Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Auto Composor keys

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Groningen, NL
    Posts
    47

    Question Auto Composor keys

    Hi,

    I have a brand new installation of openSuSE on a laptop. And when I tried to type something I noticed that keys like " now compose letter by it self. Like for ë or ä. I was use to doing this with the alt key like I have done for years. I just hate it when the computer tries to think for me. Ans the worst part is. When I press " And then a letter or symbel that doesn't compose with letter it just does nothing at all.

    The big question. How can I remove the irratating and bad for normal use auto composer key? BTW I have found the way to set the alt key.

    Best regards,
    Daniël
    Daniël

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Auto Composor keys

    On 07/19/2013 11:46 PM, Drunken wrote:
    > I have a brand new installation of openSuSE on a laptop.


    your sig tells me you installed openSUSE 11.4 on that new laptop, is
    that true? if so, have you taken it to Evergreen yet?

    and, i've never heard of an "auto composer key" other than in your
    posts (and neither has google, see
    https://www.google.dk/search?q=linux...Composor+keys"), so
    tell me where that is located and what is printed on it? (are you
    talking about the "AltGr" key which is what the right Alt key is
    labeled in some non-US keyboards?

    i'm a little confused--so, also tell if you are using a desktop
    environment, and which version....and, if your laptop keyboard is not
    in US English, tell us what it is, as well as what language you told
    the installer you were using.

    but, the FIRST thing for you to do is make sure the system is using
    the correct keyboard layout--a setting selected during the
    install....to check, go YaST > Hardware > System Keyboard
    Layout...and, when that new window pane opens it will be set to the
    keyboard map you told the installer you were using.....but, if it
    does not match the actual keyboard, then change it to the correct one
    and *TEST* it by typing into the test box, inside that YaST
    pane...(and tell us which you was displayed, and which one you
    changed it to....and the effect)

    and the next thing (if that fixes it) is to go to
    http://tinyurl.com/4aflkpy and follow the instructions there to bring
    your system up to date....because, as born 11.4 is open to attacks
    from several vectors that are easily closed--so, do NOT miss this
    needed update.

    --
    dd
    http://tinyurl.com/DD-Caveat


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,136

    Default Re: Auto Composor keys

    Like dd I can not completely understand what you are telling. He detects that by the somewhat cryptic expression "brand new installation of openSuSE" you probably mean openSUSE 11.4 because that is in your signature.But your sisnature reads "openSuSE 12.3" (whith which you probably mean openSUSE 12.3, yes it is a bit difficult to understand you).

    Also as dd explains, you do not tell if, when yes which, desktop environment you use (KDE, Gnome, other). Likewise the bit vague description of the key you mention.

    The one thing you do mention though is that you are based in Groningen. Thus it could be that you installed using Netherlands as the language (but you did not tell, thus this is a guess). In a Netherlands installation, there was indeed a change of the default keyboard. (That is of course reprehensible, but that is another story).

    Please check in YaST > Hardware > Systeemtoetsenbordindeling if your keyboard is set to Engels (VS). And when not, check it helps when you change it to that.

    Again, this advise is based om a lot of assumptions and we not being clairvoyant could be completely wrong.
    Henk van Velden

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Auto Composor keys

    On 07/20/2013 09:56 AM, hcvv wrote:
    >
    > "brand new installation of
    > openSuSE" you probably mean openSUSE 11.4 because that is in your
    > signature.But your sisnature reads "openSuSE 12.3" (whith which you
    > probably mean openSUSE 12.3


    so, there is another molehill in the http<>nntp lash-up as evidenced
    in side-by-side comparison at http://susepaste.org/86303649


    >
    > The one thing you do mention though is that you are based in Groningen.


    which is not mentioned in his post as delivered to me..

    --
    dd

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,136

    Default Re: Auto Composor keys

    Quote Originally Posted by DenverD View Post
    On 07/20/2013 09:56 AM, hcvv wrote:
    >
    > "brand new installation of
    > openSuSE" you probably mean openSUSE 11.4 because that is in your
    > signature.But your sisnature reads "openSuSE 12.3" (whith which you
    > probably mean openSUSE 12.3


    so, there is another molehill in the http<>nntp lash-up as evidenced
    in side-by-side comparison at SUSE Paste


    >
    > The one thing you do mention though is that you are based in Groningen.


    which is not mentioned in his post as delivered to me..

    --
    dd
    When you have any problems with the way you prefer to use the forums (like not getting the information about a poster in the post heading), please mention this (or complain about it) in the approporiate (sub)forum. Please do not litter a technical question/answer thread with it. The OP here will have no idea at all what you are talking about.
    Henk van Velden

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Auto Composor keys

    On 07/20/2013 10:56 AM, hcvv wrote:
    >
    > When you have any problems with the way you prefer to use the forums
    > (like not getting the information about a poster in the post heading),
    > please mention this (or complain about it) in the approporiate
    > (sub)forum. Please do not litter a technical question/answer thread with
    > it. The OP here will have no idea at all what you are talking about.


    it was neither a complaint nor problem...rather a reason (for the the
    OP) why your and my post to him were inconsistent...and, especially
    why i thought he used 11.4 and you 12.3!

    note: if you had PM'ed your problem with my post, the OP would not
    have to wade through this administrative *litter* in his technical
    question/answer thread....which the OP certainly will have *no* idea
    what you are talking about, also.

    --
    dd

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Groningen, NL
    Posts
    47

    Default Re: Auto Composor keys

    I'll try to reply to al questions.

    Yes it's an new 12.3 installation. I installed it on a BTO 15CL58 (Clevo 350STQ). (The signature was outdated. Been using suse from version 7.3)
    Yes I do have a Dutch installation. But have set they keyboard to US. The Dutch hardly ever use there own layout. I don't even think you can get it any more. And there for all the keys are in the right place.
    The alt key is the right on so it says "Alt Gr".
    I'm using the KDE version shipped with 12.3. I'm planning on updating to 4.10.

    The auto compose keys are the same as in windows. ',",^,~,` And so on. But in windows if you type two keys that don't compose, like ' and t it will print 't and not nothing like now is happening.

    Daniël

    p.s. Yes I'm from Groningen and it says so on the location part of the forum.
    Daniël

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Auto Composor keys

    On 07/20/2013 04:56 PM, Drunken wrote:
    > The auto compose keys are the same as in windows. ',",^,~,` And so on.
    > But in windows if you type two keys that don't compose, like ' and t it
    > will print 't and not nothing like now is happening.


    sorry, i can't help any more because i just don̈́'t know anything about
    Windows "auto compose keys" (almost never use windows since '95) and
    don't know if or how to mimic them in Linux....so, lets hope someone
    who knows comes along..

    sorry. (and for all the administrative talk in your help thread)

    oh, i do wonder if you updated your sig in the forums after reading
    my input? and, if you did that before reading Henk's?

    --
    dd
    http://tinyurl.com/DD-Caveat

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,136

    Default Re: Auto Composor keys

    Quote Originally Posted by DenverD View Post

    oh, i do wonder if you updated your sig in the forums after reading
    my input? and, if you did that before reading Henk's?

    --
    dd
    DD Caveat
    Of course he did. That was clear to everybody reading first your answer (where you reported it being 11.4) and my answer (where I found out it now being 12.3).

    I tried to communicate to Drunken that, when he changes the rules halfway the game, he should clearly report that and not doing it in secresy, leaving all the first readers (including you) in the dark.

    And I can add that this incident again stiffens my idea that such things should not be in the signature. When signatures change, every page loaded anew will show the actual signature. Thus on a problem of 2009, it will e.g. show hardware from 2011 and openSUSE 12.3. And this makes older threads rather useless.
    Henk van Velden

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Auto Composor keys

    On 07/20/2013 09:06 PM, hcvv wrote:
    > And I can add that this incident again stiffens my idea that such
    > things should*not* be in the signature.


    i jump to agree with you! (and, if you write it in the forum feedback
    sub-forum i will agree again):

    imo the sig should NOT change once the post is submitted *or*
    system data should be *banned* in the sig, but *required* in the
    message body....and, if missing then *all* answers are blocked until
    the OP designates needed system info.

    but, i guess this might be a molehill>mountain problem.

    --
    dd

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •