Thread: Sudo or Super User Terminal ?

Default Sudo or Super User Terminal ?

I am really new to this but aren't they the same thing ?

It just seems to me that using sudo is the same thing as running something in a Super User Terminal ?

thanks

Space Colony Lagrange Point 22° à, 77° Ƅ, 56° ɤ, 99° ɜ

Default Re: Sudo or Super User Terminal ?

They do similar things but they are not the same
    Difference Between SU and SUDO | Difference Between | SU vs SUDO
    GNOME Version 3.20.2
    openSUSE Leap 42.3 64-bit

www.vazhavandan.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by hextejas View Post

It just seems to me that using sudo is the same thing as running something in a Super User Terminal ?

thanks
    With sudo you are impersonating root for that one command, while retaining and working within your current user's environment. I only use sudo for simple and single commands only. For anything else, I switch to su.

'su' is normally used to become root and stay so until you exit. However, su can do more: You can become any user by it, and you should be aware of both the 'su' and the 'su -' variants - the latter becomes root AND switch to root's environment. Take a look here https://forums.opensuse.org/english/...nal-howto.html - it is very interesting, particularly palladium's examples (post #20).

My vote goes to caf4926/palladium and I recommend you make a habit of using 'su -' and only use 'su' when it is required by that specific task (like when compiling). That will limit confusion like file ownerships/rights when you use apps while "su -"-ed. You should read the howto I point to and understand how the effect of two differ according to the change in the environment they provide.

Quote Originally Posted by hextejas View Post

thanks
    Most probably what you call a "Super User Terminal" (you do not mention which one and they differ), will start thye terminal window and then execute for you:
    Code:
    su -