Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37

Thread: Lost sound trying to install Skype

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rhynie, Aberdeenshire
    Posts
    73

    Default Lost sound trying to install Skype

    I have been trying to get Skype to work with a new webcam and have now lost all sound from the speakers.

    Running openSuse 12.2, Skype 4.0.0.8, Logitech C170 webcam. Installed Pulse Audio volume control.

    The webcam has an integral microphone, video is working but not sure about the mike. I can hear sound through a set of USB headphones (with mike) but not through the speakers. Skype test call can be heard through headphones but mike not working. Without headphones there is no sound.

    Can anyone please advise?

  2. #2

    Default Re: Lost sound trying to install Skype

    Is the audio device you expect sound to come out of still listed as the default audio device in the sound section of Yast? I know it's not much help, but it's at least worth a look. You could also try the "play test sound" option from the "Other" menu in the bottom-right corner of the window to see if that still produces a sound even if other applications do not. It'd probably be a bit of useful info to anyone else reading this thread that knows much more about it than I do.

    The option to make something the default audio device is also in the "Other" menu. It is labelled as "Set as the Primary Card".

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,523
    Blog Entries
    37

    Default Re: Lost sound trying to install Skype

    I use the application 'pavucontrol' to control my audio requirements via pulse audio. I blogged about it here: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/ol...avucontrol-96/

    .... I don't know if that will help, but I hope it does.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rhynie, Aberdeenshire
    Posts
    73

    Default Re: Lost sound trying to install Skype

    Thanks guys.

    Using pavucontrol I have managed to get the sound back to the speakers and it looks like the webcam mike and the headphones output are now both working. But now I am unable to open Skype at all.

    Just for information, output from aplay and arecord -

    mike@dhcppc1:~> aplay -l
    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC662 rev1 Analog [ALC662 rev1 Analog]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 1: ALC662 rev1 Digital [ALC662 rev1 Digital]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 3: Set [C-Media USB Headphone Set], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


    mike@dhcppc1:~> arecord -l
    **** List of CAPTURE Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC662 rev1 Analog [ALC662 rev1 Analog]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 2: ALC662 rev1 Analog [ALC662 rev1 Analog]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 2: C170 [Webcam C170], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 3: Set [C-Media USB Headphone Set], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,523
    Blog Entries
    37

    Default Re: Lost sound trying to install Skype

    Quote Originally Posted by mikejd View Post
    Using pavucontrol I have managed to get the sound back to the speakers and it looks like the webcam mike and the headphones output are now both working. But now I am unable to open Skype at all.
    How did you install Skype ? Note Skype is a 32-bit app and requires various 32-bit libraries installed for it to work under a 64-bit OS installation. There is guidance here for installing Skype: https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:Skype

    If the above fails for you, please post here the error (in a bash shell / konsole) you get from running Skype from a bash shell/konsole.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rhynie, Aberdeenshire
    Posts
    73

    Default Re: Lost sound trying to install Skype

    Skype was installed using Yast. I could open it, although it didn't work, until I had this problem with the sound. I uninstalled and tried installing again, and I note that the version offered by Yast appears to be for openSuse v12.1, and it still wouldn't open.

    I also tried installing from your guidance link but this failed, apparently due to a repository already existing. Running from a bash shell produced no errors but also no skype running

    mike@dhcppc1:~> skype
    mike@dhcppc1:~>

    I have had problems with Skype for the last couple of years since moving to openSuse. I tried again as I had just bought a new webcam. Maybe I should just give up on it again.

    Thanks for your help.
    Mike

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,523
    Blog Entries
    37

    Default Re: Lost sound trying to install Skype

    Quote Originally Posted by mikejd View Post
    I also tried installing from your guidance link but this failed, apparently due to a repository already existing. Running from a bash shell produced no errors but also no skype running
    Please, what is the output of the command:
    Code:
    zypper lr -d
    please put the output inbetween code brackets (ie [ code ] and [ /code ]

    Quote Originally Posted by mikejd View Post
    mike@dhcppc1:~> skype
    mike@dhcppc1:~>
    As part of any re-installing did you remove the old configuration files in your user's /home directory ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rhynie, Aberdeenshire
    Posts
    73

    Default Re: Lost sound trying to install Skype

    Code:
    mike@dhcppc1:~> zypper lr -d
    #  | Alias                     | Name                               | Enabled | Refresh | Priority | Type     | URI                                                                      | Service
    ---+---------------------------+------------------------------------+---------+---------+----------+----------+--------------------------------------------------------------------------+--------
     1 | Downloaded_programs       | Downloaded programs                | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | plaindir | dir:///home/mike/Download/Programs                                       |        
     2 | PK_TMP_DIR                | PK_TMP_DIR                         | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | plaindir | dir:///var/tmp/TmpDir.k3eMJZ                                             |        
     3 | Packman Repository        | Packman Repository                 | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | rpm-md   | http://packman.inode.at/suse/12.2/                                       |        
     4 | google-earth              | google-earth                       | No      | No      |   99     | rpm-md   | http://dl.google.com/linux/earth/rpm/stable/i386                         |        
     5 | home:Lazy_Kent            | home:Lazy_Kent                     | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | rpm-md   | http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/Lazy_Kent/openSUSE_12.2/ |        
     6 | libdvdcss repository      | libdvdcss repository               | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | rpm-md   | http://opensuse-guide.org/repo/12.2/                                     |        
     7 | nVidia Graphics Drivers   | nVidia Graphics Drivers            | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | rpm-md   | ftp://download.nvidia.com/opensuse/12.2/                                 |        
     8 | repo-debug                | openSUSE-12.2-Debug                | No      | Yes     |   99     | NONE     | http://download.opensuse.org/debug/distribution/12.2/repo/oss/           |        
     9 | repo-debug-update         | openSUSE-12.2-Update-Debug         | No      | Yes     |   99     | NONE     | http://download.opensuse.org/debug/update/12.2/                          |        
    10 | repo-debug-update-non-oss | openSUSE-12.2-Update-Debug-Non-Oss | No      | Yes     |   99     | NONE     | http://download.opensuse.org/debug/update/12.2-non-oss/                  |        
    11 | repo-non-oss              | openSUSE-12.2-Non-Oss              | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | NONE     | http://download.opensuse.org/distribution/12.2/repo/non-oss/             |        
    12 | repo-oss                  | openSUSE-12.2-Oss                  | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | NONE     | http://download.opensuse.org/distribution/12.2/repo/oss/                 |        
    13 | repo-source               | openSUSE-12.2-Source               | No      | Yes     |   99     | NONE     | http://download.opensuse.org/source/distribution/12.2/repo/oss/          |        
    14 | repo-update               | openSUSE-12.2-Update               | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | rpm-md   | http://download.opensuse.org/update/12.2/                                |        
    15 | repo-update-non-oss       | openSUSE-12.2-Update-Non-Oss       | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | rpm-md   | http://download.opensuse.org/update/12.2-non-oss/                        |
    I didn't remove config files. I will try that.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rhynie, Aberdeenshire
    Posts
    73

    Default Re: Lost sound trying to install Skype

    Config files removed and skype reinstalled and it is now working OK.

    Thanks for your help.

    regards,
    mike

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,523
    Blog Entries
    37

    Default Re: Lost sound trying to install Skype

    .... I'm currently on vacation in a different continent - so my responses are not as timely as normal.

    Quote Originally Posted by mikejd View Post
    Config files removed and skype reinstalled and it is now working OK.
    Good news !

    Glad to read that.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •