Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Help a newbie out with the desktop

Default Help a newbie out with the desktop

Hi all,
    I'm brand new to Linux and I have a couple simple questions. I'm using openSUSE 12.3 and KDE.
    When I minimize any window, YaST, Firefox, etc., the window disappears. I would expect programs to minimize to the task bar (sorry, I don't know the proper name for it...).

Also, I've set the clock/date more than once now but it keeps changing. Am I doing something wrong?

And finally, after unsuccessfully searching, is there a tutorial for absolute beginners? As in, how to install software, how to set the clock...

And, I watched a video from the urban penguin where he advises against using the desktop while logged in as root, but he doesn't specify how to tell whether you're logged in as root, and if you are, how do you change that?

Thanks in advance for the help.
    Vince

Default Re: Help a newbie out with the desktop

Well firstly yes we can call the bottom bar the taskbar (well task manager but close enough methinks
    In any case are you not seeing minimized windows?
    Strange unless you accidentally removed the task manager.
    KDE is very much like windows so you should not have too much difficulty there fding where minimized windows.
    Perhaps a screenshot?

Secondly I have had the clock issue on openSUSE myself, do you dual boot?

As for installing software its quite easy, YAST is your main tool for that and we can help guide you in using it.

And as for root, you should not be logged in as root by default, your settings should be standard user.
    Only root can access root and you really should not enter root unless its needed.

Space Colony Lagrange Point 22° à, 77° Ƅ, 56° ɤ, 99° ɜ

Quote Originally Posted by partsabuser View Post
    Also, I've set the clock/date more than once now but it keeps changing. Am I doing something wrong?
    Are you booting into a live session by any chance ?
    GNOME Version 3.20.2