Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Teamviewer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    93

    Default Teamviewer

    Hi again,
    teamviewer was working fine till last night - now it cannot start; re0installed it - nothing fixed;
    this is on OS 11.4 -
    any ideas?
    Dimitris

  2. #2

    Default Re: Teamviewer

    Hello darlac,

    Quote Originally Posted by darlac
    Hi again,
    teamviewer was working fine till last night - now it cannot start; re0installed it - nothing fixed;
    this is on OS 11.4 -
    any ideas?
    Dimitris
    There's not enough information in your post for us to help you.
    So could you tell us if you use KDE or GNOME? Which version of Teamviewer?
    How did you (re)install Teamviewer? Do you get any errors when you try to start Teamviewer?
    What have you done before it stopped working, what did you change?

    And it can also be useful to post the output of Teamviewer when you run it from terminal.

    Best of luck!
    Where did I put my coffee cup?
    dir -R /home/* | grep "coffee cup"

  3. #3
    arkascha NNTP User

    Default Re: Teamviewer

    darlac wrote:
    > teamviewer was working fine till last night - now it cannot start;
    > re0installed it - nothing fixed;
    > this is on OS 11.4 -
    > any ideas?


    Maybe the TeamViewer cannot find any information on your system(s) anymore
    they can sell ? So they just got annoyed and want to use their bandwidth for
    other virctims (sorry. "clients") ?

    :-)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    93

    Default Re: Teamviewer

    hi edward,
    i used the latest tw version from the official website; i use the gnome desktop - fresh install of 11.4 and updated; i unistalled teamviewer through yast and re-installed using the official rpm for the 64 system; tw starts, for a split second i can see the program and then stops
    i will give.you the output monday when i get back on thos pc
    thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    93

    Default Re: Teamviewer

    hi arkascha,
    going this toute is meaningless - why then trust any software? any open source software? at least with tw, which is microsoft product, you knpw who to go after - in these cases free versions are leverage for the corporate version that is not free (which actually my company cobsiders buying now)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: Teamviewer

    darlac wrote:
    > at least with tw, which is microsoft product, you knpw
    > who to go after -

    One small correction:
    Teamviewer is not a microsoft product and never was, it is a product from
    TeamViewer GmbH (a small german company). It is just as some other software
    provided as freeware for personal use.

    --
    PC: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Core i7-2600@3.40GHz | KDE 4.6.0 | GeForce GT 420
    | 16GB Ram
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | KDE 4.7.2 | nVidia
    ION | 3GB Ram

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    93

    Default Re: Teamviewer

    Hi Martin,
    you are right - thanks; but this doesn't void whatever I said - I do not mean to advertise TV in any way - but the same problems exist with each software - I use Opera as browser and thunderbird as my email client - how do I know that information is not collected from the parent companies?
    You have to use with caution your sensitive data - that with the large volume of web users I believe is the only defense...
    anyway,
    any ideas on my problem?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: Teamviewer

    darlac wrote:

    > but this doesn't void whatever I said

    I did not say that, just that it is not from MS.

    About your problem I am not really sure what this can be, I run TV on two
    machines (one for work where we use the commercialy licensed TV) and one for
    private things (mostly helping sometimes friends who are windows users) as
    freeware version (simply means without a license).
    So far I did not run into trouble.
    I think the output from the command line is essential to get some details as
    Edward already suggested.

    --
    PC: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Core i7-2600@3.40GHz | KDE 4.6.0 | GeForce GT 420
    | 16GB Ram
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | KDE 4.7.2 | nVidia
    ION | 3GB Ram

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    93

    Default Re: Teamviewer

    thanks Marting,
    I will post that on monday when I am in front of that pc -
    I have used TV for a long time with no problems, not sure why this is misbehaving

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    93

    Default Re: Teamviewer

    actually the terminal output is not very helpful - at least to me
    here it is:

    dimitris@linux-b92a:~> teamviewer
    TeamViewer: 6.0.9258
    Profile: /home/dimitris (dimitris)
    Desktop: gnome
    LSB Version: n/a
    Distributor ID: SUSE LINUX
    Description: openSUSE 11.4 (x86_64)
    Release: 11.4
    Codename: Celadon

    Checking setup...
    Launching cProgram Files\TeamViewer\Version6\TeamViewer.exe...
    dimitris@linux-b92a:~>

    any ideas?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •