Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Highlight text in browser url bar

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Noo York
    Posts
    110

    Default Highlight text in browser url bar

    When I was using Linux mint in all versions one LMB click in the test in the url bar would highlight it, it even works in windoze if you do not click it more then once. How can I get this behavior in Suse 12.3 KDE?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Highlight text in browser url bar

    On 2013-10-24 23:46, rdonnelly2001 wrote:
    >
    > When I was using Linux mint in all versions one LMB click in the test in
    > the url bar would highlight it, it even works in windoze if you do not
    > click it more then once. How can I get this behavior in Suse 12.3 KDE?


    I have not tried KDE, but here it is 2 clicks.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4, with Evergreen, x86_64 "Celadon" (Minas Tirith))

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,376

    Default Re: Highlight text in browser url bar

    I'm assuming this is about Firefox? This was the default behavior until recently. Not sure where the change came from. To set it back, type

    Code:
    about:config
    in the address bar, and set "browser.urlbar.clickSelectsAll" to True.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,002

    Default Re: Highlight text in browser url bar

    Like chief-sealth, I guess this is about Firefox.

    Please do not let people guess about those things. Do not use generic terms like "browser", but specify which one of the very many possibilities, not forgetting the version.
    Henk van Velden

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Noo York
    Posts
    110

    Default Re: Highlight text in browser url bar

    Actually I use Chromium, and if I click enough like the other posters say, it will highlight all text.

    I will have to try clickselectsall in the chromium config.

    FF always crashes the system with flash enabled, I would use it if it did not crash me to the point pressing the power button.

    BTW, the single click worked in all the browsers under mint, not just Firefox.

    just found out Ctrl-L makes it real easy.

  6. #6
    Will Honea NNTP User

    Default Re: Highlight text in browser url bar

    rdonnelly2001 wrote:

    > FF always crashes the system with flash enabled, I would use it if it
    > did not crash me to the point pressing the power button.
    >


    I've been seeing that with FF 23 (12.3) and 24 (13.1). Crashes when opening
    or loading pages with Flash content - some of the time, not always. The FF
    recovery process has yet to crash reloading the same set of pages. I
    haven't seen it crash since the last FF update (24.0-1.33.1 for 12.3
    x86_64).

    --
    Will Honea


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,546

    Default Re: Highlight text in browser url bar

    Quote Originally Posted by rdonnelly2001 View Post
    Actually I use Chromium, and if I click enough like the other posters say, it will highlight all text.

    I will have to try clickselectsall in the chromium config.

    FF always crashes the system with flash enabled, I would use it if it did not crash me to the point pressing the power button.

    BTW, the single click worked in all the browsers under mint, not just Firefox.

    just found out Ctrl-L makes it real easy.
    are two clicks really that much more difficult than one?
    surely using Ctrl-L is more troublesome than a double click??

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,002

    Default Re: Highlight text in browser url bar

    Quote Originally Posted by farcusnz View Post
    are two clicks really that much more difficult than one?
    surely using Ctrl-L is more troublesome than a double click??
    My experience is that using the mouse vs the keyborad and vv is a very personal preference thus saying that using Crtl-L (and learning that combination and what it does) is not to my liking also is very personal.

    But being confronted by a (IMHO completely superfluous) double click on a place where it never was before (and in a DE that does not use that MS Windows invented "feature") is frustrating to say the least. Changing defaults in a product is one of the wordt things you can do to your users IMHO.
    Henk van Velden

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Space Colony Lagrange Point 22° à, 77° Ƅ, 56° ɤ, 99° ɜ
    Posts
    3,166

    Default Re: Highlight text in browser url bar

    rdonnelly2001 wrote:
    >
    > Actually I use Chromium, and if I click enough like the other posters
    > say, it will highlight all text.
    >
    > I will have to try clickselectsall in the chromium config.
    >
    > FF always crashes the system with flash enabled, I would use it if it
    > did not crash me to the point pressing the power button.
    >
    >

    Gecko has served me well for many many years now. No crashes with flash
    and stuff.

    --
    GNOME 3.6.2
    openSUSE Release 12.3 (Dartmouth) 64-bit
    Kernel Linux 3.7.10-1.16-desktop

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,497
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Highlight text in browser url bar

    Quote Originally Posted by Will Honea View Post
    I've been seeing that with FF 23 (12.3) and 24 (13.1). Crashes when opening
    or loading pages with Flash content - some of the time, not always.
    Firefox has been pretty reliable for me. I can't remember when it last crashed, but it was several years ago.

    Admittedly, I do use "flashblock". But, even with "flashblock" disabled, I don't have crashes.

    By contrast, both "konqueror" and "rekonq" are very prone to crash on flash.

    When I have trouble with konqueror crashing, I take that url to an instance of "firefox" without "flashblock". And it seems to be fine, and quite stable.

    Currently using "konqueror" for RSS stuff, via "akregator", but "firefox" for most regular browsing and "chromium" for "gmail". I use several browsers to give the commercial world a harder time with tracking me online.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •