Thread: Error message when trying to install RPMs

Default Error message when trying to install RPMs

In several attempts to install downloads of epson-inkjet-printer-escpr-1.2.3-1lsb3.2x86_64.rpm and Scribus 1.4.2-2.1.1.x86_64.rpm, I had the files downloaded, opened the download folders, and tried to install them with Software Install (I think that was the name, it's off the screen now), the installs failed.
    Message: The action could not be completed -- Message did not receive a reply (timeout by message bus).
    All operations were done quickly. There were no unusual delays.
    The CUPS site is down, so I couldn't get any help from them. Could SUSE be trying to get something from them?

Please reply simply and thoroughly if you have any suggestions. I'm an 80-year old newbie.

Default Re: Error message when trying to install RPMs

Scribus is included in openSUSE, you should install that version instead of downloading an RPM.
    In the Application launcher you should have an entry "Install/Remove Software" on the "Computer" tab.
    Run this, type in the root password, type in "scribus" into the search field and make a tick into the box right before the scribus package.
    Then click "Accept" and it should be installed.

Or you could type "sudo zypper in scribus" into a terminal window (Konsole f.e.).

The other package you should try to install on the command line. You would get a better error message there, which you could post.
    Open a terminal window (Konsole if you're using KDE) and type the following:
    Code:
    cd name_of_directory_where_the_RPM_is_located
    sudo rpm -i epson-inkjet-printer-escpr-1.2.3-1lsb3.2x86_64.rpm

Space Colony Lagrange Point 22° à, 77° Ƅ, 56° ɤ, 99° ɜ

Quote Originally Posted by Bobdi View Post