Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: Autodesk Maya 2014 Signal: 11 (Unknown Signal)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    45

    Unhappy Autodesk Maya 2014 Signal: 11 (Unknown Signal)

    Hi everyone.

    This morning my opensuse 12.3 box began updating and after a restart I launched Maya 2014 and guess what? It didn’t launched.
    So what did I do? I made a backup of everything, erased the whole drive, install OpenSuse 12.3 ( The DVD Version ), Open Yast and do an online update along with the community nvidia repositories and let the system finished. Just that, and installed my primary software, Maya 2014 and got the same error.

    Here's a snapshot of it : https://www.dropbox.com/s/qwxjbfqflz05fyt/snapshot1.png



    I tried to ran maya as a normal user and root but failed.

    Code:
    michael@linux-t3s0:~> su -
    Password: 
    linux-t3s0:~ # maya
    
    
    maya encountered a fatal error
    
    Signal: 11 (Unknown Signal)
    Fatal Error. Attempting to save in /usr/tmp/root.20130630.1542.ma
    QWidget::setWindowModified: The window title does not contain a '[*]' placeholder
    linux-t3s0:~ # exit
    logout
    michael@linux-t3s0:~> maya
    
    
    maya encountered a fatal error
    
    Signal: 11 (Unknown Signal)
    Fatal Error. Attempting to save in /tmp/michael.20130630.1543.ma
    QWidget::setWindowModified: The window title does not contain a '[*]' placeholder
    michael@linux-t3s0:~> maya
    
    
    maya encountered a fatal error
    
    Signal: 11 (Unknown Signal)
    Fatal Error. Attempting to save in /tmp/michael.20130630.1544.ma
    QWidget::setWindowModified: The window title does not contain a '[*]' placeholder

    There’s only Autodesk Maya 2014 installed and libraries needed to get it running.
    I had another post about library problems in the past but it was resolved and adding the user to the video group solved the signal 11 issue by that time but the issue came back like a "Freddy Krueger Nightmare'!

    Here's The Link to the past post : https://forums.opensuse.org/english/...-10-error.html

    Machine Specifications :

    Asrock H55M-LE
    Core i7 870
    8GB DDR3 1600mhz
    Nvidia GTX 550 ti

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    45

    Default Re: Autodesk Maya 2014 Signal: 11 (Unknown Signal)

    Just in-case, I already did a Memory Test and Tried on another PC with different motherboards, CPU's and 2 different Nvidia GPU's ( GTX 550 ti & GTX 660 ).

    It was working so **** awesome.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,582
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Autodesk Maya 2014 Signal: 11 (Unknown Signal)

    Hi, I remember the thread, plus that you got it running.
    This looks like something is not OK in /tmp. Could it be it's full? Did you check the permissions of /tmp ?
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,582
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Autodesk Maya 2014 Signal: 11 (Unknown Signal)

    Another thing: could this be a kernel update where the NVIDIA driver wasn't updated?
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  5. #5

    Default Re: Autodesk Maya 2014 Signal: 11 (Unknown Signal)

    To check whether the nvidia driver is working correctly, please install the package "Mesa-demo-x" if not installed, and post the output of:
    Code:
    glxinfo | grep render

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    45

    Unhappy Re: Autodesk Maya 2014 Signal: 11 (Unknown Signal)

    Snapshot of the output : https://www.dropbox.com/s/gvztf3k700kgng9/snapshot3.png

    Code:
    michael@linux-t3s0:~> glxinfo | grep render
    direct rendering: Yes
    OpenGL renderer string: GeForce GTX 550 Ti/PCIe/SSE2
        GL_NV_blend_square, GL_NV_compute_program5, GL_NV_conditional_render, 
        GL_NV_parameter_buffer_object2, GL_NV_path_rendering, 
        GL_NVX_conditional_render, GL_NVX_gpu_memory_info, 
    michael@linux-t3s0:~>

    I went Yast and clicked on Software management and searched for Mesa-demo-x and installed it.

    Here are some info that might help

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/tjqkau2bofidwaw/snapshot6.png

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/nd3mcr06zbdez3p/snapshot5.png

  7. #7

    Default Re: Autodesk Maya 2014 Signal: 11 (Unknown Signal)

    Quote Originally Posted by mjapox View Post
    Snapshot of the output : https://www.dropbox.com/s/gvztf3k700kgng9/snapshot3.png

    Code:
    michael@linux-t3s0:~> glxinfo | grep render
    direct rendering: Yes
    OpenGL renderer string: GeForce GTX 550 Ti/PCIe/SSE2
        GL_NV_blend_square, GL_NV_compute_program5, GL_NV_conditional_render, 
        GL_NV_parameter_buffer_object2, GL_NV_path_rendering, 
        GL_NVX_conditional_render, GL_NVX_gpu_memory_info, 
    michael@linux-t3s0:~>
    Well, that looks perfectly fine.
    So it doesn't seem to be the video driver's fault this time...

    What were the updates you installed, after which it wasn't working anymore?
    You can list all packages in the order they were installed (latest ones on top) like that:
    Code:
    rpm -qa --last | less
    (you can scroll with the cursor keys and <page up>/<page down> f.e., press 'h' for a help screen and 'q' to quit)

    And another user had strange problems watching videos lately, disabling plymouth (the bootsplash) fixes it for him (but he has a hybrid video system).
    I'm not at all sure that this would help you as well, but since your earlier crash seemed to have been video driver related, why not just try it?
    Just add "plymouth.enable=0" to the boot options. AFAICS you're using grub, so you can just enter that at the boot menu, before pressing enter to boot the selected entry.
    Then check with "cat /proc/cmdline" if that option is there (if not you must have done something wrong), and then try to start Maya.
    (if you specify the option this way it isn't saved, so on next boot you will have the standard boot options again)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    45

    Default Re: Autodesk Maya 2014 Signal: 11 (Unknown Signal)

    I got so mad I wiped the whole drive.

    I can install without no updates, and even with the updates, try on a another computer and it does the same thing. I'm trying everything!!! jaja, All I can do is laugh of the sadness jaja

    I was reading these 2 post but since I'm not a debian user and don't want to be, I want to stick to suse, then maybe this could help some how.

    Ubuntu 11.04: libGL crashes - Autodesk Discussion Groups

    Maya 2012 and Maya 2013 Issues

    I did what the first post suggested to get information, see if you guys can figure something out:

    Code:
    michael@linux-t3s0:~> maya -d gdb / r / bt
    Executing: gdb  /usr/autodesk/maya2014-x64/bin/maya.bin
    Maya args:  '/' 'r' '/' 'bt'
    Could not find platform independent libraries <prefix>
    Could not find platform dependent libraries <exec_prefix>
    Consider setting $PYTHONHOME to <prefix>[:<exec_prefix>]
    ImportError: No module named site
    michael@linux-t3s0:~>
    Here are the links if you want to try Autodesk Maya 2014 SP1 :

    http://download.autodesk.com/us/maya...inux_64bit.tgz

    To get a free license head over here :

    https://students.autodesk.com/?nd=register_v2

    Libraries Needed :

    https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B-CK...it?usp=sharing

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    45

    Default Re: Autodesk Maya 2014 Signal: 11 (Unknown Signal)

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    Hi, I remember the thread, plus that you got it running.
    This looks like something is not OK in /tmp. Could it be it's full? Did you check the permissions of /tmp ?
    How do I check the permissions of /tmp ?

  10. #10

    Default Re: Autodesk Maya 2014 Signal: 11 (Unknown Signal)

    Quote Originally Posted by mjapox View Post
    I did what the first post suggested to get information, see if you guys can figure something out:

    Code:
    michael@linux-t3s0:~> maya -d gdb / r / bt
    Executing: gdb  /usr/autodesk/maya2014-x64/bin/maya.bin
    Maya args:  '/' 'r' '/' 'bt'
    Could not find platform independent libraries <prefix>
    Could not find platform dependent libraries <exec_prefix>
    Consider setting $PYTHONHOME to <prefix>[:<exec_prefix>]
    ImportError: No module named site
    michael@linux-t3s0:~>
    Sorry, that is useless.
    You have to call Maya like this I guess:
    Code:
    maya -d gdb
    Then type 'r' and press enter.
    Then after it crashes, type 'bt' and press enter.

    Then post the output.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •