Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Repositories

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    21

    Default Repositories

    Hi
    I wanted to install an application called qlandkartegt, bur I wasn't able to find a package for in Yast. Some searching led me to the package search on software.opensuse.org, and I found the package i wanted here:
    http://download.opensuse.org/reposit...1-1.1.i586.rpm. I also found all the other packages needed to resolve dependencies.

    How can I set up Yast so that I can install this software from Yast?

    Thanks,
    Bjorn

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,562

    Default Re: Repositories

    Quote Originally Posted by bkv1 View Post
    Hi
    I wanted to install an application called qlandkartegt, bur I wasn't able to find a package for in Yast. Some searching led me to the package search on software.opensuse.org, and I found the package i wanted here:
    http://download.opensuse.org/reposit...1-1.1.i586.rpm. I also found all the other packages needed to resolve dependencies.

    How can I set up Yast so that I can install this software from Yast?

    Thanks,
    Bjorn
    http://software.opensuse.org/package/QLandkarteGT

    Just click on the one click install and follow the instructions (it will launch Yast and should drag in dependencies automatically).
    In one of the screens there is a check box "remember this repository" (or something like that)
    It is checked by default and will add that repository to your list of repositories for future use.

    edit: btw you need to click on "show unstable packages"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Space Colony Lagrange Point 22° à, 77° Ƅ, 56° ɤ, 99° ɜ
    Posts
    3,166

    Default Re: Repositories

    bkv1 wrote:
    >
    > Hi
    > I wanted to install an application called qlandkartegt, bur I wasn't
    > able to find a package for in Yast. Some searching led me to the package
    > search on software.opensuse.org, and I found the package i wanted here:
    > http://tinyurl.com/q3hrhff. I also found all the other packages needed
    > to resolve dependencies.
    >
    > How can I set up Yast so that I can install this software from Yast?
    >
    > Thanks,
    > Bjorn
    >
    >


    Use the "1 click" links to install the relevant packages from this page
    http://software.opensuse.org/package/QLandkarteGT

    Note:-
    Use the 1 click link against the correct version of openSUSE you use
    1 click mechanism works with firefox and not with chrome/chromium
    --
    GNOME 3.6.2
    openSUSE Release 12.3 (Dartmouth) 64-bit
    Kernel Linux 3.7.10-1.16-desktop

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    254

    Default AW: Repositories

    You can add this repo with zypper via:
    Code:
    zypper ar -f http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/Application:/Geo/openSUSE_12.2/ GEO
    I'm not familiar with Yast, but I'm sure there is an option for it.

    Or you take software.opensuse.org/package/QLandkarteGT. You can use there the 1-click-install option. Yast will install the software provided all dependencies are met. It is possible that you must install other packages from other foreign repos.

    But be careful. The 1-click-install will add the repo to the repo list and it can cause trouble in the future with packages from the other repos.. I'm not a friend of it and don't ever use it.

    I download in such cases all needed packages to a local repo and install them from there. Saves trouble.

    Or you download all required RPMs to a folder, change to that folder with "cd" and install them with "rpm -ivh *".
    zypp it...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,562

    Default Re: AW: Repositories

    Quote Originally Posted by zerum View Post
    But be careful. The 1-click-install will add the repo to the repo list and it can cause trouble in the future with packages from the other repos.. I'm not a friend of it and don't ever use it.
    I have used it quite a lot over a number of years and don't recall ever having had trouble with it.
    Adding the repo to the list is an option. If it is unlikely you will use that repo again then simply de-select the option to remember.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    254

    Default AW: Re: AW: Repositories

    Quote Originally Posted by farcusnz View Post
    I have used it quite a lot over a number of years and don't recall ever having had trouble with it.
    Adding the repo to the list is an option. If it is unlikely you will use that repo again then simply de-select the option to remember.
    Should only be a hint. Many people had/have problems with dozens off foreign repos added to the repo list.
    zypp it...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    21

    Default Re: Repositories

    Thanks, guys. The 1-click install with Firefox did the trick!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •