk or SUSE Cloud (which I was actually playing
    with today at SUSEcon).....

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SLED 11 SP3 (x86_64) GNOME 2.28.0 Kernel 3.0.93-0.8-default
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •