Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: kate: toolbar's strage behaviour

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Europe
    Posts
    352

    Default kate: toolbar's strage behaviour

    opensuse 12.3 and kde 4.11

    I love kate, but I have just a small issue with it. When a launch kate the toolbar is as I have set it. When I click on it, icons change place. All of them are still visible, but in different places. This happens for 4 or 5 clicks; then everything keeps its place (the last one, not the original one).
    This has been happening to me for long: several versions of opensuse and of kde.

    Is there anybody experiencing the same? Is there any solution?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,662
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: kate: toolbar's strage behaviour

    Weird problem. Since I don't have it (on various machines, various KDE versions, various openSUSE versions), I suspect a config issue. Saying so, this issue should not exist for a newly created user. Let's give that a try first. Use Yast to create a new user, then logout, and login as the new user. Start kate and see if the issue exists for that new user.
    Questions:
    do you use the Sessions feature of kate?
    did you customize kate?
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Europe
    Posts
    352

    Default Re: kate: toolbar's strage behaviour

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    Weird problem. Since I don't have it (on various machines, various KDE versions, various openSUSE versions), I suspect a config issue. Saying so, this issue should not exist for a newly created user. Let's give that a try first. Use Yast to create a new user, then logout, and login as the new user. Start kate and see if the issue exists for that new user.
    I'll try.

    Questions:
    do you use the Sessions feature of kate?
    Yes, I do. It happens the same in all the sessions.

    did you customize kate?
    Yes. I customized the toolbar too.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Europe
    Posts
    352

    Default Re: kate: toolbar's strage behaviour

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    Weird problem. Since I don't have it (on various machines, various KDE versions, various openSUSE versions), I suspect a config issue. Saying so, this issue should not exist for a newly created user. Let's give that a try first. Use Yast to create a new user, then logout, and login as the new user. Start kate and see if the issue exists for that new user.
    Curiously, I can't create a new user. After typing the name and password in yast I always get this message [IMG]SUSE Paste[/IMG]
    I don't know what to do. Can you help me?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,662
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: kate: toolbar's strage behaviour

    Looks like this package is missing:
    Code:
    libyui-qt-pkg4
    A workaround is to start Yast from a terminal window:
    Code:
    su
    yast
    and use the TAB and arrow keys to navigate
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Europe
    Posts
    352

    Default Re: kate: toolbar's strage behaviour

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    Looks like this package is missing:
    Code:
    libyui-qt-pkg4
    It was already installed. I reinstalled it. No change; still the same error message.

    A workaround is to start Yast from a terminal window:
    Code:
    su
    yast
    and use the TAB and arrow keys to navigate
    I tried also this. No way. It doesn't create the user. Everything seems normal, but when I open again the users management, the new user is not there. It seems that yast doesn't save the changes in users management.

    I tried then
    Code:
    useradd
    It created the user, but I couldn't login. Through yast I realized that "Login disabled" was checked for that user. I don't know how to uncheck it because it's not possible through yast (as I said it doesn't save the changes).
    It seems that it's impossible to create a working user. I have done it lots of times (in other computers, not in this one) but here it's impossible.
    Maybe it's better to forget about the kate toolbar issue. It's not so important and it's getting very difficult to fix it.

    Thanks anyway.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,652

    Default Re: kate: toolbar's strage behaviour

    useradd does not create the home directory for that user so you have to manually create it and set permissions for that USER UID


    But Yast should work so is it possible you have mixed versions of stuff installed? Have you played in the factory repo or any other not standard repo??

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Southern Europe
    Posts
    352

    Default Re: kate: toolbar's strage behaviour

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    useradd does not create the home directory for that user so you have to manually create it and set permissions for that USER UID
    With the -m option useradd creates the home directory. In fact, it exists. I didn't check the permissions. Maybe that's the reason why I couldn't access.

    But Yast should work so is it possible you have mixed versions of stuff installed? Have you played in the factory repo or any other not standard repo??
    No, I have been very consistent in keeping the stardard repos. In fact, in the last months everything has been working fine. I haven't noticed the problem in yast because I didn't need to add a new user. All the other things I've used in yast worked beautifully.

    Thanks for your concern.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,652

    Default Re: kate: toolbar's strage behaviour

    You might have some repos that may cause problems active. so if unsure show us

    zypper lr

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,662
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: kate: toolbar's strage behaviour

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    You might have some repos that may cause problems active. so if unsure show us

    zypper lr
    Preferably
    Code:
    zypper lr -d
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •