Application Deployment

Hi all,

I am new to Suse and Linux in general. I would like how to do the following

1. I have an application written in PHP and would like to use this as the central point of contact from end user. (This is done without problem).
  2. If i have update to the PHP website. My Question is how do I implement a way for the user to initial a rollup package from the “Upgrade” php page and then proceed to install the change. I mean it would have to check the package md5 hash against my update server.

Hope some kind soul would help to point me in the right direction. Thank you.

Regards,

Hi welcome,

Could you please tell us a bit more about what you’re trying to do, and what openSUSE’s part is in the whole story?
What I do understand is that you’ve writen a PHP webapplication, where you want the user to be able to pull in updates you provide. Is that correct?

Hi,

Thanks for the prompt reply. Yes, this basically what I want to do plus in addition to pull in other executable files that would need update. Is there a best practice and/or most efficient way of going around the issue. Thanks again.

Is your PHP code really intended to run only on a client?
Most PHP code is embedded in a webpage and served from a Server.

If your code really is delivered within a webpage,
Then you should check, sometimes with some technologies you may need to restart the webserver to ensure caches are cleared and the new content is served (I don’t remember if this is req for PHP, but it’s usually still a good thing to check)
The User should generally render the page with the new updated code unless the browser’s cache settings render from the local cache.
This is a common issue during development when you generally <must> see the latest changes so local browser settings are modified to eliminate or minimize cache settings.